X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Minneapolis International Hostel Reviews

2400 Stevens Avenue South, Minneapolis, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
812 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

This is good lodging - I won't hesitate to stay here again, should the occasion arise.


89%

Great staff, and overall really great facilities. It's an oder building, so access to power outlets was a bit challenging for the group dorm rooms (2 sockets, 6 beds). Location is great - right in between Uptown and Downtown, close to a bike Minneapolis location, and is close to the natural sights you might want to see. Would be nice to see in room lockers (for security). Definitely one of the better U.S. hostels.


100%

Minneapolis International Hostel is one of the nice places I have ever seen. The staff and owner are very friendly and you can feel you secure in there. I strongly suggest that you stay in there when you visit to Minnesota.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Huge argument taking place at the front door as I arrive. I was then taken to the dorm room which was the upper floor with 14 beds in it. $20 was stolen from my wallet immediately as I took my first shower. Nothing available for breakfast at all, free coffee never full. One bathroom and shower for 14 beds. Workmen were doing various things outside the door and in the room all day. About a miles walk from downtown or uptown. Premium prices, miserable result, shame it's the only option in Mpls


49%

I checked in but did not stay or ask for a refund. It was a warm and humid day. I was told the air conditioning was on but the room I was assigned to was warm and humid. there was no fan or ability to open the windows to cool off the room. There was a door to a outdoor deck but that was locked. the windows had a configuration on them that would not allow them to open. the photos on the web site gave an image of an up scale bed and breakfast however while the building is historic continued

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Located in beautiful old house. Very pleasant stay.


71%

Bathroom dirty. Kitchen poorly provisioned (no coffee cups, eating utensils) and refrigerators needed cleaning. The private double with shared bath was not worth the 100 plus charge. Linens and pillows old and tattered and furniture in room old and soiled . The building has great potential . Upkeep of the yard would make it look more habitable. Cleanliness in the kitchen and bathrooms needs to be addressed. Staff pleasant and location and public transportation good.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it as a great base to explore Minneapolis. Nice staff and the other guests were what you would hope for as a travelers.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I loved my stay at the hostel, I got to meet some really interesting people from all over the world! Were I to go back to the twin cities for another short trip, I would definitely stay there again! Now, that being said: The kitchen was not clean, at all. I saw one of the guests cleaning up the kitchen, it got that bad. The password to the house wasn't changed often, so people who lived in the hostel a few weeks ago still had access. All in all, great place, but many points to improve on.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is a neat residential neighborhood across the way from the Institute of Arts. Booking was a breeze and check-in was easy and got all the necessary info from staff. The old building has character, but could use some TLC. A definite dinge about the place. Value for the money is pretty low from the female dorm perspective - pricier than a stay in a downtown Manhattan hostel with really poor bathroom facilities. Broken, littered with past guests' junk and lacking a full shower curtain.


71%

The hostel is cheaper and easy to approach for location. If you need shelter in Minneapolis down town, it is good place for your stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I cancelled the booking.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I was in Minneapolis for a conference at their convention center and didn't want to spend $200/night to stay downtown. It was an easy ~15 minute walk, and I really enjoyed my stay and meeting interesting people.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

US$45 for a bed in a crowded 4-bed dorm room. No shelves for storage or even hooks on the walls. The washroom, shared with another 4-bed dorm room, had a bathtub shower with no shower head and just a flimsy piece of plastic for a curtain. This flimsy plastic sheet would cling to your wet body and allowed the floor to become totally wet. Large areas of the floor had tiling missing, resulting in big holes. The garbage can was not emptied in 4 days. A fan was needed in room. The owners are stingy!!


49%

Although the staff at the hostel were very nice and friendly they were not very efficient. We had to wait until 10:30pm to get any bedding for our room and when we did it didn't fit the bed so we had to go back down to get more sheets. Then back yet again to ask for towels. For $100/night this shouldn't have been such a chore.The room looked nice but was dirty. The hostel was noisy and full of young drunk people (fine if that's what u want).

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

a fine place. very nice staff very helplful


91%

Place is really old world cool. Right by Eat Street which is a great hipster spot in Minneapolis!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Fun place to stay! Definitely a hostel; the shared room wasn't the cleanest, but the beds (fresh sheets) were clean and comfy, and the people are really helpful.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not allowed AC till evening, it was hot and muggy and quite unbearable in the attic dorm until the AC was turned on. Were not given pillows nor blanket in the male dorm. Bathroom in the female dorm needed cleaned! Above average price for below average hospitality. Second time we have stayed here, will not be doing so again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The best part of this hostel is its Amazing staff, especially Brian who went out of his way to promote a friendly hostel environment. The building itself is large and old, given proper attention it could be great however there always seems to be at least one nonfunctional shower and some kind of never ending renovations that aren't really being worked on. The (very rude) hostel owner drops by and demands payment of guests, even if they've paid. I also witnessed him hit on single women guests o_O

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(40 results)


View all Minneapolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback