X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ming Courtyard Reviews

No.34 XinTaiCang Hutong, DongZhiMen, Beijing, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
647 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 69%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Great place anytime but winter. Have tried several times to stay during the winter and have always been cold. Left 2-days early this time and booked another hotel.


80%

The staffs are very accommodating, our room is so spacious, and the restrooms are always clean. Though, shower heaters weren't working that much and no hair blower at all. My cab driver wasn't to find the hotel and so I ended up walking and asking directions from the street bystanders at 2am in a -7degree Celsius (for about 20-30mins and more or less 200meters)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying in our hotel,sorry for the directions and make you so hard.Actually its 3mins walking from the main street..and also like 5mins from the subway station.hope to see you again.thank you again.

100%

Ming Courtyard is a very good hostel to stay at the people there are very nice and helpful I felt at home when I was staying there, also the hotel is close to the subway station and restaurants it is a very good location to stay at.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Pretty good location, lots of places to eat nearby and very central which is great for sightseeing. The showers and bathrooms are co-ed which I didn't really like. Also, we did a tour of the Great Wall and we asked for having to pay entrance fees, etc. they said it was all included. Then we had to pay 100 rmb for the cable car which would have been valuable information. Other than that, a pretty good hostel for China.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

A drunken customer was trying to fight the bartender, but we stepped in and put a stop to it. Felt bad for the bartender. Did a tour of the Great Wall through the hostel, which was enjoyable and seemed reasonably priced. Good haircuts right outside the entrance of the hostel. Would stay here again.

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm and was the only people in there, so it was clean and spacious and quiet. beds where fine ,it was a room around the courtyard and the toilets and showers where inside the main building which was a little annoying but not really that big a deal! The toilets and showers where clean. There is a lovely courtyard area with sun loungers and tables, really nice on a lovely day, but not so good when raining as there indoor common area is quite small. good wifi.

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice, relaxed haven away from the big city. Chilled out courtyard, with facilities for a sundowner after a busy day. Room quiet and clean and no hot water issue. What more could one need?


54%

4-bed dorms have no window (was not specified in the information) and the AC wasn't well maintained so there was a mouldy smell in the dorm. It was so moisty that towels didn't dry and started to stink. Staff was friendly but only spoke extremely basic English. Staff smoked on the toilet of the public bathroom so it was hard to breathe. One toilet was in a very poor state. We think that it was very expensive for what we got. We did not feel okay there at all. Lockers cost 1 RMB every time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear friend,its really nice of you to give us advice and we will do better,but the 4 person drom do have window but you stay in the 12 person room.about the smoke,its not allowed to smoke here but only in the yard.and about the towel,u rent it but we only charge you 15CNY which is 2 dollars for 4 days ,so its not true about what you said.and i dont think its even cheaper in any of hostels in Beijing,so next time please take it your own then u can save a lot of money,,

80%

Great.Good staff.Recomend.The staff accommodated an extra guest when we showed up. The courtyard area is amazing! The value was pretty good, but the facility is not the cleanest. The walls in the rooms were extremely disgusting, with one bed having boogers wiped on the wall like the room had never been cleaned. As we were checking out, they called the maintenance guy who went and looked at the room, and said "the room is ready for the next guest. Pretty sure he didn't clean. And not good AC.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your advice,we will improve it as soon as possible .hope to see you again,have a nice day.

94%

The female dorm room are so clean and brightly lit. The public bathroom was clean. The showers were clean and the toilets were also clean. The hostel is located in a hutong near Beixinqiao station. It was a easy walk from the subway exit to the hostel even at night. The instructions provided were fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you honey for choose to stay here.hope to see you again.thank you

80%

Overall the hostel suited my needs very well. However, one member of staff (tall with glasses) was particularly slow in everything he did and wasted a lot of time on very simple tasks. Other than that I had a good time and would recommend it. The staff were especially helpful in booking me a taxi to the airport for my early morning flight.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayed here for 3 nights August 2015 in a 10 bed dorm. Limited English is spoken by the staff; just enough to get by. They are organizing a tour to the Great Wall (~350 CNY) but when informing about this we got a very uninterested and uninformative responses, after which we decided to book the tour somewhere else (Downtown Backpackers, 280 CNY) which was great (also this one is not only much cheaper but also without lunch etc, which we prefer to arrange ourselves). The toilets/showers are in


60%

I didn't like that the toilets and bathrooms were located across the courtyard from our room. This is highly inconvenient especially if you have to use the toilet in the middle of the night.

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Jamaica
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
sorry for the inconvenient while you stay here,we will improve it as soon as possible.

77%

Too many people sharing the toilets


60%

The room was tiny with no Windows. This room is not appropriate as a dorm( mix4 bed w bathroom).the staff was to strict and without an adequate service orientation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for what happened here during your stay,and i apologize for that.because it was super busy at this time every year,so i hope you understand that..and we will improve everything..hope you have a good time.....thank you ,have a nice day.

83%

I didnt like the staff who wears chinese cloths, he is not friendly looks like he doesnt enjoy his work.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry about the staff who make u unhappy during your stay,and i will try my best to improve the staff here..thank you for your staying here,hope to see you again.have a nice day.

66%

Nice area, nice hostel but not the most friendly or informative staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your advice, we will do our best to train our staff here, hope to see you again.have a nice day

86%

this is actually one of the best Hostels I've ever stayed! location is quite good, just 6/7 min walk to a great variety of restaurants. beautiful garden area, with cheap and good burgers if you're up for western food, and a small bar also. dorms are nice and clean. good atmosphere in the hostel. only point, staff is not really nice, keeps ignoring, if you want to ask something




View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback