Hostelworld.com

Monteverde Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 449 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Monteverde Backpackers Located at Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde.
Monteverde Backpackers
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 6824 -1000 Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket
88% 449
10.3173259 -84.8247849
Monteverde Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Apr 2016
6.6

Feels like this place is slightly overrated. It is by no means a bad hostel, but not the most fun, social or comfortable place ever and tours are soooo expensive. Probably less the hostels fault than just what Monteverde is in general. Policy of only being able to extend stay in the morning, because the receptionist didn't have internet access (?) was slightly confusing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, First thanks for stay with us. Then, is not that the recepcionist did not have internet acess, is that he is not in charge of reservation, if we have no space, we can't get over book and we have to be carefull about it. Also, yes we are not a party place, quiet hours are from 10pm till next morning and some people want to party all night long and do not care about the others who have to wake up early and take early busses, who also have to rest and deserve respect. Thanks! Alonso. C

14th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved this hostel. Location was great next to the supermarket and central. Breakfast was great and there is a kitchen. Beds and shower we're good. Alonso and the other staff were helpful with advice and onward travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
5.4

The best thing about this hostel was the hot shower and the very helpful staff. The downside was that building is dark and there's no great place to really hang out. The common areas have no outlets and the room I was in had no windows or air circulation at all. It smelled really moldy. The "hammock" area is in a very small gravel parking lot. I would not recommend!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

First of all, we always thanks people who rate us because that make us grow up. Second, as how i said before, we are not a 5 start hostel, so if you are expecting a 5 start hostel, is not. We had a great services and we are a really clean hostel.We do not have outlets in the living room because is more like a area for reading and more like relax area, in the rest of the common areas, there a lot of outlets, if people do not see it, we will be glad that people ask for it, but in the rest of common areas and also in all the rooms, there are alots of outlets. The hammock is in the same area with the parking, but there are a lot of places to sit, even table outside. Maybe what happend with this person, is that made a reservation for 3 nights, then she asked for the money back from the last night and then wanted to stay again on the 3rd night, but we were full already, maybe did not like that and decide not to recommend us. But if you want to stay in a real costarican hostel, with real local people, that is us, come and prove it, people love our place and we love to have people here. Thanks! Alonso. C

9th Apr 2016
4.9

The guy at the front desk was rude. The kitchen is VERY small and not super clean. Even 2 people cooking in the kitchen together was crowded. Also my mattress looked moldy. However, there is breakfast and coffee and nice couches and lockers. And they had the best showers Ive seen so far in Costa Rica.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, We are not a 5 start hostel, everyone who read the main information about the hostel will know that, our kitchen is a good side and is defenily not tru that 2 people cooking will be crowd, have to be the 2 bigest people in the world to get crow. About staff rude, we will have to see why she said that, because services and staff is always the best at this hostel, as how everyone talk in other reviews. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
9th Apr 2016
10.0

Best hostel since seven months! The staff is very helpful and friendly, and they take care of security and check the names and bracelets. We booked tours and shuttles and everything worked great. The hostel is well situated near a supermarket, banks and restaurants. The room (6 bed mixed dorm) was cozy and big; with two bathrooms ensuite.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
9.4

My friend and I were traveling around Costa Rica and Monteverde backpackers was one of my favorite hostels! We felt super safe leaving or stuff in the room, but would recommend bringing a lock, as they don't provide those for the lockers. The staff was super friendly and helped us Book tours and find the best transportation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sonjamurray88
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
9.1

This place was perfect for our needs! Alonso, one of the staff was so helpful setting up our transportation to and from the hostel, as well as booking our excursions. Our room was clean and quiet. It's also located right next to the supermarket and they provided breakfast each morning - toast, cereal, eggs, fruit. We loved our short stay there!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • c_ballachey6221
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2016
8.3

You know, this was a pretty decent hostel! By hostel standards, it was reasonably clean and the staff was pretty helpful. We had a private room, so I'm not sure about the state of the forms, but we were happy with what we had. My only complaint was that the outdoor space wasn't especially inviting for hanging out in the sun. However, they were doing some construction while we were there, and it looked like they were building a patio... that would make the hostel perfect!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

The staff were polite and incredibly helpful. The kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms were always clean. As Monteverde is quite a relaxed town, the 10pm quiet time wasn't inconvenient or stopping anyone from having fun as we were still able to drink in the communal area (we just weren't allowed to use speakers). I would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2016
9.7

This was a great hostel located right by the central triangle of the city. Alonso at the front was a great host to us. The prices were reasonable and good for a college student's budget. The wi-fi was fast. We would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for somewhere social and basic to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.