X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Metropolis Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1268 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice hostel in old part of Istanbul. Close walking distance to the main sites. Restaurants and shops nearby. Staff friendly and happy to help organise trips transfers etc. Rooftop bar good views and nice place for drink or to have breakfast. Note payment by cash or extra 8% to use credit card. Pretty tight staircase up to rooms and poor water pressure in shower.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The metropolis is well located near the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofya. As a first time visitor to Istanbul, I wanted to be close to many of the sights so I could return at different times of the day (different lighting for photos, shorter lines in the afternoons...), and I was able to do that! The staff is helpful and cheerful and they're able to store your luggage if you're traveling elsewhere and want to leave some luggage in Istanbul (5€/week). Bar up on the roof and food delivery available!


91%

Nice place! Highlights-The location is excellent to visit all the touristic attractions, and the breakfast on the terrace is just great!


100%

Wonderful hostel in great location. Superfriendly staff will make your stay even better.hostel is very clean and secure as well as quite at nights . Awesome view from roof bar . Breakfast was yummy.special thanks to the staff for organising cheap transfer , bath, tours, free shisha and pub crawl. Will be coming back soon...

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic hostel, highly recommend for solo travelers!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Stayed at Metropolis for 3 nights in July. Rooms were clean, spacious and had great air-con. Rooptop has amazing views. Staff were friendly. Only down side was the number of bathrooms/toilets meant there were long lines to wait in the morning and at the end of the day. Otherwise great hostel.


94%

Bathrooms were very clean. Each bed had it's own little light and an outlet (amazing!). The rooftop restaurant / bar was amazing. It was so nice to eat breakfast in the morning up there. Breakfast was great too. The staff was helpful and location cannot be beat. Really easy walk to Aya Sofya, and the hostel is right around the corner from a busy, restaurant filled area.


100%

Amazing Staff that does everything to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable!


86%

Really well located in the old town, this hostel has a great view of the Bosphorus from the roof top terrace. Staff were helpful and friendly, our room was comfortable and extremely clean.


100%

Wonderful hostel , located in a quite street yet is just 5 – 10 minutes walking distance from most popüler attractions, Very friendly staff always ready for any question , they organize cheap airport transfers, daily Gallipoli tours , baths and bosphorus cruise, free breakfast is quite yummy and the view from terrace is out of this world, This the cleanest hostel I ever stayyed. Definetly worth the money you pay for.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It was a little bit hard to find the hostel when I arrive, because of the many different streets in Istanbul, but actually it is REALLY well located. Near the main touristic sights, restaurants and public transportation. The view of my room was amazing also!


94%

Great hostel! I just wished my room's a/c had worked because it was really hot in there by morning even with windows open. Otherwise, rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, and rooftop terrace and free breakfast was great! Staff was also friendly and helpful.


100%

Staff is very nice and helpfull, facilities are very good and clean, defenetly worth the money.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow!!! What a great hostel. We have been travelling all eastern europe and finished our trip in İstanbul at Metropolis Hostel and so far it was best hostel we have stayed in. The location is unbeatable and you can even see most of place from roof bar. Free breakfast was the best one we have had aswell. Staff is very friendly and Will organise your travel need inluding cheap Turkish spa and airport shuttle. Overall had blast time both in İstanbul and Metropolis Hostel.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Really nice and helpful people, wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff, clean rooms and showers.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location! Friendly staff, this was the beginning of two weeks in Turkey, my friend who I was traveling with has a nut allergy, the staff were very helpfull in teaching us how to say it in Turkish and even wrote a note in Turkish that she could use any where we ate so that the waiters would understand.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Near perfect hostel exept for one tiny little detail. On their page they claim to have 24 hours hot water. In reality they had problems even offering 24 hours running water, much less hot. During our four days we had one day with no water at all, and two afternoons with a dribbel of luke warm water. Other than that, the place is great, good breakfast (bread, cheese, meat, greens, honey, jam, yoghurt, coffee/tea) convenient location and amazing roofbar. The staff is freindly and helpfull as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your review also for staying with us, As we informed you , there was no any water ( For that evening )in 75 % of the city NO ONLY IN OUR HOSTEL , to bad that has effect your last night stay with us, we hope that will not happen anymore

77%

Overall a good hostel. Did not like that the front door was open to the street 24/7, yet it was not always manned by a staff member as they were usually up in the terrace bar on an evening. There could have been more bathroom facilities as we found ourselves waiting to use the toilet on numerous occasions. The view from the terrace bar was fantastic; eating breakfast up there every morning was a pleasure. The breakfast was great and the two lady's who served breakfast were very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks very much for your review also for staying with us, just wanted to correct 2 things, our staff monitoring enterance 24/ 7 via sec. cam even while they stay on the roof, we have quite enough number of shower and toilets and we have explained to you upon check in that while one of the bathroom is busy you could use the others in lower or uper floors and no need to wait,

100%

Perfect location and helpfull staff.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Good location to visit the tourist locations and near the main tourist hostel street. Very clean. Friendly staff.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback