X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mill Rest Hostel Reviews

49 Main Street,Bushmills, BT57 8QA, Antrim, Bushmills, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
241 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Spacious, modern, clean. Probably the nicest hostel I have stayed in during Scotland and Ireland travels. 4 bed room had 2 single beds on one floor, two single beds in a loft with ensuite bathroom. Staff very helpful. No breakfast served but there is a large self catering kitchen. Also a laundry available onsite. Located right in the middle of Bushmills. Highly recommended


89%

Mill Rest Hostel is in a prime location in Bushmills, only steps away from the bus stop to the Giants Causeway and almost next door to a supermarket with long opening hours. The hostel itself is spacious. When we visited there were only a few people staying, so the dining room and kitchen were vast. Our twin room and en suite was ideal for an overnight stay. A good value accommodation on the North Coast.

  • 7th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Mill Rest staff is very friendly and helpful (thanks for letting us use the phones to get the ferry to Rathlin set up!). The common areas were pleasant and we liked the kitchen and being able to use the fridge.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A friendly welcome, clean hostel and excellent facilities. Our first time, and definitely surpassed our expectations. Highly recommended.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

As a senior traveller I have been in many a hostel over the years, but I can think of few that match the facilities in this lovely hostel. Tucked away in the centre of Bushmills, it has spacious rooms, excellent cooking and dining areas, and friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended as a base for a few days stay in this part of N.Ire. (the weather was also great, which probably helps this glowing review!!)

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Poor facilities in this hostel. The only one in the village. No breakfast included in the price, so it is not convenient. Friendly and helpful staff.


63%

Huge hostel, used regularly for families and school groups. Room was freezing, I switched the radiator on but it went off in the night. Clean sheets and pillow case - but no duvet cover and mine looked dirty. There was a really really bad smell in the bathroom - I think something to do with the drains. I told reception though, and the guy - who was very nice seemed genuinely surprised and thanked me for letting him know. Walls need reprinting as are dirty. Nice lounge area with big warm fire.


89%

Reception staff, Karen and Dennis couldn't have been more helpful. They took an interest in travel plans without being intrusive. The hostel from reception, to bathrooms to sleeping facilities were excellent throughout. Perfect location for Bushmills Distillery and Giants Causeway. Once of those places I could have stayed longer. Nice place, excellnt staff.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We had 2 rooms on one for 3 no problem at all there and one for 6 and the shower was a problem in that room. I would use the hostel again if I was to go back there with a group of people as the location is great. We were a group of 9: kids adults one blind person and a guide dog and all worked really well.


94%

We came there in the evening to learn that the heating and hot water system wasn't working(Broken Pump!). We also got an E-Mail earlier to tell us about the Problems but we had no possibility to check our e-mails on the way. He told us that if we wish to stay he could give us two electric heaters to heat our room and he wouldn't charge us anything. We stayed and really enjoyed our stay. The room was warm, so was the common room with a nice fireplace and the shower in the morning was refreshing!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
97%

Great place to stay in Bushmills, was quite due to the time of year but the facilities at the hostel were excellent!

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

It was the perfect setting for us/kids with small kids!

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Basic, clean facilities and room. I had a bad shower in the first room (9) but they changed me to number 13 which had a new shower fitment and worked perfectly. When showering occasionally the pressure drops and you have to wait 5-10 seconds for the water to return, not a bad thing. Bed was comfortable.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was in the centr of town and it was easy to park in the car lot Park and Ride across the street. There wasn't much atmosphere to the place when we were there but it has a nice lounge, dining hall and garden area. The kitchen facilities are quite baic but adequate.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

There were no obvious recycling facilities. Also, it wasn't made clear what to do with bed linen. Other than those little things, had a great stay!


91%

This was an excellent hostel in Bushmills. It was very quiet and had a large dining room, kitchen and common room. It's not a place for meeting lots of people though. There were families and older couples here. The hostel rooms were excellent with a separate shower and toilet in the room. Lots of PowerPoint's. Central heating. Comfy beds. Lockers for luggage. Kitchen was fully equipped. The hostel was a old, but everything was clean and worked. Wifi was free but only worked in the lounge.


97%

Given it is (as far as I know) the only hostel in this little town, I was surprised at the quality of the service it provided. The facilities are clean, modern and spacious. The staff was friendly and helpful.


83%

Hello, we`d liked it very much at yours, especially that you answered to our Needs in such a nice way! We might come back! - Thanks! - Fam. Aretz

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly welcome from the man at reception, sorry didn't get his name. We had a family room with 6 beds and were very comfortable. Parked the car across the road about 100 meters away, no charge. Bushmills is a lovely town, people were all friendly. We took the narrow guage railway to the Giant's Causeway, 3 Km away

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

We liked the hostel although our two sons found that it was rather quiet. The room and bathroom were impeccably clean. An ideal location to visit the coast : the Giants' Causeway, Dunluce Castle, The Rope Bridge...


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(125 results)


View all Bushmills Hostels

Please give us your feedback