X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Minneapolis International Hostel Reviews

2400 Stevens Avenue South, Minneapolis, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
805 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 59%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Located in beautiful old house. Very pleasant stay.


71%

Bathroom dirty. Kitchen poorly provisioned (no coffee cups, eating utensils) and refrigerators needed cleaning. The private double with shared bath was not worth the 100 plus charge. Linens and pillows old and tattered and furniture in room old and soiled . The building has great potential . Upkeep of the yard would make it look more habitable. Cleanliness in the kitchen and bathrooms needs to be addressed. Staff pleasant and location and public transportation good.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend it as a great base to explore Minneapolis. Nice staff and the other guests were what you would hope for as a travelers.

  • 17th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is a neat residential neighborhood across the way from the Institute of Arts. Booking was a breeze and check-in was easy and got all the necessary info from staff. The old building has character, but could use some TLC. A definite dinge about the place. Value for the money is pretty low from the female dorm perspective - pricier than a stay in a downtown Manhattan hostel with really poor bathroom facilities. Broken, littered with past guests' junk and lacking a full shower curtain.


71%

The hostel is cheaper and easy to approach for location. If you need shelter in Minneapolis down town, it is good place for your stay.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I cancelled the booking.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I was in Minneapolis for a conference at their convention center and didn't want to spend $200/night to stay downtown. It was an easy ~15 minute walk, and I really enjoyed my stay and meeting interesting people.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

US$45 for a bed in a crowded 4-bed dorm room. No shelves for storage or even hooks on the walls. The washroom, shared with another 4-bed dorm room, had a bathtub shower with no shower head and just a flimsy piece of plastic for a curtain. This flimsy plastic sheet would cling to your wet body and allowed the floor to become totally wet. Large areas of the floor had tiling missing, resulting in big holes. The garbage can was not emptied in 4 days. A fan was needed in room. The owners are stingy!!


49%

Although the staff at the hostel were very nice and friendly they were not very efficient. We had to wait until 10:30pm to get any bedding for our room and when we did it didn't fit the bed so we had to go back down to get more sheets. Then back yet again to ask for towels. For $100/night this shouldn't have been such a chore.The room looked nice but was dirty. The hostel was noisy and full of young drunk people (fine if that's what u want).

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

a fine place. very nice staff very helplful


91%

Place is really old world cool. Right by Eat Street which is a great hipster spot in Minneapolis!

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Fun place to stay! Definitely a hostel; the shared room wasn't the cleanest, but the beds (fresh sheets) were clean and comfy, and the people are really helpful.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Not allowed AC till evening, it was hot and muggy and quite unbearable in the attic dorm until the AC was turned on. Were not given pillows nor blanket in the male dorm. Bathroom in the female dorm needed cleaned! Above average price for below average hospitality. Second time we have stayed here, will not be doing so again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The best part of this hostel is its Amazing staff, especially Brian who went out of his way to promote a friendly hostel environment. The building itself is large and old, given proper attention it could be great however there always seems to be at least one nonfunctional shower and some kind of never ending renovations that aren't really being worked on. The (very rude) hostel owner drops by and demands payment of guests, even if they've paid. I also witnessed him hit on single women guests o_O

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The building is old and in a bit of disrepair (the bathroom specifically) but that's to be expected with a hostel. The only thing that bothered me was the fact that the shower curtain in the women's bathroom was so short that water went everywhere and it kept sticking to me. Aside from that it was very clean, has a nice atmosphere, and the kitchen is very nice. It is within walking distance of plenty of places to eat and it was great being across the street from the museum.


74%

This hostel's only saving grace is the impeccable staff! The staff is made up of live-in locals with welcoming personalities and knowledge of cheap fun activities. It's nice to just hang out in the house and learn about the place they call home. The house itself is a poorly kept mid-19th century gem that could use some sprucing up. I had a very strange interaction with a man who was apparently the owner of the house. He was condescending and clearly not familar with the hostel experience.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The owner is a really horrible person. I met the owner on my last day, and oldish grey hair jewish guy. Why I know he is jewish? Because he insultet me for being German. He asked if I knew what things the Nazis did and if Germany would still be the same or if they changed something. He insultet me personallt for being a Nazi. I denied to talk to him. He was still running around the kitchen saying things like "I'm a Nazi and I'm proud". He insultet his staff in front of the guests as well.


100%

Ideal for what I was looking for. Super friendly staff. Very convenient to public transportation and food. Downtown is an easy 20-30 minute walk.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

This place has a real potential but improvements need to be done regarding the cleanliness, the decoration and the modulation.


34%

1) The no refund policy is absurd. 2) I don't appreciate the shower curtain sticking to me from all directions 3) For the price I can stay at a cheap hotel. The downtown Chicago hostel is cheaper with much better facilities and is in a very expensive location. 4) There was no way to reasonably secure *anything*. There are lockers in the kitchen but they appear to charge $.50 every time they are opened. Unacceptable. 5) I was not given credit for the 12% of the reservation I paid up front.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Minneapolis Hostels

Please give us your feedback