Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Island Bungalows

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 23 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 23 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.4

Nice bungalows with mosquito nets. We had a fan but it could not rotate so only one of us got "wind". There is no outlet in the bungalows but you can leave your Phone etc at the bar. The kmer Staff are very helpfull and Nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
6.0

This was a disappointment. Location and facilities were OK; we expected basic accommodations. The atmosphere was terrible. The Khmer staff were excellent, SO helpful and friendly, but the foreign staff were absurd, lazy and totally useless. They would stand around with each other and wait for a Khmer staff member to do absolutely everything for them. The only time a foreign staff member spoke to us was when he was trying to shove a pub crawl down our throats. Get rid of the foreign staff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • cmcdonald_1944267
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Dec 2016
10.0

Great location staff were really helpful also! Definitely the place to stay for a good time.. Cookie is a legend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Dec 2016
5.1

Definitely not worth the money. Mosquito nets don't fit the bed, barely any light in the bungalow, horrible toilets. I was initially over charges $50 on check in. Definitely worth either spending a bit more money or just spend the typical $12/$15 for a non bungalow private room.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
7.4

Great location, friendly staff, minimal amenities. Expect a glamping situation. Beds were sandy with stained sheets and animal poop on them. Not too noisy at night compared to other locations on the main strip, but can still hear music until 2am each night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Dec 2016
4.6

I was very disappointed with Monkey Island, as I was hoping for something far more peaceful and relaxing. Koh Rong is an extrememly loud, crowded and dirty place & Monkey Island is situated about 150m from the pier, where all the bars, restaurants, and clubs are. If you are looking to go to KR to party and are not interested in beautiful beaches, then Monkey Island would be the place for you. The bungalows had no towels, toilet paper, or bed sheets, but the staff were helpful in refunding me.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Dec 2016
7.4

Great little spot and the bungalows are very cool ! location is perfect if you want to be in the action of the nightlife but don't want to be disturbed by music when you're sleeping. Very friendly staff who are quiet helpful and know a lot about the island and what to do etc Only issues are i got sick from the bacon I had on their breakfast menu , and you can't charge your devices in bungalows and have to leave it with staff at the bar to charge phone , camera etc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
8.6

A very fresh hostel, isolated from the main island. A really nice get-away for the people who want to get away for a while. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the kitchen serves nice and diverse dishes! The view and the hammocks in the water alone make this worth a visit!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.