Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monkey Republic

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 299 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
5.7

DO NOT STAY HERE! Someone broke into my locker and stole my money but left my electricals whiles I was eating breakfast in the hostel restaurant. I was due to check out that same day but decided to eat then check out. Turns out someone was watching my movements and knew a way of getting into the lockers. The same thing happened to another girl in my dorm the day before. You would hope locking your belonging up would ensure they were safe but apparently not! There's no cctv at this hostel!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
8th May 2017
8.0

Would recommend Monkey Republic hostel in Kampot. Spacious room with good A/C and enough ensuite toilets/showers for everyone. Chilled out atmosphere and a short walking distance to river. Only negatives were the WIFI didn't work in my dorm (dorm 5) but worked fine in the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.7

Would come back for sure. I stayed in a private room but to be honest it was just too hot without aircon. Next time I would go to dorm rooms with aircon. Good common area and bar, laundry and travel bus shop across the road. Walk to some nice markets and supermarket store 50m away. Staff were nice and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
25th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel! Good atmosphere. Not crazy party but still good to meet people. Staff are lovely!!!! Place to rent a bike across the road. 5 min walk to the water. Dorm was much nicer than private room. Super clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th Apr 2017
7.7

Very nice, clean hostel. Beds are decent and private due to cubicle type design. Bar and restaurant were good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
8.0

Really cool hostel but there's a major issue with the private room. The curtains don't provide any privacy and with a main walkway outside the window, we felt uncomfortable. I appreciate you can't vouch for customers that think it's acceptable to stare through gaps in the curtain but you need to look at a replacement. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and he bar was particularly good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

The stay was pleasant. Did what it said on the tin. Clean. Food was good. Good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Apr 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay here. The beds were comfy and you had privacy. The bar was filled with people eating, drinking and chatting. Fun things to do in the area. Travel agency directly across the road which also sell motorbikes. Overall great value! Great hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
4th Apr 2017
7.7

Location of the hostel was very good and close to shops / restaurants. We found that there wasnt much of an atmosphere (unless you already knew people) because the restaurant was the hostels' common room. Good price and we liked how the beds had curtains because it meant some privacy, even for a dorm room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ibillyooo7345
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.9

There where an ungodly amount of mosquitos in our room. The management provided an electronic mosquito swatter that was actually very fun to use and provided comical relief the of the mosquitos. Otherwise very nice hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.