Hostelworld.com

Monteverde Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 474 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.4
Monteverde Backpackers Located at Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket, Monteverde.
Monteverde Backpackers
Costa Rica
Monteverde Puntarenas 6824 -1000 Costarica Monteverde, Santaelena next to the supermarket
88% 474
10.3173259 -84.8247849
Monteverde Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
6.9

I don't know If it was just my room, but it was really not clean. There were a lot of little butterflies everywhere, dead and alive. I have found a cockroach in my bed. The walls in my bathroom were all mooldy!! It was really not cleab!! The personnel is really nice and they helped me a lot, always with a smile!! It is a good place to start just one night!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the review and about the little butterflies in the room, is a month of the year that we get them, if people close the Windows that doesn't happen, but of course once we check people in, we do not go in the rooms to check is the windows are close or not, same with the cockroach, is just about to have the windows close, is Very hard as a hostel in the Cloud forest, to keep everything Super clean when there are all type of bugs in the area and those little butterflies last for a month each year and if you walk on the street, you can see millions of them on the road light, so is hard for us to not get any of those in our rooms. In general, we try to have all our rooms as clean as we can, we have clear that services and clean place is the best we can offer to our customers. Thanks! Alonso. C

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

I enjoyed this place a lot. It was very relaxing and great value for the place. There a lot of moths granted its up in the mountain and a few insects in our room but thats unavoidable. Staff were very accomodating and helpful and they were nice. We were lucky as we the people in the hostel were awesome and so respectful of each other.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
8.9

Relatively small but great atmosphere! The staff is extremely nice and helpful however the building is a little old.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
10.0

Great hostel with good vibe and friendly staff. Excellent location for a variety of trips in Monteverde. Upon arrival, staff helps you out with all of your plans

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
8.3

The staff was very helpful. It was a good location, nice communal area and kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is fantastic!! Clean rooms, hot showers and SUPER friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Monteverde. They have a really nice kitchen that you can use and also a laundry service for 8 USD. If I ever go back to Monteverde I'm staying here, no doubt about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
10.0

I only stayed for one night and my stay was comfortable. The staff was helpful .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
6.6

Feels like this place is slightly overrated. It is by no means a bad hostel, but not the most fun, social or comfortable place ever and tours are soooo expensive. Probably less the hostels fault than just what Monteverde is in general. Policy of only being able to extend stay in the morning, because the receptionist didn't have internet access (?) was slightly confusing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, First thanks for stay with us. Then, is not that the recepcionist did not have internet acess, is that he is not in charge of reservation, if we have no space, we can't get over book and we have to be carefull about it. Also, yes we are not a party place, quiet hours are from 10pm till next morning and some people want to party all night long and do not care about the others who have to wake up early and take early busses, who also have to rest and deserve respect. Thanks! Alonso. C

14th Apr 2016
10.0

We loved this hostel. Location was great next to the supermarket and central. Breakfast was great and there is a kitchen. Beds and shower we're good. Alonso and the other staff were helpful with advice and onward travel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Lukesegrave
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Apr 2016
8.0

Good hostel with helpful staff. Perhaps a bit far from the main facilities but the town is so small it's only a small walk. Great option for Monteverde

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.