X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Miami Hostel Reviews

810 Alton Rd. Miami Beach, FL, Miami, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1114 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Its decent if you are looking for a place to sleep, i did book it because it was the cheaper option, and its ok for what you get, basic brekky is decent. Not exactly central location but there is a free city trolley that runs a loop every 10minutes, so never hard to get anywhere, but the short dude that works at reception is like talking to a brick wall, never had some one in guest services have less of a personality....ever! Not a big deal, but its the first person you meet when you enter


86%

The staff was super friendly and helpful. They knew good and cheap places to eat, events to go and sights to see. The restrooms were okay, have in mind it's a hostel, not a hotel. We were 8 people in a room without windows, so the air inside wasn't good but if you're only there for sleeping it's alright. Maybe it would have been better if there were two beds less in the room - there is not much space to unpack your bags, neither is there room to store anything. But they have some small lockers


63%

The staff is very friendly, and it's nice to have a kitchen, open use desktops, a pool table and a large courtyard. Unfortunately, the bathrooms grotesque and moldy.


91%

I've remained positively surprised by the hostel. it was cleaned every day. you have free breakfast. i left the hostel one day before the expected check out day and they gave me back the money of that day. fantastic!!! i really recomand Miami Hostel

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Unfriendly staff doesnt help at all, not willing to provide any sort of help just kept handing me flyers instead of real answers

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

One toilet/shower between 12 with no facilitys in common area is too much of a strech and have a big wait for a toilet alot of the time. Only 3 hot plates in the kitchen for a hostel of this size is also not enough and could have to que for up to an hour to cook food. Internet is poor alot of the time even a quite times and the hot tub had a good bit of debris in it when it was open.Also had the WORST SNORER no exaggeration i have ever heard in my life for 8 nights keeping the dorm awake

Owner Comment (Hide)
The 12 bed room is our cheapest room so only one bathroom is in the room, the more expensive rooms, have two bathrooms. There is also a common area restroom right outside the office for all to use. The four eyelets on the stove all work, you just need to push down on the knobs and then turn to turn them on. We have hi-speed internet and extenders to reach each room. We are a garden hostel, The jacuzzi is cleaned every morning. Also we cannot discriminate against guests who snore. Thank you.

63%

They gave a bed which there was someone sleeping already, and they did it twice. I checked in around midnight and because of that I got my room around 3. The staff is not friendly except for one of the guys who works during the day. The room was very messy and the bed was discomfortable and noisy. The bathroom was ok, but you take a lot of time to find the right temperature for the water. The good thing is that I made good friends there. The location is ok, but a little bit far from the beach.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, We did everything to accomodate you during your stay, sometimes people change beds and at the time we do not know until the following morning. Also when you went to your assigned bed and saw things on it you moved it all onto the floor instead of coming to the office. As for the noisy beds, this is a hostel and are used very frequently by many travellers

49%

I found facilities very old and not well mainteined, bathrooms were really bad. I cannot talk about all the staff because I only met two guys but they didn't have a kind attitude and weren't really helpful.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

really good everything in general location i put average because it is on alton road pretty far from the beach and security was not really good everyone could leave and enter without any control despitte everything was under surveillance cameras but i guess that nobody pay atention to them


89%

I had a great stay at this hostel. The dorm was clean, I felt safe, and it was in a great location (15 min walk to the beach, 2 min walk to wholefoods, 5 min walk to supermarket, and 1 min walk to bus stop). There were a lot of young people and it seemed to be quite a sociable hostel, although I was out the majority of my stay so didn't get to experience this. They have free breakfast and the price is reasonable compared to others in the are. I'd definately consider staying here again

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good location in South Beach, about 10 minute walk to the main strip of shops. Free BBQ dinner on our first night was good.


74%

Some super friendly staff and some super unfriendly staff in the night


89%

I love the atmosphere. Well.. Location is not bad but in the night, I feel little bit scary... But I liked this hostel, and if I have a chance to Miami, I will choose this hostel one more time :)

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place enjoyed the little continental breakfast each morning. Little bit of a party bunch on the weekends, nice and quite in the evenings

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Was staying upstairs so far from common area as had to go out to street and up. One abrupt staff member but rest were great! Deposit on arrival, cash only! Breakfast is always one bagel! But good bbq burger (patty and cheese) on some nights of week. Prices sky rocket around Christmas so left and went to another hostel but very cheap so get what you pay for. Heaps of fridge space and awesome kitchen

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I ended up staying two nights instead of one.. Location was bit far from FLL airport but the local transportation was great! The owner was really nice and helpful. Many guests were staying there for longer time and finding a job etc so not too many backpackers but the atmosphere was still ok.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Air in the room was very bad and it was almosst impossible to get fresh air in. Kitchen is well equipped and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are in a season.Is up to the people in the room to open the AC or to open the Windows,Because normally we the AC 24/7.So we dont know what you guys where usaing,it is a shame you didn't come to the front desk so we could have help you,We are so sorry and if you ever come back dont hesitate to let us know,we are here to help you.

97%

I was given room with 2 doors that couldn't be lock then they asked me to move to other room. New room was great. Clean, bright, comfy pillow but not so comfy bed. Toilet was super clean. Night staff was OK, day staff was super friendly and helpful.


97%

I enjoyed my staying at Miami Hostel, I will recommend my friends for sure to book in this charming Hostel. The welcomed and the excellent information of the front desk impressed me at my arrival.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff is always willing to help. The hostel is in a great location, close to the beach and close to supermarkets what makes it easier for tourist to find goods and prepare meals. The kitchen is always clean and organized. I will recomend this place because altough you can make noise and have fun you also have time to relax.

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(75 results)


View all Miami Hostels

Please give us your feedback