Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 392 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Mission Beach Retreat YHA Located at 49 Porters Promenade, , Mission Beach.
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 49 Porters Promenade
82% 392
-17.8663663 146.1077651
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Aug 2016
6.0

This wasn't a bad hostel, it's just obviously a hostel where people come to do their skydive and then leave. The WiFi was spotty at best and open concept made security almost non existent. That said the staff went above and beyond for me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for leaving us a review! Really appreciate the appreciation for our staff, the team work really hard! We average over 2 nights per person, so not just a place to skydive and leave :) Most of our guests make the most of being in our little tropical paradise and take part in rafting, reef trips, fishing trips, island tours, hiking, kayaking etc. Being a regional area, we have the best WIFI connection we can get... Its the same that everyone has in Mission Beach and when used for general internet stuff, works fine! Netflix is for the ugly places we visit! We get 14km's of fabulous sand and island views in our back garden though so its a pretty good deal. Lockers are next to reception and every adult-child has their own little piece of responsibility to lock their own door... with a town of only a few hundred people though you can understand why we were built with an open plan and maintain a friendly vibe for all our guests. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Aug 2016
6.6

So, this hostel has no security, the lock system on the doors isn't automatic so most guests left the doors unlocked, there are no lockers. The hostel is so dirty, run down and smells horrendous. The location is good for 1 thing, the sky dive! Also the man at reception was the most friendly receptionist I have met so far.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice next to the beach. In town, has a nice market on Sunday next door. I was sleeping next to a plug which made some noise, but got for that a double bed by myself...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.7

Good location, right on the beach. Can get a decent deal on skydiving from the reception. The kitchen and lounge was open to the outdoors which meant it was a little cool in the mornings and evenings and a bit dirty. This review is pretty much pointless now though as they are moving to a new much larger premises soon!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
7.1

Was alright. Stayed there overnight as I went skydiving. nothing too special. Cable tv was nice, buy the couches and pillows kinda smelled stale.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We wish you had stayed a little longer :) you cannot get the feel for special locations like Mission Beach in just one night! We are glad you appreciate the extra little things like cable tv on top of all the usual facilities and our awesome staff!! Enjoy the remainder of your travels :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2016
9.1

Had an awesome time at the YHA in Mission beach.. Extended my stay! The staff were very welcoming and Evie makes sure everyone is involved and having a great time. Daily activities whilst I was there included beach volleyball against the other hostel, Evie's adventure trip and beach bonfire. Great location, less than 100m from the beach and they will pick you up from the greyhound bus stop. Good atmosphere and well equipped kitchen with enough cookers and fridge space. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much reviewing us. Yes Evie does a great job, it is nice to hear that she is appreciated. Happy Travels, hope to see you again 1 day Richard

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Jul 2016
10.0

FAVOURITE hostel in Oz!! Evie who runs the hostel is the loveliest woman ever!! GREAT vibe, clean, tidy, felt at home straight away. Wish we could have stayed longer :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Great little hostel. Super friendly staff, rooms were clean and comfy. Good kitchen with utensils and plenty of fridge space. Relaxed atmosphere. Pretty much on the beach. Would have stayed longer if we could have!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Great location, nice small well-run hostel. Great, friendly staff, who can connect you (and even take you to) to lots of different activities in the Mission Beach area. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.6

we liked the big common area and the kitchen, great for socializing... even if our twin room was a bit small and we had trouble to open our suitcases

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.