X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Metropolis Hostel Reviews

Akbiyik cad. Terbiyik sok. No:24, Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1268 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The hostel was well located and our basic needs were met but we thought it was very overpriced; we were paying hotel prices for what was essentially a backpacker type hostel, clean but basic. The young concierge/manager on duty most days seemed irritated at being disturbed by questions and fairly unapproachable which made it more difficult to get information about Istanbul and finding our way around. None of the managers seemed very interested or friendly.


100%

Location of the hostel is really good, very central and it's quite at nights, Delicious breakfast in the mornings served at their roof terrace with the beautiful view of the boshphorus,The room was cozy and secure,bathroom was clean and central heating working very well,for the price and service this hostel deserve 5 star!!

  • 28th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Good hostel , good location and breakfast, Free wifi was available and staff was freindly & helpful, They also provide lockers in the rooms,The view from the terace is great

  • 19th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was a cheap hostel although room and bathroom was very clean and the bed was comfortable, Buffet breakfast was included price. Wi-fi worked well and the staff was friendly , informative.I would highly recommend this place..

  • 18th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice breakfast with a wonderful seaside view.


100%

People were really friendly and nice. The beds seem to be really cleaned. Good shower facility and good breakfast.


83%

Very close to the sites of Old Town. Kind of a touristy area, but feels very safe. They have a nice rooftop, and the staff was friendly and helpful.


100%

Hostel is clean and location is convenient. The bed is good and with a nice blanket.

  • 13th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Staff are not friendly, you should pay more attention on bathrooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, You never talk with any of our staff no even a greeting ( except check in time), Due to water shortage in the city for a half day we agree that there was problem in the bathrooms for couple hours , but thats it, I would reconsider again before write a comment about a place, as you stayed only one day here and I dont think that you got our real hostel character and atmosphere ,I think our other guests review give better ansever to your comment.

100%

This is a good hostel , central location make everything easy as its easy to walk almost everywhere, Free breakfast was good enough for a hostel, internet was available and the rooms were clean , Roof top bar have a really good view of the boshphorus and prices for drinks are cheap compare to other places around,staff were friendly too, We had a good stay there and would stay here again.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good hostel. Loved the breakfast on the rooftop terrace each morning and it was a great area for socializing in the evenings too. Met lots of awesome people at this hostel. Johnny who works there is also very friendly!


100%

The Hostel is comfortable, staff is very friendly, excellent position. Many thanks!!


100%

Great location, nice and warm, comfy beds, clean beds, clean towels, affordable.


97%

The staff were always helpful and friendly. We really liked the bar on the roof terrace that was popular with all guests and made you feel welcome. It was easy to get to know people even if you were on your own you were never lonely.

  • 5th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is one of the nicest hostels that I have ever stayed at. From the friendly greeting to the beautiful rooftop and breakfast to the comfortable bunk, clean room and adjoining bathroom with hot water to the WIFI to the great location . I loved it!


100%

Fantastic hostel , very well located and they offer great accommodations,I liked the roof terrace bar,free breakfast and fast speed internet.This is a cool place if you like to meet with other travelers , at least during my stay I have met with wonderful people.Definetly I will stay here again upon my return to istanbul city

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Stayed here in a triple room for one night. Arrived very early in the morning and were able to shower and breakfast. They held our luggage until checkin time which was very helpful. We were upgraded to their sister hotel which was very nice. Terrace with view to the bosphorous a relaxing place. Highly reccommend this hostel. Situated close to all major attractions.

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent atmosphere and very welcoming staff..

  • 30th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

One the plus side, the Metropolis has a nice rooftop terrace with its leafy awning and unobstructed view of the Bosphorus. And the included breakfast is good if you reach it before its last half hour, when pickins get slim. Downside: dorm rooms are a little more cramped, lack lockers or wall hooks. Roof is the only common room but is closed between midnight to b-fast.


100%

Location was perfect. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • 29th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(873 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback