X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mill Rest Hostel Reviews

49 Main Street,Bushmills, BT57 8QA, Antrim, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
285 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

We really enjoyed our stay at Mill Rest Hostel. We think that with a bit of colour and a bit more cool furniture you could do a lot that the atmosphere will be a lot warmer. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.


94%

We enjoyed our stay here in early October. Beds were a little tough, but the room was spacious and the water was hot in the shower! The shower flooring is quite tough to stand on, but that may be so you don't take a long shower? I'm not sure. The management was super nice and friendly. Thanks again for a great place to stay!

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice staff and in the middle of Bushmills. There is a central and other options near by. Easy walking distance to trails etc. The facilities were very clean. Considering the price, thus location was a great value. Only thing I would change would be extending the wifi beyond the lounge area. Would stay again.


100%

I loved this hostel. The location is great, easy to find and access. Parking was not onsite but extremely close. It had a really great feel to it, very relaxing and welcoming. The manager was very helpful. Particularly noted that the dorm was well set out (the one I was in had a mezzanine level that added character) and bathroom was great and very clean - a joy to use after some not so good hostel experiences!

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

My only issue was the wifi signal didn't extend past the reception area.


83%

I made my booking through www.hostelworld.com for a bed in a female dorm. However, when I got to the hostel it appeared that they only had shared dorms. The man at the reception of Bushmills Mill Rest Hostel was very friendly and could place me in a room with only women. A tip for www.hostelworld.com to maybe change that on the website, so other travellers who really count on a female dorm won't be in the same situation. Friendly staff, good location and communal area's.

  • 22nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall my stay was fine! I would suggest having soap at all the sinks and improving the kitchen sink so the hot water doesn't spray all over the place when turned on! There weren't clean dish rags for washing dishes and the kitchen was a little dirty. Most of the tables in the dining room were broken and the lounge area was very outdated.The pillows and mattresses very very hard. Wifi is only available in the uncomfortable lounge. However, the location is great and the showers were hot.

  • 19th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff was super helpful and accommodating. We enjoyed our visit and our stay at the hostel! Thank you.

  • 16th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

We had a private room, what was nice and the beds were good. Also it was quiet. The bathroom (ensuite) was a bit dirty and the kitchen as well. The two wardens were a bit unfriendly, but we enjoyed our stay anyway-


83%

the common room or common sitting area feels a lot like a waiting room nog a room where you can chill en relax. If they jazz it up a bit or maybe shield it from the hall and reception it will feel more like a common room.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Right next to the bus stop from Coleraine or the Giant's Causeway. Friendly welcome on arrival. Though meals were not available the self catering kitchen was adequate and there's a large dining room. 2 good fish and chip shops nearby too. Comfortable bed; there were 4 bunks and 2 single beds on upper gallery in the en-suite room but I only had to share with 1 other. There were washing lines but no drying room/boot room as far as I could see, though it sometimes rains in Ireland!

  • 5th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Enjoyed our stay here, friendly staff, great location


77%

This hostel is very calm and relaxed, definitely not a party hostel. There is a self-catering kitchen, but there is absolutely nothing provided, not even salt and pepper, unless it was left behind by another guest, which was very disappointing. It's right next to a bus stop, so getting around the causeway coast was really easy. The room was extremely spacious and well kept, so that was a bonus.


80%

Nice bed and bedroom. Was alone in a 6bed and they wasn't really people.overthere. Just stayed one night !


97%

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The whole experience from booking to delivery of service was efficient and genuinely professional. Very good for getting to seveal places of interest.

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Spacious, modern, clean. Probably the nicest hostel I have stayed in during Scotland and Ireland travels. 4 bed room had 2 single beds on one floor, two single beds in a loft with ensuite bathroom. Staff very helpful. No breakfast served but there is a large self catering kitchen. Also a laundry available onsite. Located right in the middle of Bushmills. Highly recommended


69%

normal youth hostel, clean, wifi only downstairs, wuite strict rules.


89%

Mill Rest Hostel is in a prime location in Bushmills, only steps away from the bus stop to the Giants Causeway and almost next door to a supermarket with long opening hours. The hostel itself is spacious. When we visited there were only a few people staying, so the dining room and kitchen were vast. Our twin room and en suite was ideal for an overnight stay. A good value accommodation on the North Coast.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Mill Rest staff is very friendly and helpful (thanks for letting us use the phones to get the ferry to Rathlin set up!). The common areas were pleasant and we liked the kitchen and being able to use the fridge.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A friendly welcome, clean hostel and excellent facilities. Our first time, and definitely surpassed our expectations. Highly recommended.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(142 results)


View all Bushmills Hostels

Please give us your feedback