Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 237 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.1

This hostel is located in a small town in the mountains away from the city. Transportation to the city is roughly 30 minutes by train. We stayed in a 6 all female dorm. The door to our room did not have a lock or key card to get in, but there are lockers for rent in the room. There was only one female toilet/bathroom per floor, but there was a shower room in the lower level with 6 showers, facilities seemed clean. We enjoyed our stay at mountain hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2017
10.0

Brilliant hostel! Very well looked after and in a lovley location with a short walk (20 minutes) to the village or a short bus or train ride. The breakfast was really nice too. Only thing I would say is it was quite hot in the rooms overnight

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2017
5.4

Old school facilities. No locks on any of the doors, which due to the touristy nature of the area is a bit iffy. Only one set of showers. Despite being in grindelwald, it's not really in grindelwald? It's a 20 minute walk away, or a bus that comes once an hour (screwed if you miss it). Overall, avoid grindelwald. Stay in Interlaken.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.1

I really liked this hostel, it was very close to the Grindelwald Grund train station and the staff were very friendly and gave great advice about what to see and do. The breakfast was excellent. The hostel is larger and very social, but I did see a few families and older hikers staying there too. The only concern I had was that the main door to my room didn't lock, but inside the room there were lockers. However, the hostel feels safe in general, but that was my only concern.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2017
9.7

This was one of our favorite hostels from our whole trip! The bathrooms are clean and have hot water. The lockers to keep valuables were huge and fit my whole suitcase and my backpack with room to spare. The beds were comfortable and the room had a great view of the mountains. The staff helped us pick our hikes, which were amazing!! Only downside was it's a 20 minute walk uphill to the main part of town. Luckily the bus is free to use with this hostel, but it does close early. Love it here!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jsbuechler
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jun 2017
8.3

No wifi in rooms, showers only on bottom floor. Nice otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2017
6.0

Our stay was okay overall, the breakfast was excellent. Our room didn't have a lock on the room door, but there were large lockers to put your stuff in. It was located close to the train, and you just have to take a short bus to get into town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aretham2254
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2017
9.1

Great location, nice staff, very comfortable stay. Loved the breakfast with all the local products! Only downside is that the wifi was dropping out most of the time. Overall definitely recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2017
8.0

Five mins from Grund - So best to take a train to Grund vs Grindelwald which is a ten mins by bus / 20mins if you walk uphill. Hostel is more or less clean but the rooms feel old and dirty. Its carpeted which renders a slight stink. Also a bit cramped - the 6 bed dorm def was. The window barely opened and it was quite stuffy. But bathrooms / linen was clean. Not much to do around the hostel so have to go up to Grindelwald. Okay for a night!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.