Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 86 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 86 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald Located at Nidrimatten, Chilchstatt, 3826 Lauterbrunnen, Gimmelwald.
Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald
Switzerland
Gimmelwald 3826 Nidrimatten, Chilchstatt, 3826 Lauterbrunnen
93% 86
46.5466938 7.8929901
Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
9.1

Awesome place to stay. Couldn't imagine a more beautiful, ideal place to spend a few days in the region. The hostel has a really really unique feeling to it. The staff is fun and lively and most of the people that stay there have the same intentions as you; to explore, hike, and then have fun. There is a shared bathroom for guys and girls, just be aware of that. Also, make sure you are aware of the last train/cable car ride to Grimmelwald or else you'll get stranded in Interlaken...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
9.4

I loved my stay in Gimmelwald! I'd go back up every weekend if I could.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Jul 2016
10.0

Out of all the hostels I have stayed at this has by far been my favorite. The location is great - you have to take a gondola ride to get to it which was really cool, and there are lots of great hikes and a market nearby, but what really stood out to us was the atmosphere. I've never been in a more friendly and communal hostel, and we made a bunch of friends during our one night stay. We were sad to leave and hope to come back one day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
7.4

Overall pretty standard hostel. Lots of insects flying around though which was quite annoying. Breakfast was good. Hostel staff were not always available which could be somewhat frustrating. Everything feels pretty safe.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
9.7

Great place to stay for amazing hikes. Dorm living no problem for this aged hiker!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Great views right outside the window and access to trails in the area. Everything was clean but paying for showers sucked. And the flies are everywhere! Other than that it's the perfect place to go for a hiking break in Switzerland.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
9.1

By far THE coolest hostel I've ever stayed in. Real hostel vibe with a spectacular view!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
8.6

Amazing experience staying here . It reminded me of being in camp . The rooms are like bunks with a bunch of people . Nice kitchen . The location is amazing . The bathroom is a little awkward being its both men and women . Found that to be a little strange . Everything else was great .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
9.7

We LOVED the mountain hostel and it was my favorite hostel of our trip. The staff was great and the community was exactly what you would hope for. There was a great hike right out the door and the view was exceptional. Stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Best -- Great hiking, incredible views. Met amazing amazing fellow travelers, felt like a family. Will stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.