X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mini Hotel Reviews

Via Lomellini 6/1, Genoa, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
94 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Staff showed us many places to go in Genoa, but were not particularly friendly. The hotel is a little walk from the train station and a short walk from the city center/pier. The hotel didn't seem very welcoming, but our room was nice. We were not very fond of Genoa itself, especially at night, but the hotel has a security system in place that is supposed to keep it safer.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

A nice little hotel in the centre of Genova, very good value for money! The room was clean, had an airconditioning and was nicely furnished. The hotel is right at a good spot and i would surely recommend it to everybody.


74%

Didn't like genoa, so it's probably not the hotel's fault - it just wasn't situated in a great area as it was quite smelly and dangerous at night, but the hotel itself was average.


66%

The room was acceptable for the cost. The problem was the breakfast (which we paid 10 Euros for). It was spartan, and unappetizing to say the least. There was 1 brioche each and we were watched until we showed signs of leaving before anymore were brought out. We say this not because we necessarily wanted more but rather, we were disappointed by the mean attitude displayed by the staff in charge. Just along from the Hotel, a coffee and Brioche would cost 4Euros.


71%

No wi-fi, only internet access via a laptop which is no good for people using iPads and the like. Very small room and bed but a good base from which to launch out and see Genova.


40%

Would have been a great trip until this was the only location that wouldn't accept photocopies of passports (I am studying in Italy and traveling within Italy with copies is fine and safer than bringing my passport everywhere) so I had to pay for the night I didn't stay. It would have been fine until the clerk threatened to call the police on us because we didn't have passports because she claimed not having them is illegal. Which we learned later is not true.


86%

A little pricy, but good location and very clean. Rooms were nice but noisy as we had a room facing a main street.


89%

really helpful staff, city-centered position of the hotel with bus stops nearby, but the distance from the Porta Principe railway station fairly longer than introduced

  • 14th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The breakfast could be included in the rate.


60%

We had wifi in our room which was nice but I don't think all rooms do? We booked a 3 person room and expected 3 beds but there were only 2, so that was a little bit of a pain. Overall you get what you pay for.


77%

Great location, very central. Quick walk to the port and seaside. Parking was a bit tricky and I worried as i had to leave my motorbike quite far away. No wifi but lap top is provided on first floor.


37%

No wifi, broken air con, rude staff and that's just the beginning. Our toilet wouldn't flush and the lady gave us a choice of either peeing in a bucket or sleeping on the street... We are backpackers and are not fussy about where we stay but this was ridiculous. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, our stay was horrible and we couldn't get out of their quick enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really incredible imagination of these people. Not comment!!!

60%

Breakfast was good. Lack of Wi-Fi is disappointing and the time limits on using the computer are not good because of the time differences in the countries.


89%

The hotel is pretty good, not far from the railway station, and the staff there is very very good. The only thing is that it is a little old.


80%

Location was nice, right in the middle of the city. We had a 2 person private ensuite, which had a good clean bathroom and a shover and a TV. There was no wi-fi in the room, but there was a PC laptop with internet connection in the hallway. Also there was an air conditioning device in the room, but it didn't work. Sound isolation was very bad. Voices from the streets and neighbour rooms came through too clearly. Not the best I've seen, but definately not the worst. Very decent for the money.


91%

A nice hotel in this price range:)


97%

The hotel is lovely! And very convenient to the old part of town, castles and museums and the subway and buses. The staf was surperbly sweet, kind and accomodating.the room was wonderful for the money . included a private bathroom and bidet! The neighborhood is lively and colourful. careful of your purse when you are out!


97%

The hotel is located perfectly for discovering old town of Genoa. Quite close (10 min walk) to Railway station and also in a walking distance to port. Excelent coffee for the breakfast. Spacious tripple room. Small grocery next door to hotel. Plenty of restorans nearby for dinner.

  • 24th Feb 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Latvia
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Broken glass in the shower and a bug shmushed on the wall...


63%

At first, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location was great, in the old centre and close to the harbour. But, as the streets in the old centre consist of small alleys, and as Genoa is a harbour city, it may feel unsafe. We didn't experience it as unsafe, but I still would NOT recommend it to a woman alone. Major downside: hygene!!! It looks very clean and the room is cleaned every day. BUT there was quite a bit of mould in the bathroom. And then there was the cockroach... Yuk!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Genoa Hotels

Please give us your feedback