Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain House, Arthur's Pass YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 108 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th May 2017
6.6

Can't complain too much when it's the only place available. A tv in the common room wouldn't go astray

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • robz9395
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2017
7.7

This is a good clean, secure, well equiped place to stay and seems luxurious after tramping! Watch the heat and the duvets they provide though. All my sleeps were bad here as I could not get cool enough -bring your own sleeping bag and open it right out so you can stick out your legs etc and turn all heaters off at night -this place is well insulated and holds its heat even on minus nights!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff were friendly and the hostel clean and tidy. There is a good restaurant across the road if you don't want to cook for yourself. There were a few goods trains passing by the hostel during the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
9.4

I can definitely recommend the YHA in Arthur's Pass - directly next to Arthur's Pass store, 5 minutes walk to the DOC Visitor Centre and the hostel itself is almost perfect. It's warm, there's enough space in the dormitories as well as in the kitchen; only the bathrooms are a little bit too small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
9.7

Great place - one of our best stays on our six week tour of NZ. Loved the wood burner and spotless cabin.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
10.0

Pretty perfect hostel. The kitchen was clean and big, the beds were comfy, the woman working the desk was great. I'd definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.6

Secluded mountain accommodation! An independent shared cottage with 3 bedrooms - very comfortable. Log fire.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
10.0

Great place to stay to break up the drive of Arthurs pass. stunning walks from the hostel and very friendly atmosphere..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Feb 2017
9.7

Had a private room in one of the cottages, loved it so much. The cottages are so charming, the woodburning stove really made it. The kitchen and living room were so nicely appointment. My favorite accomodation on the S. Island

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.