Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 562 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
Monteverde Backpackers Located at Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde.
Monteverde Backpackers
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 6824 -1000 Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket
91% 562
10.3173259 -84.8247849
Monteverde Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
9.4

The hostel as a whole had a great atmosphere and I met some amazing people. Location was perfect for the town. I've already been recommending this hostel. Both the guys at reception were very friendly and so helpful when booking activities. I was in a dorm upstairs which had 4 proper beds instead of bunks and two bathrooms between the 4 so there was no waiting for bathrooms etc. Everything was fairly clean but the facilities are a bit dated.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Nov 2016
10.0

Professional. Very friendly and helpful staff. Difficult to fault save for slight mould in dorm and lukewarm showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
7.1

It was extremely cold. There was a hole on the roof of the room, I guess to let in light to this room without windows, but it was impossible to close it. So the wind just comes and goes in this room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for staying with us, When is cold, do not mind giving and extra blanket, but if people do not ask, is hard for us to know. Thanks! Alondo. C

20th Nov 2016
9.4

First of all, the staff especially Alonso and Simon were the nicest of all, they really helped us with the whole trip, including booking the activities and even finding a ride for us to go to Manuel Antonio. The beds were clean and the room too. The room had its own bathroom which is a plus. Location was well situated, close to everything. I will definitely stay there again if I go visit again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
10.0

Clean place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
9.7

The staff was amazing, super friendly and helpful. Rooms and beds were clean. The shower had mildew on the ceiling but not enough to not recommend it. Monteverde is after all very damp so I would consider it normal. Monteverde was my favorite place in my trip to Costa Rica because of all the activities which are all accessible with the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Nov 2016
8.3

Belle place très haut dans les montagnes, Le staff est super 👍👍👍 manque un peu d'ustensiles pour cuisiner et de serviette à vaisselles. Les dortoirs sont OK! Super service de AL et sa femme merci encore. Il sont très accommodant 😊

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Such a lovely hostel. Amazing staff so helpful definitely book your tours with them! Good free breakfast nice beds and bathrooms and it was really social met really lovely people. Also kitchen was well equipped and grocery store right next door. Best hostel location in town!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Nov 2016
9.1

Helpful staff and friendly atmosphere. Good free breakfast :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • JoshMassey
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Oct 2016
10.0

Great Hostel to stay at when you are in Monteverde! They have a great vibe for getting to know one another or trying to stay to yourself. They kept the place clean. Hot water for showers. Coffee ready every morning and breakfast available to make yourself. Eggs, toast, cereal, and Tea. Simone was really helpful and made us feel very at home. They have some hookups on adventures while you re there! Hit the Zipline while you're in town, Simone knows the best one! Pura Vida

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.