Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.8
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse Located at 1 Stowell Ave, Battery Point, Hobart.
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7004 1 Stowell Ave, Battery Point
95% 222
-42.8895567 147.3320453
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.7

Awesome little mansion, great hospitality by the hosts, so much effort by them to restore the place too! Thoroughly enjoyed it!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
9.4

Beautiful hostel! The owner is so friendly and welcoming. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are warm in the cold winter. I loved being able to sit near the fire in the evening. Amazing location- walking distance to Salamanca and the waterfront. Montacute was the best hostel I have stayed in!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
25th Jul 2016
7.7

Very clean. Nice large kitchen. No lockers in room, front door usually unlocked, but staff not there to monitor who comes in and out. It felt like a safe area though. A bit of a walk to the centre of town, but great to stay in a historic neighbourhood. Like staying in a home rather than a hostel, a different experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
9.7

We loved the Montecute Bunkhouse. It is the most upmarket hostel that we have stayed in. It is simply but beautifully and stylishly decorated with some vintage pieces of furniture and the odd antique. Just lovely. I would definitely recommend it to any traveller.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
10.0

I loved this place, and wished I had stayed on longer. The house was beautiful, so cozy and well kept. Anton and his family were kind, the dogs were fantastic, hilarious company. If I ever get back to Hobart, I'd stay here again without question!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jul 2016
9.4

A homely hostel in a beautiful old restored house. Great facilities for self catering and lots of helpful touches like hot water bottles, hair dryers and ear plugs. The resident pets are gorgeous, there are books and magazines to read, the beds and quilts are warm and comfortable. It's a place that takes budget travel to the next level of comfort. The Battery point area is perfect, lots of historic houses, antique shops and cafes. Would stay here again and highly recommend to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

This place is fantastic. The moment I walked in I felt at home and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. Location is perfect. I'm traveling to Hobart a few times over the next month and have already decided that I will stay at Montacute every time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse- what a absolute pleasure! A beautiful old house that feels just like home. This includes a cat, two dogs and a beautiful fireplace to read a book next to at night. My friend and I stayed in a private room with a breathtaking view of Mount Wellington making us believe that we were paying a lot more than $50 per night each to stay here. The location is perfect as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Battery point is charming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Utterly charming. A old-world guesthouse with modern comforts: WIFI, hot showers with great pressure, spotlessly clean rooms, and the most luscious beds (even in the dorm rooms!) and duvets I think I've encountered in a hostel. Like sleeping in a cloud. Also walking distance to Salamanca market, MONA ferry & Hobart CBD. Would HIGHLY recommend Montacute.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
10.0

When you enter the building the first thing you notice is the artwork, loads of interesting pieces on the walls. The place smelt of lovely eucalyptus, the rooms were clean and warm and the staff were very cheerful and lovely. I would stay there again as the price and location were perfect. Thank you Alabama!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.