X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Morningside Inn Reviews

235 West 107th street, New York, NY 10025, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
867 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

gave our room to someone else even though i had confirmation!!! manager has avoided to speak with me.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

we come again

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

Rats and cockroaches in our room!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The manager was very unfriendly and not able to explain our bill (with taxes), commenting our questions with "you drive me crazy!" etc. The room was quiet and clean, the bathroom was not (two bathrooms for over 15 rooms). All in all it remains under average and expectations.


80%

The Wi-Fi was extremely poor.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely Place to stay, was in a private room so don't know how much atmosphere was really in the hostel! Would stay again for sure!!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I liked the hostel. It's a nice and clean place, but lack an area for interaction between guests. Not an area of coexistence in the hostel there. I think the hostel could offer utensils to be used in the kitchen for guests so they could cook, it is complicated to use our own utensils to cook when we are in another country.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Room 604: I found the beds and pillows to be very uncomfortable. The lighting was poor. There was no lamp for reading on the bedside table. The dresser pushed right up against one bed was pretty useless except to use the dresser top for storage. The AC was good, the TV worked, the wifi was very poor. The lock on the door was not very secure. I'm not sure if the smoke alarms outside our room had batteries or not. There were only 3 bath towels. No hand towels or wash clothes. Could use more hanger

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Sredni.standard, ale za taka cene nie mozna oczekiwac wiadomo czego. Bardzo dobra lokalizacja.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Clean and affordable place in the Upper West Side. Next to the Subway and with tons of food options and grocery stores around the corner. Very good value for money in a great part of town.


51%

Our experience at the Morningside Inn wasn't the best. We had a money difference with the Administration, because they charged two times the booking (payed at HostelWorld Web site and again at the hotel). As far we could see, It's a common behavior... another passenger told us the same. The hostel advertises a price and charges another. The manager (Mike) didn't changed his mind and never tried to ease the communication (we are not English native speakers). Also poor wifi & no TV signal.


74%

Nice location with many nice pubs and stuff nearby, with easy access to Central Park. a bit inconvenient if you want to get to Brooklyn or something far away, since you have to get back to the city center first, and even the closest subway is maybe a mile away, but not a bad walk as long as you're not lugging your heavy bags around. The staff were friendly, and there was a mini fridge in the room and a microwave/stove on my floor, so you could buy stuff and eat/drink there. No common areas :(


60%

My TV was not working and nobody informed me ! they let me pay the room and i spent 3 days without TV. They should informed the customer .... but they are money oriented and far from customer oriented !

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The TV Service Could not be help and we apologize every day because we was promise from Time Warner that the Tv Service will be fixed with in 72 Hours

54%

no internet, no TV, laundry machine was broken too. Some of the employees preferred to look at their smartphone instead of really trying to help. No soap provided in the bathrooms


89%

Third stay at Morningside Inn- an excellent value in a great location. The hotel is in the process of renovating some of its rooms; in September, November and January the tv's in our deluxe and superior rooms didn't work (awaiting upgraded cable service) and the rooms lacked bedside lamps/lighting. But the rooms were very clean and the staff at the front desk very pleasant and helpful.

  • 24th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent stay. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • 1st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We just needed a place to sleep. And that is what we got. It was perfect for that purpurse. The wifi I. Our floor didn't work, sadly. There were no hot water, but they were working on it and were apologizing for it. But overall a good visit and we agreed if there were no where else closer to everything, we would like to stay there again.

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Ok location for walking to Central Park and some of the local areas but to see the main attractions of New York you would want/need to use the subway to get there unless you loved walking as it is nearing 6miles walk to the other end of Central Park. Lounge area proved difficult to find on first visit downstairs as we felt we had gone into a staff only area.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

You must be prepared for pay taxes. When we arrived, someone appears some minutes later. We didn´t like much the atmosphere, most of the time we were worried about our belongings yet, we didn´t lost nothing. Unhelpful tuff and unfriendly staff (most of them). We appreciated a private bathroom and the neighborhood was very nice and secure, the subway and stop bus (M60) is reasonably near the place, as the mart and pharmacys. p.s it was kind of clean. Don´t spect the same place as the webpictures

  • 15th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to someone traveling alone. I barely saw other travellers while i stayed here, and the hostel is a little far from downtown manhattan. Bathrooms were pretty gross, drains clogged, toilets not cleaned and bathroom floors flooded....It is super close to a subway station which is nice, and rooms were cleaned with fresh towels delivered daily which was really nice. Kitchens had no utensils or cookware as it says on their website.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(516 results)


View all New York Hotels

Please give us your feedback