Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Monte Fourways Hostel & Boarding House. Reviews

79 Albertross Road, Fourways, Johannesburg, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained


22 Total Reviews
  • 40%Value For Money
  • 20%Security
  • 60%Location
  • 20%Staff
  • 20%Atmosphere
  • 20%Cleanliness
  • 20%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Shocking and unprofessional.. It looked and smelled like a organ harvesting facility.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

Very basic dorm rooms, but perfect location if you have a late night at the nearby casino. Located in safe neighborhood behind security checkpoint. Staff let us in after hours. Excellent shower facilities! No Wi-Fi.


The bedroom could of been much more cleaner bed sheets, replace pillow and comforter sets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we are a boarding House and we have a lot of clients moving through there each month our bedding has a lot of wear and tear. This makes the look a bit tardy, I do assure you that they are cleaned after each client leaves. We replace the sets once a year. Thank you for your understanding in this. Your Sincerely Steve


For the location the facility was in desperate need of repair, the room was clean, but the rest of the place really need attention. The bed was so noisy that we could not really get any sleep. By the second night the took in 50 student which shouted and screamed and banged on the doors until after 3 that morning. We demanding our money back and left at 7 that morning.

  • 27th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
My Apologies We had just taken back the operation from a Circus that had booked the place for 7 months and they had destroyed the place, as far as large bookings are concerned we have described ourselves as a boarding House, and every once in a while we get sports, University and other Groups. I did note that we were refurbishing the place on the Site Profile for you to read before you booked. Sorry again and thanking you for your understanding Steve


No one was there to open the gate. or even show us to our room instead we had to ask the painter for help. It was freezing.The pool had turned green, it was just terrible

  • 8th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
My Apologies We had just taken back the operation from a Circus that had booked the place for 7 months and they had destroyed the pool and intercom system, when you arrived my staff who manage the place where in the process of re-painting. I did note these problem on the Site Profile for you to read before you booked. Sorry again and thanking you for your understanding Steve


just a place to stay. nothing special... no character, good staff.


Although the location was a little far from other attractions, the casino across the street was great. The staff were very friendly and willing to walk with our group of six girls at night to ensure our safety. The hostel was clean enough and affordable. I would stay there again.


probably the best location for a hostel in Joburg. easy for transport. still new, so a work in progress, but a great place to stay already!


Friendly staff near Monte Casino Plazza


when i stayed it was under going a bit of a face lift the facility has plenty of patencial but it was a long way off when i was the but overal nothing to complain about as far as backpacking accomadation goes


I had the worse time of my life at this hostel. Dont ever stay there. Please take my advise asnd dont go there. Staff are unfriendly, bathrooms are sooo dirty, rooms have no lockers and are increadibly dirty as well... There's no heating system so you'll freeze in there too. I wanted to leave the hostel and asked for my money back. The owner was extremely unfriendly and wanted hit us cos we didnt want to stay.... Seriously, the worse experience of my life! Once again, dont ever go there!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi I am sorry for your experience I am the owner of the place and I have never met you??? Monte Casino is a new Lodge and has had some difficulties copping with the volumes of clients that arrived over the world cup. For example trying to keep public bathrooms clean and kitchens clean at all times when there are people in them 24 hrs a day. It eventually got to a point that we left a person in these areas permanently in order to try keep them clean. As far as your response to the staff, out of all the Lodges that we have customers have praised the decency and good intentions of these staff the most. As far as heating systems go, we have never had a need for them in Africa before, we had a 3 day cold spell that turned out to be the coldest we have been in 20 plus year. From my discussion with the staff there they say that over your stay you had not complained, when you where leaving we got the sense that you where going to leave without paying and had to shut the gate. Only after this did you mentioned that they had problems with your accommodation, I was called about this and said that you should pay or I would call the police. We have had to be very careful about customers requests for refunds, this is due to the proximity of the Casino we have had allot of chances trying to get out of paying, this has been due to people losing all there cash at the casino.


my first night i arrived and within 20 mins four power outages thank god the casino was open 24hrs 5 mins down road also beds really poor thin metal frames and thought i was going to fall through awful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jitesh I am sorry for you experience, Our country has been having allot of problems with electricity over the last year, Monte Casino has back up generators to deal with this. As far as the beds go we have had hundreds of people there and the beds have been 100% safe and secure. There is nothing I can do if you don't like them, all beds and mattresses where bought new on the 1st June 2010. Again I am sorry for your experience Be fun Have a great adventure


Great stay at Monte Casino. The Monte Casino complex is a stone's throw away, the Fourways shopping mall within walking distance, fooball always on TV and David & Barbara were extremely friendly and helpful. Heartily recommended!


The staff here were awesome. Barbara, David and Freedom will look after you. Joburg is wicked fun. The rooms are spacious and the matresses amazing.


In the northern suburbs. The place is nice, staff is great. I would stay there again.


When I get there, It was still under construction


We showed up and were told the twin room we booked wasn't available and was placed in a dorm until 11pm when the couple that was in the room finally showed up. After switching rooms, we discovered the mattresses were just plain foam and were completely indented from being slept on. That, with all the construction going on, had us decide to leave and find someplace new. The place, however, has a lot of potential once all the construction is completed, and good mattresses are purchased!!

View all Johannesburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback