Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 7.9
Mountain Hostel Located at Grund, 3818, Grindelwald.
Mountain Hostel
Switzerland
Grindelwald Grund, 3818
82% 194
46.6235349 8.0218219
Mountain Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
21st Oct 2016
8.0

Great little hostel and great value for money in an expensive place. Big lockers, very clean, and breakfast included which made it very reasonably priced! Kitchen is outside and minimally equipped but would be great to use in the warmer seasons. Would absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
8.3

Good option for such an expensive area. 15 minute walk to Grindelwald town, but you can take a bus or train down to the hostel (which is good with luggage because it is near a hill). Reception is only open from 9-12 and then 4-9pm. If you come in after 9pm, you won't get a key to your room, so you can't lock it. Lockers in the rooms are 5 CHF. Only one bathroom/shower facility downstairs, which is kind of a pain. Breakfast is really good!! They have local milk and cheese and lots of tea options!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2016
9.4

When you reach Grindelwald station, you will have to either take a local bus or walk around 15 minutes downhill. The mountain train to Grund station (where the hostel is) actually costs money even with Swiss Travel Pass (the bus doesn't). This is Switzerland, doors are unlocked but they provide lockers if you feel unsafe about your valuables. Check in only available after 4 so don't arrive too early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Oct 2016
6.6

First off this place is a trek! Not a bad thing just farther than expected but buses & trains were available! We chose to walk! :) Rooms were fine, not bad Showers: not so great. They shut off every 30s or so, no where to hang your clothes except for the locker room style area which was a short distance from the showers... Breakfast: DELICIOUS!!! Fresh Grindewald yogurt, granola, breads, jams, meat, cheese, coffee, tea, juice, warm milk! Worth the stay!! I still think about the yogurt

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
15th Sep 2016
9.7

Really nice hostel - it's definitely quirky. The kitchen is outside (under cover) and has a brilliant wood fire. The hot tub is amazing! One thing is the doors to the room are not locked. This isn't an issue as there are good security lockers but just something to note. The staff are brilliant and so is the breakfast. Would defo stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jcaswell475
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
10.0

It is outstanding; the best hostel I have stayed at.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
9th Sep 2016
7.4

large common area but a small kitchen with not enough equipment to cook.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
6.0

I was given an upper bunk and surprisingly, there was no ladder to climb up. So i requested to change and they did. Another issue i faced: on paying with an US credit card, the recptionist must have pressed the option -- "pay in USD ...." rather than "pay in CHF ..."- CHF was the second option while paying in many swiss places. That charged me 2 USD extra on my foreign transaction fee-less capitalone card. After argung about this, she gave me back 2 CHF in cash but did not understand her mis

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
10.0

This was the beginning of September and was very uncrowded. We were given a 6 bed room for the 3 of us by ourselves. The room was clean, the breakfast was good and the location/views was fantastic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
5.7

Hostel owner can't control large groups of backpackers who travelled with Zurich University or TopDeck Travel. Guests threatened to call the police at around 3am. Terrible place for people serious about sports or hiking as you'll need a full day to catch up on the sleep you missed. There are no locks on the doors either, the female dorm I stayed in had a large window that had to stay open during the night because we had no air con. We were on the ground floor by the bar. Did not feel safe.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.