Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 116 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Jun 2017
7.4

Beds are very crowded

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.3

Beautiful views, close to gondola, very friendly and easy-going place. Wonderful hosts who go out of their way to get to know their guests. Nice breakfast. No lockers. The dorm was a little "cozy" for me, with 16 people in a small-ish room and not much space for all the backpacks and luggage, yet it was quiet enough to sleep. Restaurant and bar open evenings, nice pizzas. Family atmosphere of trust and respect, even between the guests - I think because of the hosts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

LOVED my stay here. Staff were fantastic and you can't beat the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfection....best hostel you will stay in your whole trip...the owners are very friendly and will even go on hikes with you...the views are fantastic and there are many trails to go on right out the front door I couldn't recommend this hostel enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

I've never had a better weekend in my entire life. The views are breathtaking and the staff is more than happy to make your trip a once in a lifetime experience. Everyone who is going to Europe MUST STAY AT MOUNTAIN HOSTEL. You pay $50 a night but it's worth $50000

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel is located in one of the most beautiful places in the world. The staff and other guests were really nice and friendly. They have outlets with American ports and they provide shampoo/bodywash. But know that the shower costs 1 franc. The breakfast is simple but filling. The wifi was rather weak but it worked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
9.4

Wonderful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.7

Absolutely beautiful location in a quaint little village. The views are stunning. My only complain would be that the common area doesn't really have any couches or lounge area rather just a bunch of tables. Also bring food, because there is virtually nowhere to buy any in the area. Although I did purchase a pizza from the hostel that was quite good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
30th Mar 2017
7.4

There's a big difference between Schiltorn and schiltornbahn. Make sure you don't pay for the schiltorn cable car

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juliabikinas
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Mar 2017
7.7

Had to pay for showers. Nowhere to lock up valuables. Beautiful location! 50 min HIKE to get anywhere (groceries, restaurants). We came in off-season so it was completely clear of tourists which was AMAZING. We got engaged while staying here, so it will always hold a special place in my heart

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.