X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Moonstone Hostel Reviews

94/67 Moo 6 BanTai, Haadrin, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
153 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

As a backpacker, MD House was a splurge for me at about 350/400 baht per night but I needed a private room after a long journey from Bangkok. The room was very clean and the shower even had a shower CURTAIN! The room had aircon and it is in a very central location, 8 minute walk to the Thae Pae gate, and probably a 15 minute walk to the night market. The staff was very nice and the pool was great, maybe a little on the warm side.


100%

I like the interior decoration ! Really impressed with moonstone, very clean and even though it is a 20 bed dorm you feel very comfortable and theres alot of little touches that make it different (individual fans above the bed) Would stay here again ! ;O)

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location near the beach, friendly staff, 2 air con for 20 persons, clean, very good thai food, cheap bucket every night (150.- baht), would definitely stay again. 10/10

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I originally booked this hostel for 2 nights and ended up staying 5 as I loved it so much. One of the best hostels I've stayed in I really can't fault it. Chris, Jojo and Naing who work there were legends. I'll definately be back !

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Super cool hostel with many nice people. I originally booked this hostel for 2 nights and ended up staying 5 nights as I loved it so much. Close to most of the islands hilarious parties! has a lounge bar excellent to hang out and cure ur hangover. One of the best hostels I've stayed in I really can't fault it. I'll definately be back!

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

İt's cool and very interesting hostel. The ambient isn't usual and funny :). The beds are comfortable, the bunks are strong, some of them very wide, can be sleep easily two persons.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your stay. We are in Koh Phangan ;O) still under the bucket effect ;O)

100%

Super dormitory with all comfort. Very good cocktails and Shisha at the lounge bar.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I came to the Halfmoon. I had a great time in this hostel. It is like home. The top. Thank you again and soon.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Super cheap and definitely worth the price. Friendly staff as well. And close to the beach (where the Full Moon party is).

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nice hostel with all the comfort you need. The staff is very nice. The food is excellent.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This hostel was a Jewel. You are 2 min from the Full Moon party beach and the owner, Chris is very helpful. Il parle francais aussi ;) He helped me to book my flight and rent a scooter. Definitely the guy to know!


94%

My two sisters and I had an excellent time here . The owner is lovely and helpful and its so near to the beach- prime location at the best price. It has such good vibe and the beds are really comfortable! We will definitley be coming back next year !

  • 25th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

There are problems that staff, except the owner of the hostel have a problems with English and some problems with a hot water in showers (Dec'13). But the location is great and the owner of the hostel is helpful! And... The hostel it's just one common room. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You can adjust your water temperature manually in the showers. The staff speaks English thai 555

71%

Could do with brighter lights in the showers and hot water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hot water is regulated manually.

100%

Very pleasant stay with very clean dorm, a very good kitchen and a very nice staff. 10/10

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I ever been, clean, friendly staff, near the beach and great bar and restaurant inside.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This place is awesome! Just one big room full of bunk beds. Full of party people. Neon lights, a sound system to plug in your own iPod and a bar downstairs. We stayed here for full moon party and had a blast. The entire dorm becomes buds right away, it was a great party group! Stay here if you want to meet people, especially for full moon!


91%

Great hostel, great location, met some great people! Excellent location for full moon party! Xxx


83%

Was a great place to stay for the Full Moon, great atmosphere. The playboy theme was a bit strange! Felt like a ladyboys den, was all part of the fun. Would stay again!


100%

My friends and I stayed there for 3 days over the half moon party and we had the place all to ourselves. Chris the owner is extremely nice and the staff was awesome as well! Right next to both beaches, yet far enough to where you don't get excess noise and can fall asleep easily. They are also extremely knowledgeable with the happenings on the island. Awesome cocktails! I recommend trying the "moonstone drink". In general, great experience and we will definitely be back!

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback