Hostelworld.com

Mission Beach Retreat YHA

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 358 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
Mission Beach Retreat YHA Located at 49 Porters Promenade, , Mission Beach.
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
Australia
Mission Beach Queensland 4852 49 Porters Promenade
82% 358
-17.8663663 146.1077651
Mission Beach Retreat YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2016
9.7

Great hostel, really friendly staff ! One of the best we have stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to review us guys! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you can again in the future. Great to have friendly, chatty guests around the hostel who are making the most of their time here in beautiful Mission Beach. Top couple! :) Travel safe and continue enjoying yourselves!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.9

Great location but not very clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review our hostel. We do have the best location, amazing staff and a pretty sweet little pad here in the centre of town. We clean top to bottom everyday so we are most definitely clean! We do, like every other hostel, get a bit untidy day to day as our guests are having fun and might forget to keep everything in its place! not to worry though, we soon sort this out. Please in future just communicate with staff in hostels and let them know of any issues so they can be resolved at the time, rather than by review when its too late to fix :) All the best with your travels, you are going to experience lots of untidiness on your trip around oz! Take care.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2016
9.4

Highly Recommend this Hostel in Mission beach. We only stayed a Night as was passing onto Cairns the next day. But its a lovely clean Hostel with a nice atmosphere. If you want a good night and not have to plan anything stay here you have all you need free shuttles from greyhound 2 minutes from the beach. nice. Staff in the hostel were lovely and always wanted to help. A Massive thank you to Evie and her 2 dollar adventure tour around mission beach and the rain forest a great Morning to chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed our stay here! Staff are very welcoming, the whole place just makes you feel at home! Will stay here again in the future :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and noticed how hard our staff work to make your stay enjoyable. We would love to have you back in the future. Please take care & Travel safe :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, the only hostel which is actually on the mission beach high street. Lovely atmosphere - all sat around together and watched movies/tv in the hostel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are very clean. Good kitchen space, although the dry food storage cupboards could do with a clean out and bug spray Bring mosquito spray! I got bitten 15 times during my one night stay (despite using spray) Also the sofas could do with replacing as the damp has made them mouldy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our dry food storage is cleaned out every monday and friday, just like the fridges and freezer, it does get messy if guests cannot clean spills or not let us know, we do check it daily to make sure though. More new couches are currently in the process of being ordered, the salt air and the humidity from being next to the sea in the tropics makes life difficult for us but we are on top of it. We recommend mozzie spray to everyone already, its the tropics... we are surrounded by rainforest. Correctly and frequently applied spray or repellent works for 99% of guests. Apart from the little bits, we are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us for the night. Our team works very hard to keep rooms clean, everything organized, do the best with what we have and make sure guests have a great time. Thanks

28th Apr 2016
9.1

Loved my stay here ! The only hostel that is actually in mission beach. Located right beside the beach and Main Street with shops and bars. Free shuttle service to and from bus station. Staff were super friendly and it is a small hostel so it's easy to meet people and it has an intimate atmosphere. Would recommend it !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Really awesome hostel! The location is definitely the best out of the other hostels here. Lots of bars all within 2 minutes. The hostel itself is small and relaxed. The staff are really helpful and do a great job cleaning everyday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Super friendly and relaxed hostel right on the beach! Staff were really helpful; knew loads about what to do and where to go and kept the place really clean, will definitely be coming back to Mission Beach Retreat!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
10.0

Mission beach retreat was an awesome hostel to stay at. The staff were super friendly and always encouraging guests to have fun and explore the local surroundings. The hostel was clean and tidy and had a relaxed vibe. Couldn't recommend this hostel anymore! Will definitely return :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • catgoldsmith
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.3

Hostel was fine. Location was good. Room was comfy with air con but no lockers. Only issue was noise - we were in room 9 with the TV room just outside the door and the smoking area the other side of the window so were kept awake til all hours and woken up early. Most other rooms were probably fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our hostel :) Our lockers are located next to reception and are free for guests to use. We are a small hostel with everything quite close together but noise is not usually an issue. We have night staff on to keep noise down after 10.30PM so that guests are not kept awake, also the kitchen is closed at 10PM and we ask guests to be considerate so to not disturb others. We are super happy you enjoyed your stay and were happy with what we offer, apologies for any noise disturbance caused by other guests. Enjoy the rest of your travels! :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.