X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mountain Jade Backpackers Reviews

41 Weld Street, Hokitika, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
40 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Adequate hostel, with a friendly receptionist. Suitable for a brief stay in the town, which itself is quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We hope you have a great stay in New Zealand Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

74%

Nicely located in middle of hokitika. Functional and has all facilities needed for a stopover but probably not a place i would stay longer term as lacking in atmosphere a bit possibly due to it being located above a giant jade store

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Silvia Thank you for your review. Yes we are located above the Jade Factory but we are a separate Business, We find that our customers have a great time in general and hang out and talk about their travels and experiences. Mountain Jade Backpackers

63%

I would say this is an average hostel - has adequate facilities, looked clean, walking distance to groceries and a few restaurants and cafes. For the cost, it served it's purpose well - a place to stop overnight while on the way to other things. Unfortunately there isn't much in the town for attractions, but it does make a good stopover. The staff was very nice but I was disapointed that the wifi was not included. HOWEVER, the library is next door and their wifi is free!

  • 3rd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • hankinsc7202
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christine Thank you for your review. No we do not offer free Wifi as the library offers free internet next door for us to do would be very expensive. I'm sorry you did not think there was much to do around the area people usually stay a few days and do all of the walks visit the historical museum, kiwi centre and the many craft store's in the town. We hope you come back some day so we can show you the many things to do in the area. Thanks Mountain Jade Backpackers



View all Hokitika Hostels

Please give us your feedback