X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mombasa Backpackers Reviews

Mwamba Drive, #69, Nyali, Mombasa, Kenya

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
61 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I stayed there for New Years 2014 and it was great. The staff are really friendly, and the big common area makes it easy to meet fellow travelers. The pool is a huge bonus, and I was in there alot. It's sociable without being too loud, and the cooks make a damn good spanish omelette. I'll definitely be going back.


23%

By far the worst hostel i have ever stayed in ! Staff were very unaccommodating and when an incident with a fellow backpacker occurred which resulted in the loss of his money, the staff were quick to racially profile me. This kind of treatment is completely unacceptable everyone should be treated equally regardless of race or origin. I would definitely not recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed at Mombasa Backpacker's for 2 months, while I was working at a local diving resort , and loved every minute of it. The rooms are clean, the food is cheap and delicious, and the staff are incredibly helpful in answering questions and organizing day trips for guests. The backpackers also has an awesome pool and garden area where there are always tons of travellers hanging out. The beer is reasonably priced and you can be sure that an awesome party will be underway every night!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

stayed at mombasa backpackers before and keep coming back there when in the area. enjoy the laid back atmosphere, cool facilities and nice staff. hygiene is also well looked after. and when you're tired of the close-by beach, soaking in mombasa old town's atmosphere, swimming in the pool or reading, and you reeaally don't know what to do..you can still have a drink and talk sh#$ with dave, the owner ;)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel because of the people I met. Great party atmosphere and really enjoyed the pool. There was no wifi when I got there which was really tricky and I suggest they get a second hand computer for people with no iPads to use. The bathrooms could have been cleaner (needing a update). Manager was friendly and helpful and organized fun outings for the guests.


89%

Mombasa Backpqckers was a rare find in East Africa; a genuine party hostel where the staff were brilliant at getting everyone talking (and drinking!) together. The food was tasty and very reasonable, the facilities good and the atmosphere relaxed.

  • 17th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was a nice stay. Friendly owner and good pool! Good hostel to just relax a little bit and party.


40%

service was shocking. the double booked my room. i would not recommend this place at all. staff are not very good and the place was so dirty it should be a health hazard. the showers don't work and the toilets are always blocked. it ruined my stay in mombasa actually

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It was perfect choice for staying in Mombasa. The location is perfect for sunbathing and swimming coz there is beach right next to the hostel and even they've got a swimming pool. Staffs are super friendly and there are shopping place and restaurant on walking distance.


89%

We had an amazing time in Mombasa backpackers! The atmosphere in a hostel was great, we've met very nice people and party lot :) The owner of the place is taking care of the guests and make you feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this place to travellers.


86%

we had a fantastic time staying at Mombasa backpackers, close to the beach, staff were awesome and very helpful, food was amazing! and we loved the pool and outdoor area!

  • 27th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

As a woman traveling alone I would say this is a very safe place to stay. Nyali is a wealthy neighborhood with good restaurants and large shopping malls. The backpackers is a very relaxed place, chill atmosphere, nice people and very close to the beach!! Was planning to stay in Mombasa Backpackers for 5 days, but stayed there for 3 weeks and after that I came back 2 more times. Cool place to party and relax at the same time!

  • 27th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

This place need a new management, it was extremely dirty, no shoes policy can be a start. Everything is very old and the whole place needs a new make-up / maintenance. Everything got dirty after one hour of cleaning. The water was limited and the electricity as well. There are many other nice places in the neighborhood. Try somewhere else.


74%

The place had a nice vibe with a great pool in a nice garden. The food was good as well. One thing downer was cleanliness. Bathrooms were broken and grimy, and there were holes in the screens so big that a rat climbed into the bedroom window. Not a plus for the malaria-carrying mosquitoes either.


97%

MSA Backpackers is the best!! Its a great value with a super fun atmosphere. The owner is a really cool guy and they have the largest beer selection I have seen ANYWHERE in East Africa. If you are passing through Mombasa and you dont stay here, your messing up.

  • 6th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We absolutely loved this place!! There is just something about living in a huge villa with your own chef, swimming pool, staff, palm trees, monkeys, tv-room, Wi-Fi, bar, etc. etc. It just spells paradise really, especially when you are surrounded with such interesting and fun people! The smart set up made it really easy to socialize and also to relax on a couch/hammock your own. The location was great too, beach+shopping center next door. And thestaff were great. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • 15th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I just loved this place! Beach, pool and all, very nice!


77%

The place was well kept and really close to the beech. My only complaint was that I was eaten alive by bedbugs. It was the worst and it looked horrible. They were decent enough to put me in another room. So advice to any other back packers, check your bed thoroughly because i wouldn't wish what i went through on anyone. Otherwise everything you need is there..bar, food and just awesome people and not to mention the pool.

  • 15th Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Superb atmosphere and facilities, and only a short walk to the beach. Don't be put off by the distance from the city center, as it's a quick, cheap tuk-tuk ride in. Besides, you'll end up wanting to spend most of your time around the hostel anyway!


77%

i just used it as some where to sleep as i had allready had tours booked there were no air port transfers and you had to have your own computer. i wil be going back to africa within the next 18 months it was once in a life time to see africa over all i had a great time there.

  • 17th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Mombasa Hostels

Please give us your feedback