Hostelworld.com

Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse

Prices
map
reviews
9.5
Superb 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5
BOOK NOW
9.5
Superb 190 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.5
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse Located at 1 Stowell Ave, Battery Point, Hobart.
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7004 1 Stowell Ave, Battery Point
95% 190
-42.8894096 147.3320453
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
9.7

The most expensive backpackers in Hobart - but this is a flash packers. Or as they call it, a boutique bunkhouse. If your budget allows, and if they have room, this is the place to stay. Beautiful old building on Battery Point with polished wood floors and great garden. You are welcomed by your host and shown round. The bunks are extra wide, the bedding linen is hotel quality and the matress super comfy. Lovely lounge with open fire and a well equipped kitchen. Good car park too. A gem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2016
10.0

I've been backpacking for about 15 years and this is quite honestly one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in. 100% would recommend anyone to stay here. Great facilities, great location, great staff. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.7

Incredibly nice and cosy hostel. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Not for the party animals.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Most enjoyable stay; location is in old historic part of Hobart but still very convenient to Salamanca Market and other attractions along the port. Met lots of other interesting people during my stay. Very friendly place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
9.7

If you're going to Hobart, this is the hostel for you! Lovely rooms, plenty of kitchen and lounge space. 10 min walk to the centre of Hobart. Loved our stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
25th Mar 2016
10.0

I had a great time staying at Montacute over Easter. The house is in the best location, situated in Battery Point (right next to Salamanca and ferry to MONA), so was an easy walk to everything you could possibly need. Rosi and Ant were great hosts and have created a welcoming and warm place to stay. The beds are comfy, the rooms are heated, the property is very safe. I also met some great people in the hostel to explore Hobart and surrounds with. Will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2016
9.1

Great place for a little more than the basics of Hostelling. Comfy bed , nice sheets and bedding, lovely social rooms, ie kitchen ,dining and lounge. Good place to stay close to the tourist type places to go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Mar 2016
8.0

Great location, everything was very clean and tidy. Would've liked a more sociable atmosphere but that's probably not the hostels responsibility maybe the guests just weren't into socialising at the time of our stay. It was so clean and tidy that it felt more of a hotel than a hostel. The Italian restaurant up the road was recommended and it was definitely worth it. Had a great stay here and would love to come back again. Thanks for having us

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Mar 2016
10.0

Staying at Montacute was a great experience - everything was of the highest quality, e.g. i had the best sleep in a king single size bed, because the sheets were so crisp and bed well made, and the bunks so sturdy...and little things like a curtain on the side of the bunk which provided privacy. I met the male owner and he couldn't have been more hospitable if he tried!!! I would highly recommend Montacute to everyone I know, and all travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • chiara87pa3557
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
11th Mar 2016
8.6

Really nice place, more of a B&B than hostel feel, perfect if you need to hill or a couple of days

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.