Hostelworld.com

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 367 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Mission Beach Retreat YHA Located at 49 Porters Promenade, , Mission Beach.
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 49 Porters Promenade
82% 367
-17.8663663 146.1077651
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Has its good and bad points. Great layout meaning its quite sociable yet chilled. Right next to amazing beach so beach volleyball in day and stargazing at night (weather didnt hold up for a bonfire). Most of the staff are great, paricularly Evie who forever has a smile on her face and does some great day trips for couple of dollars. Got the impression some didnt wanna be there. Could do with cleaning sofas, they stink, plus would prefer lockers in dorm. Liked it there tho and would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you had an amazing time here with us, we did too! We try our best to keep guests busy and enjoying their time, it is a shame we had some evening rain and could not have a bonfire on Sunday... We were all looking forward to it. Our sofa's are cleaned regularly as we battle constantly with the humidity up here in the tropics, new ones are in the pipeline already so not to worry. Very pleased you had an overall great time with us and would welcome you back anytime :) Thanks

  • JClark14
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.9

My girlfriend and I stayed 1 night, the staff were so friendly and picked us up from the greyhound bus stop. Had to wait about 30 mins to check in but that wasn't a problem. The kitchen was great had everything you needed but was a little open to the elements. We was looking at doing some white water rapids with the brochures, when we got approached by a guy who was linked with the hostel for activities. He took us out on the Rapids for half the price in the brochures. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are thrilled you had a great time with us, we enjoyed having you stay. We do ask that guests arriving early in the morning give us time to deal with check-out, luckily we already have a rough idea what time everyone is arriving so we can prepare. That's why we are able to get guests into a room in the mornings rather than have an afternoon check-in time like all other places :) We do have an open kitchen area, its common around tropical places such as north Queensland. Its designed to help with the elements (heat) and allow a continual breeze! We have our own tour desk and activities co-ordinator in the hostel, the rafting guy would be doing promotion for a local rafting company, visiting hostels and chatting to people, trying to get everyone outside and enjoying their time in Mission Beach. Its great you got to experience one of their half day rafting specials they put on from time to time. We hope to see you guys again, safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel, best location, well equipped kitchen and an free and frequent shuttle bus. The Internet was pretty bad but who need that when you could be outside!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, really friendly staff ! One of the best we have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us guys! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you can again in the future. Great to have friendly, chatty guests around the hostel who are making the most of their time here in beautiful Mission Beach. Top couple! :) Travel safe and continue enjoying yourselves!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.9

Great location but not very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We do have the best location, amazing staff and a pretty sweet little pad here in the centre of town. We clean top to bottom everyday so we are most definitely clean! We do, like every other hostel, get a bit untidy day to day as our guests are having fun and might forget to keep everything in its place! not to worry though, we soon sort this out. Please in future just communicate with staff in hostels and let them know of any issues so they can be resolved at the time, rather than by review when its too late to fix :) All the best with your travels, you are going to experience lots of untidiness on your trip around oz! Take care.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.4

Highly Recommend this Hostel in Mission beach. We only stayed a Night as was passing onto Cairns the next day. But its a lovely clean Hostel with a nice atmosphere. If you want a good night and not have to plan anything stay here you have all you need free shuttles from greyhound 2 minutes from the beach. nice. Staff in the hostel were lovely and always wanted to help. A Massive thank you to Evie and her 2 dollar adventure tour around mission beach and the rain forest a great Morning to chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our stay here! Staff are very welcoming, the whole place just makes you feel at home! Will stay here again in the future :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and noticed how hard our staff work to make your stay enjoyable. We would love to have you back in the future. Please take care & Travel safe :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2016
10.0

Best hostel ever! Clean, comfy, safe and so nice to have an ensuite, fully equipped kitchen and awesome tv to watch. Location is perfect, so close to the beach and shops - people at other hostels had to rely on buses and taxis to get to and from whereas we could go whenever we liked and stay out as late as we liked! Huge thanks to Evie and all the amazing staff at Mission Beach, I'll definitely be back again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd May 2016
6.6

Place was fine, just really boring. There is nothing going on and there is no socializing. Staff was nice, but not really helpful. For example, they didn't say anything about wifi or about things to do when I checked in, but when I asked for it I got it. Why not just explain rightaway? Location is good: near the beach and an amazing skydiving place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, the only hostel which is actually on the mission beach high street. Lovely atmosphere - all sat around together and watched movies/tv in the hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are very clean. Good kitchen space, although the dry food storage cupboards could do with a clean out and bug spray Bring mosquito spray! I got bitten 15 times during my one night stay (despite using spray) Also the sofas could do with replacing as the damp has made them mouldy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our dry food storage is cleaned out every monday and friday, just like the fridges and freezer, it does get messy if guests cannot clean spills or not let us know, we do check it daily to make sure though. More new couches are currently in the process of being ordered, the salt air and the humidity from being next to the sea in the tropics makes life difficult for us but we are on top of it. We recommend mozzie spray to everyone already, its the tropics... we are surrounded by rainforest. Correctly and frequently applied spray or repellent works for 99% of guests. Apart from the little bits, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us for the night. Our team works very hard to keep rooms clean, everything organized, do the best with what we have and make sure guests have a great time. Thanks

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.