Hostelworld.com

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 346 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
Mission Beach Retreat YHA Located at 49 Porters Promenade, , Mission Beach.
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 49 Porters Promenade
83% 346
-17.8663663 146.1077651
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, the only hostel which is actually on the mission beach high street. Lovely atmosphere - all sat around together and watched movies/tv in the hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are very clean. Good kitchen space, although the dry food storage cupboards could do with a clean out and bug spray Bring mosquito spray! I got bitten 15 times during my one night stay (despite using spray) Also the sofas could do with replacing as the damp has made them mouldy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our dry food storage is cleaned out every monday and friday, just like the fridges and freezer, it does get messy if guests cannot clean spills or not let us know, we do check it daily to make sure though. More new couches are currently in the process of being ordered, the salt air and the humidity from being next to the sea in the tropics makes life difficult for us but we are on top of it. We recommend mozzie spray to everyone already, its the tropics... we are surrounded by rainforest. Correctly and frequently applied spray or repellent works for 99% of guests. Apart from the little bits, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us for the night. Our team works very hard to keep rooms clean, everything organized, do the best with what we have and make sure guests have a great time. Thanks

28th Apr 2016
9.1

Loved my stay here ! The only hostel that is actually in mission beach. Located right beside the beach and Main Street with shops and bars. Free shuttle service to and from bus station. Staff were super friendly and it is a small hostel so it's easy to meet people and it has an intimate atmosphere. Would recommend it !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Really awesome hostel! The location is definitely the best out of the other hostels here. Lots of bars all within 2 minutes. The hostel itself is small and relaxed. The staff are really helpful and do a great job cleaning everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Super friendly and relaxed hostel right on the beach! Staff were really helpful; knew loads about what to do and where to go and kept the place really clean, will definitely be coming back to Mission Beach Retreat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Mission beach retreat was an awesome hostel to stay at. The staff were super friendly and always encouraging guests to have fun and explore the local surroundings. The hostel was clean and tidy and had a relaxed vibe. Couldn't recommend this hostel anymore! Will definitely return :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • catgoldsmith
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.3

Hostel was fine. Location was good. Room was comfy with air con but no lockers. Only issue was noise - we were in room 9 with the TV room just outside the door and the smoking area the other side of the window so were kept awake til all hours and woken up early. Most other rooms were probably fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hostel :) Our lockers are located next to reception and are free for guests to use. We are a small hostel with everything quite close together but noise is not usually an issue. We have night staff on to keep noise down after 10.30PM so that guests are not kept awake, also the kitchen is closed at 10PM and we ask guests to be considerate so to not disturb others. We are super happy you enjoyed your stay and were happy with what we offer, apologies for any noise disturbance caused by other guests. Enjoy the rest of your travels! :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Apr 2016
7.4

Friendly staff! Free shuttle bus to and from bus stop, central location, and quite clean rooms. Not very secure no key cards or checks but I didn't feel unsafe. Free wifi but it might as well not exist and tumble dryer doesn't dry your clothes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. It means a lot that you appreciate the hard work our dedicated team put in to make your stay enjoyable. All room doors are lockable, we have lockers for valuables, CCTV and a night watch person on duty to ensure your security while staying with us. We do not have key cards, just keys (call us old fashioned!) we are not a big city hostel so our I.D checks upon check-in are adequate enough and our open air front communal area which i think you are referring too is perfect for our 'on the beach' location and normal for far north queensland in a small town with very hot weather :) All regional areas in Australia (and the world) are unfortunate to not have the best signals and communications infastructure in place, we just do our best with what we have... thats why its free and perfectly acceptable for emails, bookings, facebook etc, it slows when people try and stream/download... Thats why we promote beach life, letting go of the technology and enjoying a relaxing visit to Mission Beach. Humid Climate = Difficulty for Tumble Dryers, our sign on the dryer warns guests before use and also directs you to the drying lines at the rear of the hostel. We hope you can stay again in the future, enjoy your travels! :)

28th Mar 2016
8.0

Decent hostel with friendly and helpful staff as we checked in quite late. Lovely little pool at the front

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jeninerichardson
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Mar 2016
7.1

Needed somewhere to stay that wasn't too expensive and right next to the skydiving place. Did the job. Got the first bus out of mission beach in the morning because there is nothing else to do there and restaurants are super expensive so make sure you have food to cook with you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! thanks for taking the time to leave a review. There's lots to do here!... We have Whitewater rafting, Skydiving, Snorkeling, Scuba diving, World heritage rainforest, walking tracks, 14km's of beach, bike hire, kayaking tours, island tours, Croc & wildlife tours - Just to name a few....its always handy to do a little bit of research on your next locations before you get there and you can stick around for a couple of days and make the most of your travels. Mission Beach has 9 bar/restaurants who make the most delicious and reasonably priced food, we actually do have specials on with them for our guests too. Make sure to communicate to staff to find out little extra bits of information such as this or keep an eye out for displays with all the local information on such as ours. . Thanks, enjoy the remainder of your travels :)

17th Mar 2016
7.1

Right on the beach and in the middle of the few bars and shops. Pretty laid back place. They put a free bus on every so often to go to Woolies if you want food. Kitchen got a bit messy at times. Wifi worked everywhere and it was free.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, even though we clean everything everyday and clean the kitchen/communal areas throughout the day.... Some people just refuse to tidy their own mess. As a result, we end up looking messy. Apologies for this but its a big part of hostels and communal living. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you can visit again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.