Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Monteverde Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

The best hostel I've stayed at in all of Costa Rica. Amazing staff, great facilities and amazing atmosphere. I've recommended it to everyone I've met going to monteverde.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jacktaaylor
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Feb 2017
7.4

A good base when visiting Santa Elena and Monteverde. Basic but has everything you need. Fairly expensive but welcome to Costa Rica.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
7.4

I am a 35 year old female traveling alone. This hostel was for a younger crowd. Bathrooms are dirty, rooms are tiny with little place to keep your things. I had particularly disrespectful dorm mates during this stay who didn't seem to understand hostel etiquette. Staff were friendly but gave wrong information about where and when the bus to the forest preserves would depart each day. Breakfast is self service and very crowded.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us. Well it is truth, hostel are more for like younger people and we have quiet hours after 10pm, but also before that we won't stop people having fun. Sometimes we get people about the same each that says, no we do not stay in the dorm, probably because they think they are to old for staying in dorms. Bathrooms and rooms are clean daily and breakfast is a do it yourself and there is cerial, milk, coffee, tea, eggs and more, we are s simple hostel, nothing fancy, but people love it, just some times people is to picky to stay in hostel. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
9.7

Great hostel! Staff are super helpful and friendly! Atmosphere is great with everyone hanging out together. Kitchen could use a couple more utensils but otherwise it's awesome. Tasty make your own breakfast with eggs, milk, cereal, Nutella, toast, coffee and tea.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad you liked it, welcome back anytime. Thanks! Alonso. C

3rd Feb 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels of our trip. Great location, 5 min walk from Tica Bus and right on main triangle with grocery stores, bars, restaurants. Staff were super helpful booking excursions and very knowledgeable on transportation and giving directions. Rooms are cleaned daily. Bathrooms are old and a bit broken but again cleaned daily and HOT water. Great kitchen with cooking culture. Some of the best people we have met. Good bfast (eggs, banana, toast, cereal). 100% would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for spending sometime with us and glad you like everything at our place, we work to make it better each day.

3rd Feb 2017
10.0

Amazing place for any young person/couple to stay to check out Monteverde and meet really nice people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for staying with us and get to know Monteverde, hope to see you back at some point. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel was perfect! Made our top 3 favourites in all of Central America! Best shower in CA, free breakfast, clean comfy beds, amazing staff and atmosphere! Alanso and Emel were so helpful and patient. Safe to stay they helped plan every visitors stay and mapped how to get to their next destination! Don't even get us started on the shower - amazing. The tap water was safe and tasty also! Stay at this hostel, you can't go wrong!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, It is our pleasure to help people planning all their trips and reserve place and making phone calls for them to book any hostel around the country and anything our customers need. Thanks! Alonso. C Manager.

29th Jan 2017
9.7

Nice, clean hostel with good breakfast and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Jan 2017
10.0

This is very nice chilled hostel. I stayed in the 4 bed dorm and it has standard beds instead of bunk beds and two bathrooms each with shower and toilet. Breakfast is good. Emil was super super helpful and did everything he could to arrange my bus journey to Avellanas and gave me lots of information! Thanks again for that.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.7

The staff here are super nice and friendly! It has a good atmosphere, free breakfast which is awesome, there's a cafe right next door and a super market a block away. Plus they have a guitar which is definitely a plus as a musician! Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.