X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mithila Hotel Reviews

972 Sutter Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
118 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The room was decent, but the shared shower was not very pleasant (door that goes straight from the hallway to the shower, and is quite claustrophobic). Overall it was not bad (compared with the average prices in SF).


100%

Warm cosy place very close to union square. Walkable to all local conveniences / supermarkets and had good transport connectivity overall. The staff was very helpful. Housekeeping was efficient and courteous. The rooms are clean and spacious. The street outside is nice and quiet with some nice cafes and pubs close by. Car rentals and parking available close by too. The 'Thad Cosy Cafe' across the street serves some delicious breakfasts. We had a great time there and will surely visit again.

  • 1st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Older family-run hotel with small cozy rooms. Top location to explore SF.


83%

The hotel was in a really good location, about 10 minutes walking from union square, and was near a parking garage. The staff was really friendly and everything was clean.


100%

We stayed 5 nights at Mithila and enjoyed every minute. The location was within walking distance of most locations and public transportation. Also very close to restaurants. Has fridge and microwave. Mithila staff was friendly and helpful. The building is 100 years old with high ceilings and narrow hallways...we thought it was charming and quiet.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


29%

very old house and the room was poorly renovated and in desperat need of a carpet clean, the hostel was really over priced and smelly and I read in my booking that breakfast was included but it was only coffee or tea, the staff was helpful but that was about it.

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

The linens are stained, have holes and are very old. There is no air conditioning. As a female, I did not feel entirely safe in the neighborhood. The room did not smell bad, but I did not enjoy sleeping on stained sheets. I could hear neighbors stomping around upstairs late at night.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

good, central location, walking distance to union square and chinatown. everything was okay, nothing to complain about

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Honestly mithila hotel was what we needed. Affordable price for a location in the middle of the city. Very close to chinatown to eat, union square to shop, the cable car... And everything else. Unfortunately, we didnt realize when we booked it that there was no air conditioning. I was fine, but my friend had trouble sleeping a little bit. We stayed around september, so we're not sure how will it be during the hot summer. But all in all, i'd definitely recommend Mithila. The staff was great too!

  • 9th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

There was mould in the bathroom and there were issues with the drain the the bath. The staff were at times unhelpful and condescending. It was a good hotel to stay at if you were on a budget, you got what you paid for. The location was slightly outside of the typical tourist area and so I would not recommend walking alone at night.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Nice staff and an overall comfortable and lovely place!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Asked for a single room with two beds, and was stuck with a single room with one bed...It was extremely hot and stuffy and smelled of mildue, no a/c and was charged twice for my room and still have not been reimburst..no shower, and a shared bathroom smaller thann a porterpotty!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I expected a community room where you could mingle with other travelers but it was a hotel. Enjoyed the quaintness of it. Wish the elevator had continued working.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Hi. We were hoping for a kitchen- plates, spoons etc. other than that everything was great!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The bed is horrible! We didn't sleep for 3 nights. Also, they have a rule (written in fine print on your bill) that you cannot cancel subsequent nights even if you give 24, 48, 72 hours notice. Talk about sketchy!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)




View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback