Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.6
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.7

Possibly the best hostel in Australia. Beautiful building with very large and airy rooms. Plenty of space and plug sockets in the dorm rooms. Kitchen was well equipped and big enough. Lots of nice lounge areas including a garden and upstairs balcony. Good location only a couple of minutes to Salamanca markets. Only downside was the security, the dorm door didn't lock properly (I didn't need my key to open the door) and you can walk straight in to the hostel without anyone noticing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Feb 2017
8.3

Good. Nice location. I wish there were bedrooms of four for females only though. The beds are a little squeaky and one guy in my room kept going to the bathroom every hour at night which made it a bit hard to sleep with the noise of the bed. But I recommend this place, really nice owners and two lovely dogs! Clean and good value.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Feb 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel. Best I've ever stayed in. A little bit more expensive but so, so worth it. The rooms are so clean and comfortable. Everything is really good quality and well thought out. Definitely would stay here again when in Hobart next.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Feb 2017
9.1

a very pleasant place. the best ever hostel i stayed. very homey and cosy. thats a fantastic living experience

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Feb 2017
9.1

Lovely hostel with great facilities. Helpful staff and playing with the dogs in the backyard was a nice touch. Also the free parking was great. Would definitely recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Feb 2017
6.3

Pros The house is really nice. amazing beds, very clean, great bathrooms. Pretty good location. Free parking, free wifi. Cons Confusing check in , there isn't really a reception. You just walk in and see a sign that says "call this number for check in, then the owner/manager comes. Attracts a older crowd, you will have a tough time finding people under 25. No air con No lockers - lack of overall security. The owner/manager is pretty rude/unfriendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • spruce94
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Super friendly staff, excellent facilities and very clean! Not suuuuuper social but would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Hobart!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Feb 2017
10.0

Love the inner unique decoration !! Beautiful house with delicate decoration and surroundings , nice and considerate owner! Would stay again:)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel is well located, lovely, homey and clean. My friend and I stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which was very quiet, the kitchen and other areas we encountered people of all ages who were all polite & friendly. Highly recommend for solo female travellers. Only complaint: there are certain laundry hours but no signs/information to say so; we made an honest mistake of using outside of the designated hours & when we informed staff & apologised we were made to feel guilty and uncomfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
9.7

Really nice place, with everything you could ask for and more! Really homely vibe in the hostel. Short walk down to the harbour in Hobart. Plenty of advice on things to do in the area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.