Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 758 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.4

A great choice for someone looking for a social place (met so many cool people!), that's close to the small town and where booking activities/tours is easy (I recommend booking with Alonso). My room was small but this wasn't a problem as you'd prefer to spend most of your time in the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.0

Some staff members were quite rude (telling me they did not believe me and refusing to write my name correctly on receipts because "it's just a receipe it doesn't matter", etc.). The rooms were also very small and my mattress was horrible. However the rest of the facility was nice and the security guard made us feel safe. Location was also great (check out taco taco -the restaurant near- their food is AMAZING).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st May 2017
8.6

Basic but cozy. Good location right next to the supermarket. Well equipped kitchen and nice common area. Good,selection of tours through the hostel. Beds were pretty average and walls were paper thin so,you could hear everything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
10.0

Great place to stay in Monte Verde . The staff was very helpful. I would say this is one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed at. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are huge and tiled. Loved this place and would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
20th May 2017
8.9

Comfortable beds and warm blankets Warm showers, though if someone has a long shower before you they can use all the hot water! (but this is expected) Only small lockers in rooms for small valuables, my laptop just fit in there Super close to town and big supermarket, lit street. Good breakfast and kitchen Helpful to book tours at hostel, I think they are a fixed price throughout town, so you don't need to look elsewhere Security guard at night checking wrist bands Would definitely stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
8.6

Had everything it needed but building was a little old, even if the interior was lovely especially the mural. Hostel manager a really friendly guy too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
9.4

Have to say this is probably the best hostel I've stayed in in Costa Rica. The staff were amazing with helping you book anything and advice. Loads of choice for free breakfast. Hostel is right by town. Rooms safe and lockers provided. Security guard at night checked you had that day's wristband colour on. Really great social atmosphere almost everyone hung out together at night. Was genuinely sad to leave. Hope to go back again one day soon :) thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th May 2017
10.0

It was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel, friendly staff helped me booking activities as well explaining how to get to Nicaragua. Easy to meet other people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
10.0

Great hostel, the staff was super friendly and helped us plan our stay in Monteverde as well as brought us out to have a good time. It's located in the heart of Santa Elena, along with all the other hostels and just 10-15 minute drive to the Cloud Forest Reserve. The place was place and had REAL hot showers. Overall, would recommend :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.