Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mount Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 144 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st May 2017
10.0

Great location, friendly and helpful staff, amazing atmosphere, very clean, very comfy bed, met a lot of people and had a great time. Highly recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
4.9

Needs to be cleaned. Staff members talking about drugs. Very loud from stayers. Bathrooms disgusting.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.1

Avoid staying here on a Friday/Saturday night if possible. The nightclub is right across the street and it sounds like you're on the dance floor. (We knew this going in but it was worse than expected). Small social area but good for a night to crash if you're in town for a night. Helpful, nice and inclusive staff.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Great location, friendly receptionist, good wifi and generally a nice hostel! Within walking distance to beaches and Mount Maunganui

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.1

The beds are quite uncomfortable but the atmosphere was great and made up for it same as the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Great hostel in a great town in New Zealand! My only complaint is that it is right across the street from a very loud club/bar and it is loud way into the morning, at least 2 am. Also people in the hostel were mostly long term and also pretty loud late at night. Very close to the beach, restaurants, and the Mount.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
4.3

I think I got 2 hours of sleep max at this hostel. The bar across from our road played music until about 2am, which is completely understandable. Then a group of about 10 people decided to stand outside our room on the sidewalk playing music until 4am. We asked if the staff could do anything about it and they said no. This is THE worst hostel I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in a ton of hostels. The kitchen was disgusting and the fridge smelled like sour milk. Please do not stay here!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
6.3

Things to know before booking here: The hostel has a cat. He was friendly and we liked him, but you should know in advance if you have allergies. The only common area is also the smoking area and the eating area. It was impossible to get away from the smoke. The hostel is across from a bar that plays loud music late at night. There are no lockers. Things we liked: Location close to beach, the owners were very nice, discounted surfboard and wet suit rentals, we thought the beds were comfy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
9.4

Great location, lovely staff. I don't think there are many hostels in Mt Maunganui, this is the first one I found. But pretty typical prices among other NZ hostels, everyone was friendly, place was clean, no complaints, only stayed one night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.