Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Hostel Gimmelwald

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 131 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Aug 2017
9.1

Dreamy. Wonderful people. Incredible pizza and breakfast. Be prepared to be dazzled with the location - you won't want to leave!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Best views ever. Cool adventurous people stay here. Sleeping can be difficult in the large dorm, because even though people are generally respectful, some people still snore and whatnot. Just know this going in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
10.0

this is an incredible place in a town with 20 buildings half of them barns. the staff is great, the owners wonderful the place is well maintained, is legendary, I've had two acquaintances work there over the years. i'd go back in a heart beat and stay there again. you have to like the hostel life, younger people, i'm 65 , are great to be around for us some may not like the banter and the noise, but this place is pretty quiet, I think everyone is so tired from hiking we all sleep early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

absolutely LOVED this place. the workers/travellers were all so down to earth and nice and the location was absolute gold. this place is perfect if you like places that aren't as touristy but still have so much to offer. I felt completely safe and secure around everyone there which was a huge plus for me as a single female traveler.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
9.4

Amazing location. The view from the place is priceless. Definitely a mountain log cabin type vibe. Staff was really friendly. Plenty of opportunities to go hiking with groups out of the facility. Very communal. There were flys, FLYS everywhere though. I would recommend they get more traps, or a bug zapper! So many flies that landed on you when you sleeps. They could upgrade the beds too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2017
7.4

Beds are very crowded

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2017
8.3

Beautiful views, close to gondola, very friendly and easy-going place. Wonderful hosts who go out of their way to get to know their guests. Nice breakfast. No lockers. The dorm was a little "cozy" for me, with 16 people in a small-ish room and not much space for all the backpacks and luggage, yet it was quiet enough to sleep. Restaurant and bar open evenings, nice pizzas. Family atmosphere of trust and respect, even between the guests - I think because of the hosts.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
9.4

LOVED my stay here. Staff were fantastic and you can't beat the location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfection....best hostel you will stay in your whole trip...the owners are very friendly and will even go on hikes with you...the views are fantastic and there are many trails to go on right out the front door I couldn't recommend this hostel enough

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
10.0

I've never had a better weekend in my entire life. The views are breathtaking and the staff is more than happy to make your trip a once in a lifetime experience. Everyone who is going to Europe MUST STAY AT MOUNTAIN HOSTEL. You pay $50 a night but it's worth $50000

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.