X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Metropolis Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1309 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Prime location , outstanding views, delicious breakfast,Staff could not be more helpful with my heavy bags, advises ,tips,aranging tours and transfers,Located in a quite street therefore great sleep quality a way from noise,I must say this was the cleanest hostel I ever stayed at. Great value as well. I enjoyed my stay and will recommed friends.

  • 9th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Staff is great - we enjoyed speaking with the brothers on staff & hanging out on the rooftop with them! They were also helpful booking our travel to Cappadocia.


100%

Very good place to stay in Istanbul! very nice atmosphere in the Roof top common room and terrace with beautiful view on the bosphorus and parts of istanbul


100%

The location of the hotel was perfect. Nice people works there.

  • 31st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean room, comfortable bed, nice breakfast. nice roof bar


94%

We booked a two bed room private ensuite. Unfortunately the hostel was full and we got an upgrade to a hotel next door that is owned by the same owner. But, we still ate breakfast at the hostel with a tremendous view over the Bosporus. The staff was always very nice and welcoming. Furthermore, the location is right next to Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazar and the Metro is close. I would stay there again (also without the upgrade).


86%

Excellent location close to most of the big tourist sights and the T1 tram to take you to Beyoglu/Taksim. Staff was extremely helpful with bags and questions. It's also spotlessly clean. I wish there were more bathrooms, more dorm beds and single rooms--there are a lot of couple's rooms and that made it less social. Also wish the roof was open past midnight because there's nowhere to socialize late without disturbing others. I'd recommend it to a friend, though!

  • 27th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

the staff was very friendly. the rooms were clean. overall had a good time staying at the hoste

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I thought it was a very nice stay, only minor details were missing like more places to hang your clothes in the shower, maybe shelves... but that is really just petty things. Awesome stay!

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel with really nice staff and beautiful view from terrace. I like the breakfast so much and having it on the roof even better. Hostel it was warm during the cold istanbul days , staff offered alots of free apple tea and sometime hookah, Location of the hostel is just perfect for starting explore the city, only 10 minutes a way from tram stop and is just couple minutes a way from hagia sophia blue mosq. and the palace...

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel, handy location and it's very secure,Breakfast was good, Free WiFi was available and connection was good, Great value as well, Definetly recommended.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fabulous hostel with great room and views from the terrace, Handy location its make the sightseings super easy, located in quite street a way from traffic,Brilliant staff was very helpful and friendly with good recommendations and tips, aranging tours and tansfers etc.We did enjoy our stay indeed and definetly would stay here again..

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff at Metropolis Hostel was very helpfull, and patience, with all my million questions that I had and give me perfect navigation information on the Istambul public transportation system. Location is also perfect and they have an amazing view from the balcony.


100%

Cool place with really nice people,location was awesome as we could walk almost everywhere.Healty breakfast served on the roof was just amazing.is definetly one of the cleanest hostel I ever stayed at. I have met with really nice people there and we had a great time together.Please note hostel is not located in taksim area ( nightlife center) but we shared a taxi to go there which cost 4 turkish dolar each about 2 euros. I would definetly stay in this hostel again

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We enjoyed our stay at metropolis hostel, our room was clean and cozy, we could access wifi from our room . Roof top terrace was just amazing,the view was great, breakfast was yummy.Staff were friendly and always helpful, Overall this hostel was beyond our expectations and with no doubt it was one of the best hostel we ever stayed.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel in historical part of the city, location is handy, very close to populer places,,Roof top terrace is gorgeous as well as the included breakfast, they have free wi-fi and 2 computers for free, Staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • 31st Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location and definitely it's worth money. Breakfast is good and it's great ro have it on rooftop especially when it's sunny

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean hostel , in central location yet very quite at nights , we had really good sleep at this place, roof terrace have nice view, this is where we had free breakfast and is roof top bar at nights with cheap drinks , shisha vs.this place is quite enjoyable and we will return in the end of our trip, thanks to staff for wonderful turkish hospitality

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Beautiful hostel, highly recommend , great location.

  • 23rd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Instantly we disliked this hotel. The staff was cold and unwelcoming, the rooms and showers were tiny, and despite advertising otherwise, they insisted we pay in cash instead of credit. Their fee for shuttle service was the highest we saw in Istanbul and on top of it, we had to wait half an hour because an actual vehicle was unavailable. The deals it had with other local tourist vendors was subpar and incredibly overpriced as well. Their drinks were pricey as well, as cheap shops were next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest,Instantly we disliked your review as there is many mistakes and disinformation,Your asked for a private airport transfer not a shuttle bus ,is clearly shows in our hostelworld page , in the facilities that we do not accept credid cards ,How could you compare prices between shops and bars? We do not have a shop, We have a Roof Top Bar. You did not asked about our deals at all and never talked with our travel desk how did you compare with other vendors?Good luck with your next trips.

(895 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback