Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
8.0

Ideal location in Moalboal, lots of restaurants and small shops nearby and just a stone throw away from the sea. Only downside is the amount of mosquitos there are once you enter the room, even the mosquito net doesn't keep them all out. And not enough fans that reach the lower bunk so it can get hot in the day but all in all decent for a hostel stay in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
6.0

I booked a single bed for two and when we arrived they said we could not stay bc we could not fit two in one bed instead of letting us decide if we could fit comfortably. They did not offer us another options so we left.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th May 2017
8.3

We had a double room as cheaper than two bunks. Small bed but had mosquito net, a fan and a balcony with a hammock Was your usual beach town hostel. Had a nice roof bit to relax and there was loads of breakfast/snacks you could order. We rented snorkels to go swim with sardines (just walk to Chillis and swim out 15m) Shared bathroom didn't have a flush and showers are all downstairs, no shoes allowed anywhere. 2 nights was the right amount, but people we met stayed a week or more!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The atmosphere is SO nice, and also the staff is very very lovely! Loved it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Friendly staff, great location. Easy to meet other backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mayamargolin19968720
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
5.7

the atmosphere is very nice though the shower and the toilets were very dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
10.0

It's the Philippines and not Vietnam or Thailand. Great for the Philippines. Not a "10" on the Vietnam hostel scale. But a "10" on the Philippines.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
6.9

Stayed in the private room w attached toilet, after showering there was no more water for the night. We had to brush our teeth at the common toilet sinks. Next morning, still no water at 845AM - had to use bottled water. The water supply resumed when we got back from island hopping at 1130AM and stopped again after 1 of us had showered. I had to go to the common shower to shower. Very disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
6.9

Basic basic, hot room with only a few fans but sleepable. The water only works sometimes, you have to ask them to fix it if there is none - they are relying on fillable containers. Right outside you can swim with the sardine run though, and centrally located in backpacker town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Why you don't stay in place with an aircon? Looking for budget place to sleep and still complaining. The whole area around Moalboal suffer a water problem for more than 6years. We refilling the tanks (2100liter) twice a day. Many of the young guest like to take a shower 3x a day and more.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.7

It's a pretty good place to stay but gotta admit i went to chief mao's to hang w my friends everyday haha

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.