Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 375 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
Mission Beach Retreat YHA Located at 49 Porters Promenade, , Mission Beach.
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 49 Porters Promenade
82% 375
-17.8663663 146.1077651
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2016
10.0

Great little hostel. Super friendly staff, rooms were clean and comfy. Good kitchen with utensils and plenty of fridge space. Relaxed atmosphere. Pretty much on the beach. Would have stayed longer if we could have!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
9.4

Great location, nice small well-run hostel. Great, friendly staff, who can connect you (and even take you to) to lots of different activities in the Mission Beach area. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.6

we liked the big common area and the kitchen, great for socializing... even if our twin room was a bit small and we had trouble to open our suitcases

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • brokenbaws
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th Jun 2016
8.9

Stratton and staff were a credit to the hostel and very knowledgable on tours, what to do in the area and were very accommodating with everything. The wifi here was a reasonable speed but a bit of a nightmare in how it was organised. New codes every 24 hours, only for one device and if your phone screen locks, you need to reconnect. Kitchen could've been cleaner but other than that the rooms were lovely and bathrooms always clean. Good hostel for stopping over in Mission Beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! thanks for taking the time to review our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all the hard work our team puts in to make sure everyone has a great time. Our wifi should not need re-connected so often, as all technology has issues i can say for sure that this is not what most people experience with our connection. We also have codes for any number of days, we give them according to length of stay. As all hostels and the majority of backpackers know, any communal kitchen always has messy times... Its cleaned by out team thoroughly throughout the day but often guests do not clean up their own mess... Luckily we check it often to stop this happening and ask all guests to clean up their own dishes and mess. Glad you had an awesome day, enjoy the rest of your travels! Thanks

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2016
9.7

Such a great hostel! I really enjoyed my stay in mission beach. We just went there because of the skydive but ended up having a really great time. The atmosphere at the hostel is fantastic, a lot of it thanks to EVIE! Just such an awesome girl that came up with activites and brought everyone together making sure everybody had a good time! Only hostel located right in mission beach! Dorms and kitchen what you could expect from a hostel in this Price :) really recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2016
8.0

Has its good and bad points. Great layout meaning its quite sociable yet chilled. Right next to amazing beach so beach volleyball in day and stargazing at night (weather didnt hold up for a bonfire). Most of the staff are great, paricularly Evie who forever has a smile on her face and does some great day trips for couple of dollars. Got the impression some didnt wanna be there. Could do with cleaning sofas, they stink, plus would prefer lockers in dorm. Liked it there tho and would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you had an amazing time here with us, we did too! We try our best to keep guests busy and enjoying their time, it is a shame we had some evening rain and could not have a bonfire on Sunday... We were all looking forward to it. Our sofa's are cleaned regularly as we battle constantly with the humidity up here in the tropics, new ones are in the pipeline already so not to worry. Very pleased you had an overall great time with us and would welcome you back anytime :) Thanks

  • JClark14
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.9

My girlfriend and I stayed 1 night, the staff were so friendly and picked us up from the greyhound bus stop. Had to wait about 30 mins to check in but that wasn't a problem. The kitchen was great had everything you needed but was a little open to the elements. We was looking at doing some white water rapids with the brochures, when we got approached by a guy who was linked with the hostel for activities. He took us out on the Rapids for half the price in the brochures. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi guys, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We are thrilled you had a great time with us, we enjoyed having you stay. We do ask that guests arriving early in the morning give us time to deal with check-out, luckily we already have a rough idea what time everyone is arriving so we can prepare. That's why we are able to get guests into a room in the mornings rather than have an afternoon check-in time like all other places :) We do have an open kitchen area, its common around tropical places such as north Queensland. Its designed to help with the elements (heat) and allow a continual breeze! We have our own tour desk and activities co-ordinator in the hostel, the rafting guy would be doing promotion for a local rafting company, visiting hostels and chatting to people, trying to get everyone outside and enjoying their time in Mission Beach. Its great you got to experience one of their half day rafting specials they put on from time to time. We hope to see you guys again, safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel, best location, well equipped kitchen and an free and frequent shuttle bus. The Internet was pretty bad but who need that when you could be outside!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, really friendly staff ! One of the best we have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us guys! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you can again in the future. Great to have friendly, chatty guests around the hostel who are making the most of their time here in beautiful Mission Beach. Top couple! :) Travel safe and continue enjoying yourselves!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.9

Great location but not very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We do have the best location, amazing staff and a pretty sweet little pad here in the centre of town. We clean top to bottom everyday so we are most definitely clean! We do, like every other hostel, get a bit untidy day to day as our guests are having fun and might forget to keep everything in its place! not to worry though, we soon sort this out. Please in future just communicate with staff in hostels and let them know of any issues so they can be resolved at the time, rather than by review when its too late to fix :) All the best with your travels, you are going to experience lots of untidiness on your trip around oz! Take care.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.