Hostelworld.com

Monteverde Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Monteverde Backpackers Located at Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde.
Monteverde Backpackers
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 6824 -1000 Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket
89% 462
10.3173259 -84.8247849
Monteverde Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Great hostel with good vibe and friendly staff. Excellent location for a variety of trips in Monteverde. Upon arrival, staff helps you out with all of your plans

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is fantastic!! Clean rooms, hot showers and SUPER friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Monteverde. They have a really nice kitchen that you can use and also a laundry service for 8 USD. If I ever go back to Monteverde I'm staying here, no doubt about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
10.0

I only stayed for one night and my stay was comfortable. The staff was helpful .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
6.6

Feels like this place is slightly overrated. It is by no means a bad hostel, but not the most fun, social or comfortable place ever and tours are soooo expensive. Probably less the hostels fault than just what Monteverde is in general. Policy of only being able to extend stay in the morning, because the receptionist didn't have internet access (?) was slightly confusing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, First thanks for stay with us. Then, is not that the recepcionist did not have internet acess, is that he is not in charge of reservation, if we have no space, we can't get over book and we have to be carefull about it. Also, yes we are not a party place, quiet hours are from 10pm till next morning and some people want to party all night long and do not care about the others who have to wake up early and take early busses, who also have to rest and deserve respect. Thanks! Alonso. C

14th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved this hostel. Location was great next to the supermarket and central. Breakfast was great and there is a kitchen. Beds and shower we're good. Alonso and the other staff were helpful with advice and onward travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Lukesegrave
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel with helpful staff. Perhaps a bit far from the main facilities but the town is so small it's only a small walk. Great option for Monteverde

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
5.4

The best thing about this hostel was the hot shower and the very helpful staff. The downside was that building is dark and there's no great place to really hang out. The common areas have no outlets and the room I was in had no windows or air circulation at all. It smelled really moldy. The "hammock" area is in a very small gravel parking lot. I would not recommend!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

First of all, we always thanks people who rate us because that make us grow up. Second, as how i said before, we are not a 5 start hostel, so if you are expecting a 5 start hostel, is not. We had a great services and we are a really clean hostel.We do not have outlets in the living room because is more like a area for reading and more like relax area, in the rest of the common areas, there a lot of outlets, if people do not see it, we will be glad that people ask for it, but in the rest of common areas and also in all the rooms, there are alots of outlets. The hammock is in the same area with the parking, but there are a lot of places to sit, even table outside. Maybe what happend with this person, is that made a reservation for 3 nights, then she asked for the money back from the last night and then wanted to stay again on the 3rd night, but we were full already, maybe did not like that and decide not to recommend us. But if you want to stay in a real costarican hostel, with real local people, that is us, come and prove it, people love our place and we love to have people here. Thanks! Alonso. C

9th Apr 2016
4.9

The guy at the front desk was rude. The kitchen is VERY small and not super clean. Even 2 people cooking in the kitchen together was crowded. Also my mattress looked moldy. However, there is breakfast and coffee and nice couches and lockers. And they had the best showers Ive seen so far in Costa Rica.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are not a 5 start hostel, everyone who read the main information about the hostel will know that, our kitchen is a good side and is defenily not tru that 2 people cooking will be crowd, have to be the 2 bigest people in the world to get crow. About staff rude, we will have to see why she said that, because services and staff is always the best at this hostel, as how everyone talk in other reviews. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Best hostel since seven months! The staff is very helpful and friendly, and they take care of security and check the names and bracelets. We booked tours and shuttles and everything worked great. The hostel is well situated near a supermarket, banks and restaurants. The room (6 bed mixed dorm) was cozy and big; with two bathrooms ensuite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • desidel
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
7th Apr 2016
7.1

We had the unfortunate experience of arriving at this hostel when they had an issue with the water heating system. Apparently a component was damaged and they were waiting for a replacement to be delivered which ended up taking a lot longer than they expected. Eventually going on without a hot shower for 2 days in cool Monteverde was a bit much so they let us check out early and issued us a partial refund for the remaining night. The hostel itself is nice and pretty chill and communal enough.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.