Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 491 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Monteverde Backpackers Located at Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde.
Monteverde Backpackers
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 6824 -1000 Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket
88% 491
10.3173259 -84.8247849
Monteverde Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.4

Fab location, clean, friendly and really helpful staff. Nice room with amazingly HOT showers :) Downside is after 10 you can't get food/alcohol etc because the town seems to shut, make sure you get food/drink before :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
10.0

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. The staff was extremely helpful and answered any questions that I had. Overall, I am exceptionally pleased with my stay there. I highly recommend going zip-lining.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
9.1

This place was truly amazing. I shared a room with 5 other people and they were busy all of the time (traveled in July 2016). People were coming in and out. The staff was amazing, always asked what we were up, called any.places we needed to contact, booked activities for us, and remembered everyone's name. Breakfast was awesome it was a do it yourself style with eggs, banana, frosted flakes, nutella, toast and coffee. Hostel is Def a young person vibe but so much fun

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louynch3711
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Really helpful staff. Dorm and bathrooms were nice and clean. Really enjoyed the free breakfast - Frosted Flakes, milk, nice bread, nutella, fresh bananas and you can cook some eggs if you want to. Free parking. Decent wifi. The hostel is in the little village and the activities are all just a short drive or bus ride away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
6.9

I don't know If it was just my room, but it was really not clean. There were a lot of little butterflies everywhere, dead and alive. I have found a cockroach in my bed. The walls in my bathroom were all mooldy!! It was really not cleab!! The personnel is really nice and they helped me a lot, always with a smile!! It is a good place to start just one night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review and about the little butterflies in the room, is a month of the year that we get them, if people close the Windows that doesn't happen, but of course once we check people in, we do not go in the rooms to check is the windows are close or not, same with the cockroach, is just about to have the windows close, is Very hard as a hostel in the Cloud forest, to keep everything Super clean when there are all type of bugs in the area and those little butterflies last for a month each year and if you walk on the street, you can see millions of them on the road light, so is hard for us to not get any of those in our rooms. In general, we try to have all our rooms as clean as we can, we have clear that services and clean place is the best we can offer to our customers. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

I enjoyed this place a lot. It was very relaxing and great value for the place. There a lot of moths granted its up in the mountain and a few insects in our room but thats unavoidable. Staff were very accomodating and helpful and they were nice. We were lucky as we the people in the hostel were awesome and so respectful of each other.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.6

Nice place, close enough to the action without being in it. Good place to base yourself out of Monteverde.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
8.9

Relatively small but great atmosphere! The staff is extremely nice and helpful however the building is a little old.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Great hostel with good vibe and friendly staff. Excellent location for a variety of trips in Monteverde. Upon arrival, staff helps you out with all of your plans

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.3

The staff was very helpful. It was a good location, nice communal area and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.