X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Metropol Hostel Berlin Reviews

Mehringdamm 32, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
669 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Het geeft geen veilig gevoel met al die Roemenen die er wonen. Bovendien waren alle douches kapot.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Expect only: right beside metro (awesome!), bed, breakfast, wifi in lobby, good food around it, good shower/washroom in rooms Generally, hostel sucks. Private room ok. -Staff don't know anything and aren't helpful -FAMILIES live in the building, so always people (including kids) running around staring at the guests, playing games on phones on high volume, taking over the lounge and stairs. -Broken elevator, no assigned beds (caused a lot of drama), cleaning ladies move your stuff (wtf)


71%

Hostel is situated in quite a rough building, with a dodgy lift. First member of staff was quite unhelpful and not very polite! Me and my friend found there were a lot of men in this hostel, only seeing a few females over our stay which was quite intimidating as we were travelling as just two girls! Free breakfast in the morning was good though


54%

If you're looking for a 'backpacker's' hostel, this is NOT it. Although my stay turned out fine, I felt a tad nervous at the beginning. As a single, female traveler, the several old men just hanging out in the lobby was a surprise. The room did not have a locker like the website said. The baggage room is not monitored by the receptionist. They just buzz u in to drop off and pick up. So ANYONE can go in there and go through your stuff or even take your bag because they stay behind the counter. :(


34%

The hostel is fine if youre just looking for a bed over night. But if youre looking for at place where you also want to hang out i would recommend you another place. I stayed there for three nights and here is what i experienced: a lot of immigrants rents rooms at this place so a lot of familys with children running around. its a bit chaotic. The rooms had a shower but nothing to showercurtain so everything gets wet and messed in there. and theres no hot water. The employes are very rude

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Upon arrival you go up some smelly stairs to the third floor where a colourful reception where staff were friendly and offered any advice you needed, the rooms were clean but our toilet was broke which produced a horrible smell with so many of us using it there was a older man staying in our room who didnt communicate in english and made us feel very unsafe our door didnt shut properly and basically anyone could gain access if they wanted to.


71%

The hostel was nice with good spacy rooms and beds. It is right on a metro station so nothing is really far away. Only down sides are that it doesnt have air conditioning and there were large groups of very young kids (15-16)


63%

Some good things to mention: Staff was super helpful and friendly Impressive breakfast specially for a hostel Very good location, easy to get to the main spots of Berlin The main thing I didn't like however was the atmoshphere and overall look of the hostel. It was nice that they have a little socializing area, but the rest of hostel looks more like a hospital, it really lacks a personal touch. Also not much cleaning was done even though there are maids hired. Can't get a smile out of them too

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Enjoyable experience just lacked a good atmosphere between other guests and ourselves


80%

great breakfast. Id come here again! good hostel.


91%

Very big, great hostel! Friendly staff, good location just by the u-bahn station, easy to get to. Plus there's an amazing Kebab place right outside!


89%

Value for money def! Stayed in MetroHostel by myself in June 2014. Great location - just by U-Bahn station (approx. 40 mins (!) from Tegel airport), close to bars (but not noisy) and all Berlin attractions. Good breakfast. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby. I stayed in 6 bed room (#316) and we have ensuite bathroom! Rooms are ok, spacious lockers are present. So in the end - highly recommend the hostel. Value for Money!


74%

We, my girl and I, were in Berlin for three days. Rooms are good, clean and big (we stayed in two-bed room with private bathroom). Breakfast is plentiful and stuff is solid. Immediately in front of the hostel is U ban station, so it is very easy to go wherever you want. Only problem, but big one, was lack of hot water for showering – only first day we had it and the second two days we used cold water :|

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great comment! Thank you. We also took care of the hot water problem.

71%

Good value for money. Liked the breakfast very much. Only problem were that getting hot water from shower seemed impossible. Would visit again:)


46%

Probably the worst hostel I've stayed at for the money. The feeling of the place is more "turkish flophouse" than "international hostel". Cold showers at all hours because owner won't put money into a water heater. No wifi in rooms, and barely any in the lobby because owner won't put money into a new router. The lobby consist of mostly sullen, middle aged turkish men watching tv. Very developing country feeling rather than hip hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sad to read this review. Our hostel is located in the heart of Kreuzberg which is the melting pot of Berlin. We are proud to have a very international team as well as guests from all over the world. Peace!

51%

The services of this hostel do not correspond to the price being paid,there was no hot water in the bathroom,the common toilets in the corridor were often dirty or inadequately equipped,and in general the value for money has reached in this hostel its minimum..Also,the breakfast is rather too simple(that's why it's also of course not needed to pay more for it),although the position is right in the heart of Kreuzberg,and right outside the metro station Mehringdamm,which is indeed very convenient!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We take every complain very serious in order to improve our services. Thank you for your feedback!

83%

Great location for food. U-bahn just outside to go see all the sites. Great sleep comfortable beds. Kebab shop always has a queue but they're tasty. Friendly staff. I would recommend metropol and would definitely return :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! Thank you so much and come back soon!

69%

Stayed here because I was going to a concert in the neighbourhood and wanted to be able to walk. I didn't have the greatest luck here with roommates- one snored all night and day so I barely got any sleep while I was here. However the staff were friendly and helpful and it was right on the metro line which was super convenient.




View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback