X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mountain Jade Backpackers Reviews

41 Weld Street, Hokitika, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
85 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

40%

Staff just thinking about making money all time. Stuffy/muffy, hot rooms with shaky cheap beds. No real dining area. Would never stay there again.

  • 7th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really good hostel, great location and cozy common area. Really clean facilities and WiFi works great


77%

A nice hostel with everything you need. More plug sockets in the rooms would be good. The guy working there is super friendly and helpful, which is always a plus.


100%

Great central location. Clean. Nice balcony. The owners were fantastic and I enjoyed talking to them. Thank you so much for your hospitality.


86%

Very friendly and helpful staff, enjoyable stay which lots to do in the hostel if the weather is poor. Kitchen would be better if bigger and it was very hot to cook in. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend. Not a lot to do in the area but worth a short stay.


91%

Nice place to stay, cool staff!


57%

The bedroom was dirty... old carpet with lots of stains and very smelly. The common area had old couches that didin't invite for relaxation. The kitchen was very small, too hot and without fresh air. We had a problem with the credit card and the girl in the reception didn't know how to fix it. She was new in the job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Sorry your stay was not as you had hoped. The Female dorm does usually get a bit messy as normal as the bags do tend to explode. All of the hostel is cleaned on a daily bassis but you did arrive late in the evening, you were the last people in that room and all of the other girls had there gear every where. Thanks

100%

Very helpful and friendly atmosphere.


97%

I really enjoyed my stay at Mountain Jade. The location was great and they had free wifi. It rained a ton when I was there and they have an excellent collection of movies. I would definitely stay here again.


94%

Realy nice and helpful stuff!! just 2 min from the bus stop!


97%

A really nice hostel right in the middle of Hokitika. The owner was super nice and took good care of the place. Had a good vibe to it and met quite a few people!




View all Hokitika Hostels

Please give us your feedback