X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Monteverde Backpackers Reviews

Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
288 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Stag are very helpful with booking adventures and giving you directions with future destinations. They're friendly and the facility is clean and tidy. Also a great location!

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Friendly people, great and helpfull service, and great location. Very good price/quallity!


83%

Decent small-ish hostel. Alonso was great at sorting tours and giving out info etc., breakfast was basic but plenty if you wanted it. Decent areas to relax in and pretty clean, beds were comfy and nice to have a bathroom in the dorm

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We booked a private room with a private bath. The accommodations were perfect. We took advantage of the owner's knowledge of the area, tours, bus routes, etc. The location was perfect, not on the main street in Monteverde but a short walk, beside a grocery store too. I dropped off my laundry after 10 days of traveling, and for $7 it was washed,dried and folded, in less than 6 hours! When we go back, we will stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and we will be waiting for you back here, take care and safe travels. Pura vida! Alonso. C

100%

Super friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Rooms clean and cosy. Inviting communal area. Highly recommended.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and good to know that you liked our place, welcome back anytime and pura vida mae. Thanks Alonso. C

100%

Wonderful hostel! It's like a cabin in the woods once inside. Comfortable seating/communal area with TV. Clean kitchen area for everyone to use. Beds were so comfortable, and each room has its private bathroom. Bob the dog is the greatest! The owners were so helpful with all of our questions. They also have cheap prices for booking adventure tours. Highly recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and thanks for all the great things, you wroteabout us, we work hard to make everyone enjoy our place. Thanks! Alonso.C

91%

Bob the dog was awesome. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in a private room. The location is right in town with several restaurants, shops, and tourism places within walking distance. Alonso and Johanna were great at the front desk, helping with tours and giving general advice. We booked a few tours through the hostel and had no problems. My only complaints are that the bed in the private room is super squeaky and the window doesn't have a full curtain. Overall, wonderful place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know whe could help you out with everything. Welcome back anytime. Thanks! Alonso. C

100%

Best hostel ever! The staff was awesome, great location, and great atmosphere! Can't get much better!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and welcome back anytime you want.

91%

Definitely one of my favourite hostels ever! The atmosphere was amazing, so amazing that people from other hostels came over to hang out with us! In saying that, there are two doors that need to be opened in order to reach the rooms, meaning that early sleepers are still guaranteed good rest! Also, amazing hot showers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for stayed with us and glad to know you liked our place and had a good time here, safe travels and welcome back anytime. Thanks!

60%

Nice enough. No hot water or No A/C in rooms. Travel information was very biased towards making money. We were travelling from Monteverde to tamarindo. We were told if we paid a premium of $50 instead of $30 we could get a direct shuttle which turned out to be 6 hours via Liberia. We could have just got a shuttle to Liberia and changed to local transport which would have been cheaper and quicker. Disappointed as he seemed such a nice dude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, There is hot water, maybe you did not know how to turn the hot water on, but you could ask. No a/c because everyone ask for an extra blanket, Monteverde is cold. And you choose to go at 8am, we offered you also a shuttle at 6am for $30 but you wanted to sleep more, so you choose for yourself and friends to go at 8am and pay $50, not us so please do not blame us for it. And i'm a nice guy, same one who had give passaport back to people and all that. Thanks!

97%

The owner is the man. Bob the dog is awesome. The vibe at this hostel is amazing. From cooking yourself breakfast, to the amazing BBQ that really brought the whole hostel together, I had an amazing stay here. Would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling in Monteverde.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place and had a good time here.

100%

Awesome hostel, great atmosphere, people and the guy who runs it is the best dude ever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and welcome back anytime.

100%

I stayed at this Hostel for 5 days and could not have been happier with it. The hostel has an amazing social area where you can meet and become close with other young travelers. I lost my bank card twice while in town and the owner helped me get it back so I could continue my travels. He as well as the other staff are awesome. Bob the dog is great and they even have a sloth that lives nearby.Best hostel in Costa Rica!!!

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and is always a pleasure to help travelers and make sure everything goes well. Pura vida!

91%

We stayed in the private room. A nice room and ensuite but the bed was very squeaky, it would wake you up if you turned over. Everything else was fantastic including the staff, location and common areas and info and help on activities and tours. The breakfast included makes this place very economical.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and we are happy to know that you liked our place. Pura Vida!

100%

Speechless! The staff was absolutely incredible and helpful. The location is close to nearby restaurants and stores. The atmosphere was delightful and cheerful. I couldn't be any happier! It was a great experience and hope to comeback soon. If you're going to MonteVerde, I'd recommend staying here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you enjoyed our place, welcome back anytime. Thanks!

97%

Great vibe! We had a room next to reception, and it was a little loud, but quiet hours worked for those that weren't out late. great kitchen area, comfy beds, always had hot water, Bob the dog was great, and we saw the sloth!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place and welcome back anytime. Thanks!

80%

We had a great time at Monteverde Backpackers. The staff was great in providing recommendations and answering questions. The atmosphere was great. Very relaxed and welcoming. It felt like home!

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and glad to know that you liked our place and that feel good here, welcome back anytime. Thanks!

97%

Everything you want from a hostel. Clean and spacious dorms...Ours had a two bathrooms one of which was pretty new, both had excellent showers. The staff are friendly and happy help with any questions. The kithen is well stocked equipment wise. Breakfast is a self catering affair with eggs, bread, cereal, bananas on offer. All in all a good base for your time in Monteverde.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us and good to know that you liked our place, welcome back anytime. Pura Vida!

97%

Our host, Alonso, was so friendly and helpful. The hostel felt very homey, great location, comfortable, and great price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying with us, we work to make averyone feel confortable and we invite everyone to come over to our hostel and enjoy of this beautifull area. Pura Vida!

100%

Such a great hostel to meet people. Has a cabin feel with a great little lounge where you can sit and chat with other travelers, and did I mention, it's right next to a huge supermarket. I have absolutely NO complaints about this hostel. It was perfect. Great experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying with us, work to make people feel confy and enjoy the hostel and the area, now also we have a ATM right next to our hostel where you can get Dollars or Colones out of it. Thanks!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Monteverde Hostels

Please give us your feedback