Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.9

The staff is amazing. Emel was very cool and created a good atmosphere. Alonso was very helpful. This hostel is not too small and not too big, so it's easy to chat in the common areas and make friends to go to the main activities around

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
9.1

This was the best hostel I stayed in in all of Costa Rica. The accommodations are pretty modest, but adequate. Everything else is outstanding. The staff is wonderful--Emil and Alonso are so friendly and helpful!--and there is even a night staff security that makes sure everyone there is supposed to be there at night. The common area is very cozy so it's easy to get to know other people, and not so big that it is overwhelming or busy. Free breakfast too! Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place, welcome back anytime. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2017
10.0

10 / 10. Amazing staff/vibe/facilities and Monteverde is a great place to visit. The layout of this hostel is perfect, as everyone can interact easily. Shared Kitchen and free breakfast were great too. Thanks again to Alonso and Emil!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with everyone. Welcome back anytime, we are always working to get better. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.6

A nice hostel with a chilled but friendly atmosphere where you can meet people. Emel at reception was great - super friendly and very helpful! Comfortable beds and good DIY breakfast. Would recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and also sharing your experience, welcome back anytime and safe travel. Thanks! Alonso. C

5th Apr 2017
5.4

Don't understand the high rating on Hostelworld. Our room was clean but smelled very bad because of the rotten ceiling in the bathroom. The (originally brown) wood was completely black and also the drain smelled bad. We were happy that we just had to stay one night. The only positive thing is the included breakfast but that's it in my opinion.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Some people can't see any farder from they nose, that is whay some people do not understand why we have the hight rathe., we work on services, on making everyone feel happy and like at home, some problems, yes in any bussiness there are always problems and things to fix, we already fix the problem and we try alwaya to fix any problem as soon as posible. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing place to stay!! The staff are amazing the vibe is really fun! We went party together, visited all the places as a group, great place to meet people and the breakfast is included, the best part is that they give you all the things you need and you can make yourself a really nice breakfast! Loved this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and good to know that you had a good experience here, we try to make everyone happy. Pura vida! Alonso. C

1st Apr 2017
9.4

I had an amazing stay at the monteverde Backpackers! I met a lot of people and Emel was super fun and hung out with us. I would definitely recommend staying here. Also the rooms are clean and tidy. I had a blast :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us, good to know that you liked our place and had a good time, hope to see you back at some point. Pura Vida! Alonso. C

29th Mar 2017
9.7

One of the nicer hostels I've stayed at. Atmosphere wasn't the best for meeting people - a bit small common areas and people tend to keep to themselves unless you make the effort to connect - but not terrible. Awesome area walking distance from everything else in town. Would stay again and have recommended to other travelers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.9

Great location, right in the heart of MonteVerde. Breakfast provided was appreciated and staff made booking tours easy. Overall a very continent place to stay. Hostel was pretty social too, which made meeting people easy. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
9.4

GREAT location!! In town and walking distance to shops, food and bus stops. Felt very safe and staff were so helpful. The facility was very clean. The hostel is small so it's easy to meet people. Breakfast is included and staff get fresh eggs every morning for the meal. There were two scorpions in the communal area and security got rid of them right away. Irrigardless I definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.