Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 681 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Great place. Very clean, enough place in dorms, 2 bathrooms for 6 people, a nice kitchen. Excellent staff, a big thank you for Emel and Alonso

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and we are glad to know that you like our place. Pura Vida! Alonso.C MonteverdeBackpacker's

16th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent staff!! Met some awesome people there! Never a moment without a smile or a laugh! :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Mar 2017
10.0

I loved everything about this place. The staff is amazing, and the do-it-yourself breakfast was great. I would recommend this place to anyone that comes to Monteverde! Thank you for a great stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you like our place, welcome back anytime you want and takes for taking a second to rather us. Pura Vida! Alonso. C

10th Mar 2017
9.7

The staff helped me plan my activities out really well since I only had one full day to do things. The breakfast was simple but good. Pretty easy to meet people in the hostel, and the location is close to town- so good restaurants and the bar. I would recommend staying here if you can!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, we have the best location in town, right next to the main supermarket, busses to both of the parks come pretty close by, also we are happy to help everyone with all the services that you would need like, booking tours, shuttles, give you time for the local busses, we love to work and help peeople. Pura vida! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.7

Stayed for only one night. Wifi works great. Stayed in 4 bed dorm, really cute room with two bathrooms! Nice steady stream of hot shower. Clean. Staff were helpful. Location is next to the Supermarket and restaurants.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, we have the best location in town, right next to the main supermarket, busses to both of the parks come pretty close by, also we are happy to help everyone with all the services that you would need like, booking tours, shuttles, give you time for the local busses, we love to work and help peeople. Pura vida! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

The atmosphere at Backpackers is very relaxed and open. The staff is very knowledgeable about everything and anything that you might need throughout your stay in Monteverde. It is conveniently located in the heart of Santa Elena Town. The showers get nice and hot and the Water pressure is unreal. Great place to call it a night after a long day of hiking, coffee drinking, and a couple of Imperials at Bar Amigos

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place, welcome back anytime you want. Pura Vida! Alonso. C Monteverde Backpacker's

  • ashawanders
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

Small, cute, cottage-ish feel. Clean, comfy, rooms are a bit tight, but you're not in it much. Common area is chill and inviting. Staff are usually friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Monteverde rocks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, welcome back anytime and good to know that you liked our services and place. Thanks! Alonso. C

1st Mar 2017
6.6

Staff member was lazy in the morning! I couldn't check in due to health reasons the previous night so I asked to check in at 7:45am and the guy said " Oh it's so early... do you want to do it later?" Well no.... I'd like to get going early today. After taking my information, he did NOT give me a tour of the complex, what services they offer or a wrist band I needed for that evening....

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Richard, Thanks for the review, we will work to get better in services. Then, first you check in in the morning and i remember because i-m the manager and i-m the one who did it. I did give you a map of the area and explain you everything about the hostel. You did not have money to pay, and we let you paid for the night till next morning, so honestly i don-t really know what you are talking about it, at least i know that we were nice to you. I have a video camaras and can see clearly that you arrive around 12:20pm and you got check in right away. Thanks! Alonso. C

27th Feb 2017
8.9

Small lockers in the dorms for valuable, good location, really hot showers, breakfast is a do it yourself kind of thing (eggs, cereal, toast). It was noisy at night due to the wind.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with everyone. We have small lockers for the must importan things, since we everyone gets a key for the rooms and can lock them each time want to go out, plus we have a 2 main doors that we can close at night, plus we have a security guard since 8pm till 7am, so as how you can imagine, is really safe and you do not need to lock the big backpacks. Thanks! Alonso. C Hostel Monteverde Backpacker's.

26th Feb 2017
9.4

Good value, the city is pretty small and it's just on the outside. Very helpful service, good quiet room. A little cold at night, but welcome to Monteverde.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad you like our place. It is a little cold here, we already have 2 blankets on each bed, and we are happy to give you an extra blanket in case you are cold. Thanks! Alonso. C Hostel Monteverde Backpacker's.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.