X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ming Courtyard Reviews

No.34 XinTaiCang Hutong, DongZhiMen, Beijing, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
557 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The staff went out of there way to change things last minute for our party of nine people. The place was clean and very beautiful. The only concern I had was the breakfast was too late to get an early start on the day and the bar had a very strong air fresher that took your breath away but better that then the smells in some parts of China.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I really enjoyed my stay here and look forward to coming back in the future. The location was great and the staff were lovely. The bar was a nice add-on, loved the cumin beer :)


91%

It was a great place to stay, and really a convenient location. You are a ten minute walk from Metro Line 5 or a fifteen minute walk from Line 2. There are decent restaurants on the main street (东直门内大街) and a bus stop nearby as well. The rooms were kept clean and it was not too noisy. I definitely recommend staying at Ming Courtyard if you have the chance.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We stayed in Ming Courtyard for 3 nights. We really liked the atmosphere, hostel is very clean. It's located almost in the centre. The staff is really very nice, they help you if you have any questions. I'd advice this hostel to all travelers who had come to this wonderful city like Beijing !!))

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Its a very nice Hostel, a great place to spend a few nights in the exciting of BeijingBeijing. I could get to some interesting places by walking a few blocks. On how to get there I would just recommend people to go out rough exit , walk until e road, then turn right and walk until the corner. Turn right again and walk until you find an ATM from the China Construction Bank. Its kind of long, but just fine. When you do find the ATM, turn right and walk down the alleyway. Keep your eye to your left


69%

The hostel lobby/chill-out area was nice.However,the female dorm was dirty and I killed 2 baby roaches upon my arrival.The cubicle style toilet and shower was generally 'clean' & if someone next to you is having a shower,the water in your shower cubicle will trinkle down slowly.The female staff was very nice & friendly but the male staff could try to at least be more friendly.I guess this hostel would be perfect for someone who just needs a place to sleep & mingle with international guests.


91%

The location is great! Such a beautiful place :) Nice to have towels and hair dryer provided :D

  • 7th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

A relatively nice place to stay, relatively close to a subway stop and close to food and restaurants. I would recommend the pub adjacent to the main reception/lounge area of the hostel. The owner Mr Hou brews his own beer and has 4 distinct flavours currently. They all taste better than the conventional Chinese made beers like Tsingdao or Yanjing. The pub is just on the right as one enters the courtyard.


77%

beijing west information online not accurate. Line 9 one stop, not as printed line 2.... also looking for the Construction Bank ATM is not accurate, it's not the Construction bank but is the only ATM. There are 4 exits to bexingiao station. have your back to the ATM door and walk forward till you get to the road. Turn Left nd walk down that road, lots of restraunts. Cross over and you are looking for a little alleyway (on your right) about 4 min room was freezing, coffee was great


69%

Had 2 great nights of sleep here - beds are very comfortable, and the temperature was perfect to sleep in despite being in Winter. Only things missing are - a good common area (currently just 2 couches, with not much going on, but maybe was because its winter and the bar area wasnt open) - a more welcoming and helpful reception staff However, overall, a good place to have a good nights sleep in a great location in the exciting Hutongs

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great service.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice place to stay with a lovely golden retriever and good staffs. I recommend it especially for Trans-Siberia Railway travelers. A young guy in reception was really helpful. He gave us lots of so neat and useful information about how to cost cheaper from Beijing to Mongolia and Russia by international train and how to go around Lake Baikal's surrounding areas such as Irkutsk. Just because a few months ago he experienced the things I would like to do as well. I am really appreciate.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our staff are really happy to offer useful help and you guys are always welcome to come back again.

100%

We were staying in double ensuite room, and liked it very much - nice and stylish furniture, nice washroom, warm weather inside. The atmosphere is wonderfull, the location - in a very romantic street, you feel like living among Chinese, and very close - famous food street Guijie. The staff was very helpfull to us (let us to call by phone). In a word, I would like to stay in this hostel, when next time visit Beijing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We all hope to see you again!

86%

hostel is really good,but the staffs didn' t helpful,i 've never met that before....they dont know where is HOU HAI,even confused two part of the great wall....and gave us the wrong way.....the others are ok...anyway,i like China

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,thank you for your review,maybe there was some misunderstanding,I think as long as you asked the receptionist, they must know it or they can check for you to make it sure.Anyway,you are always welcome to our hotel again.

97%

was in room 118. was a four bedroom. the room was great and had best wifi strength than other 4bedroom rooms. the nearest bathroom is great but chilly during winter. but i could use the other shower facilities. very convenient to get to thesubway and restraunts. could use a common kitchen...doesnt have one but a small cafe and some food is provided. alla in all i would say, excellent. esp for the price.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear,how are you doing ,thanks for recommending our hotel.Come back again!

71%

Nothing special about the hostel, but a good clean bed and clean bathrooms. The location is very close to the metro and the airport link, which was very convenient. It worked perfectly for our short stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,we hope you come to stay with us again.

97%

Very nice location, very clean, cheap beer, nice helpfull and english speaking staff. Nothing to complain about except the lack of lockers in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review,we will try our best to make progress,welcome to stay with us again.

83%

Everything was good! But only one - in my room (101), there was an Asian girl who snoring all nights! It was terrible! I couldn't sleep at all! p.s. Thnx 4 the shysha)

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,next time if this situation happens again,you can tell us and we will be happy to change a room for you.

80%

We had a great time in the hostel. The subwaystation is nearby. So you can reach all the sighseeing places easily. The staff speaks basic english, so they can't help you with everyting, but they try to help you the best. The room and the facilities were OK. For the price we have payed, you can't say anything against the hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and welcome to come back again.

100%

Great reception staff that were friendly. We had a pleasant stay in our free upgrade, thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,if there is room available,we are always happy to offer free upgrade for our guests,come back again!

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback