Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 795 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2017
8.0

i liked the hostel :) the staff was friendly and helpful, i met nice people there and we had warm water and internet in the 6 bed room. the breakfast was also good with bananas, eggs, cereals and toast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place, welcome back anytime you come back. Thanks! Alonso. C Manager.

  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed the atmosphere here. I think staying in a "mega hostel" @Selina on the next stop made me appreciate it even more. Homey and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for staying with us and for taking a second to write a review about our hostel, is great to know that you enjoyed here. Thanks! Alonso. C Manager.

2nd Aug 2017
8.3

nothing to brag about, but a decent hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
8.0

Fine, decent place to stay for a couple nights. Chill & friendly atmosphere, kitchen you can use, but in need of some upgrades...really uncomfortable mattresses, and facilities in general could use a sprucing up.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location, great staff, friendly and helpful. For the price I paid, the hostel was nice but there wasn't much for relaxation or hanging out. No hammocks or space to hang out outside. Wasn't music playing or a bar. There was a small living room and then the dining/kitchen area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel, staff super helpful and willing to give advice, book tours etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for spending sometime with us and welcome back anytime. Thanks! Alonso. C

28th Jul 2017
7.1

Hostel got rated way too high for something that is very outdated and not very spacious. The beds were so uncomfortable and springy. The other facilities were okay. Breakfast you had to cook and clean after yourself. It gets very crowded and overwhelming. Location is great and staff is nice but I would definitely pay more money to stay at a more comfortable hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Nancy, Sorry to know that you did now like our place, we will try to get better. I think in general as a manager, i always try to let people know that we are not a 5 start hostel, so if you are paying $13 per night and expect, i rather let people know that we are not that place. About the kitchen, yes everyone who use anything fromthe kitchen has to wash, dry and put away the things, sometimes people is lazy and do not like that or sometimes people do not know the diferents between hostel and hotel. Thanks! Alonso. C

26th Jul 2017
8.6

It was in the center of town, just off the main square. The place has a decent vibe, but the facilities are a bit out dated. My biggest complaint would be the dark interior, which is fins while sleeping, but as you are trying to enjoy the day only on of the common sitting areas is well lit. the staff is friendly, the water is ridiculously hot (a luxury in CR), the bunk beds are actually quite comfy and the place has 24 hr. security. Overall worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
7.4

Place is fairly good. Older dude at reception quite rude in his mannerism and speaking interaction with multiple guests. Showers only hot 50% of time as depends if another person has showered or is showering at same time. Still managed to get two hot showers in. Breakfast good. Location great but Santa Elena is small so hard to be far from town with most hostels. Great "beso espresso" gourmet coffee shop down road. Beds and dorms good. Atmosphere between guests was best thing about this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi everyone who will read this answer. Well, services in our hostel is one of the bigest thing for us. The problem is that some people is very rude and expect that we treat them like kings and is not like that. This guy come and called us MEDIOCRES because he did not know how the shower work, is that a way to ask for something? at least not at Monteverde Backpacker's. All what we ask for is respect and everyone will have a great services. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2017
9.1

Simply perfect stay here. Main staff guy was very nice (other one was rude, but he was only there one of the days) Great value for the cost, & very knowledgable about & helpful with tour setup. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.