X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mithila Hotel Reviews

972 Sutter Street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
102 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Nice staff and an overall comfortable and lovely place!

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Asked for a single room with two beds, and was stuck with a single room with one bed...It was extremely hot and stuffy and smelled of mildue, no a/c and was charged twice for my room and still have not been reimburst..no shower, and a shared bathroom smaller thann a porterpotty!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I expected a community room where you could mingle with other travelers but it was a hotel. Enjoyed the quaintness of it. Wish the elevator had continued working.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Hi. We were hoping for a kitchen- plates, spoons etc. other than that everything was great!

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The bed is horrible! We didn't sleep for 3 nights. Also, they have a rule (written in fine print on your bill) that you cannot cancel subsequent nights even if you give 24, 48, 72 hours notice. Talk about sketchy!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is great for backpackers and people just looking for a place to crash. The towels were changed every day, the room and bathroom were clean, and it's close to dozens of great eating places it's also next door to a grocery store if you want to cook. Our room had a fridge and microwave. It doesn't seem suitable for travelers with physical limitations as the elevators are tiny and the stairs are narrow. Overall happy with the experience

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Convenient location! Great vintage decor & views from room window. Carpets need a little cleaning though.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Nice, clean old and charming hotel - friendly and helpful staff. Good location. No complaints whatsoever.


83%

We had a four bed room for the three of us. Myself and two teenage children. The location we very good, easy walking to all the tourist highlights. The hotel is no frills, but was a great price. The rook was fine, very clean and in good order. The staff were more than helpful. They printed off some travel documents I needed and were helpful with information. We spent three nights here. Just opposite was "Thad's Cosy Cafe" which was a good spot for breakfast. Two doors away was a small store.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Friendly and accommodating staff. WiFi worked most of the time but not always. Outdated but clean rooms and bath. Slight musty smell in hallway and in room.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Very friendly and helpful receptionist. We had 3 of us sharing the one room which was a bit cramped.


77%

We only stayed one night but I thought it was great value and really cool. LOVE the elevator! Love staying in a neighborhood with character. The guy who checked us in was friendly, parking was handy and there was coffee available in the morning. What else do you need?


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
49%

Crappy cheap hotel in a gross part of the city. Not much they can do about it except reinvest I suppose but good place to stay and I'm glad I didn't have to pay SF realia state costs bc I didn't really want to.


80%

We stayed first two nights in a room with double bed and shared bathroom. Unfortunately our room was in the 4th floor but the (only one!) restroom and (only one really small) shower were located at the end of the 3rd floor. But thanks to the friendly staff we could easily upgrade our booking and eventually stayed last two nights in a room with double bed and private bathroom.result: definitely worth to spend 15$ per night more for private bathroom!


51%

Hostels almost by definition can be great or not much. This one was closer to not so much but definately not the worst in my experience.


49%

Staff were rude. Rooms were tiny.There is a very noisy pub on the corner. Perfect if you want a night to crash in the city, but for more than one night it is uncomfortable. Bathrooms are tiny.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Simple and convenient rooms. Classic guest house style, no more and no less.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Amazing location, just a short walk to the square. The staff were SO nice. On our last day we had several downtown activities planned and the hotel watched our luggage behind the desk. We had a room with a private bath. Several windows facing the street, it was a little bit noisy, however I believe this is a reality of a downtown location. Very clean room. For the price this place is perfect. I'm a budget traveler typically. Next time I'm in San Fran I will for sure be booking here! Thanks! :)

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Ok...the hotel is a little dingy but the rooms are well proportioned and immaculately clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location was brilliant. Only five minutes away from union Square. Good value for money.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

All good!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(64 results)


View all San Francisco Hotels

Please give us your feedback