Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Mountain Jade Backpackers Located at 41 Weld Street, , Hokitika.
Mountain Jade Backpackers
New Zealand
Hokitika 7900 41 Weld Street
84% 114
-42.7184528 170.9637451
Mountain Jade Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Had a great time in Hokitika, lovely wee town and the hostel is super relaxed and nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great review of us. We are really glad that you had a good time with us here in Hokitika and hope to see you again some time. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
26th May 2016
7.4

Great little town to stop in. Good wifi and decent facilities.clean. The negatives: the bunk beds are the wobbliest and most unstable ive slept on and theres no staff present after 7pm my dorm was next to the common room and a group of people partied very loudly until the morning making it impossible to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. I am am sorry that the other guest's did not respect other peoples sleep time. We do have a contact number for after hours problems and I would have come back in to deal with the rowdy people as that is not acceptable. I will follow up with there group as well. I will also have a look at the bunks and see if they need tightening up. We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is a fun one. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

7th May 2016
9.1

Best location in town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are really happy that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika and hope the rest of your stay is as good around New Zealand. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
9.1

Great location in the middle of the main street of Hokitika. Really pleasant and helpful staff. Lounge area brilliant to keep you busy on rainy nights spent planning the next few days. If you plan to stay a few days, they offer the third night free! (Only if paying on site)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

I received a really warm welcome on arrival and was given lots of useful local information. The hostel was basic but spotlessly clean. Dorm rooms could be improved with more electrical sockets and reading lamps for each bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are glad that you had a great time with us here. We try to make things as relaxed as we can. Our dorm rooms do have 7 power points in them and we also have a lot of power points in the lounge common area to use. We don't put lamps in the dorm rooms as they wake people in the night if people turn them on. We hope the rest of your trip in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

A great option value for money accommodation in Hokitika.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we are glad that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika and hope to see you again some time. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Service over and above the call of duty and suitable facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you had a great time here with us again and hope to see you again some time. We hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.3

Small hostel but good upkeep. There was only 1 person working the entire time I was there which was impressive as that's a lot of work for one person ! Not much in Hokitika it's self so probably wouldn't stay more then 1 or 2 nights just based on the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review you comments are important to us. We do have 1 other person come in to work as well when we are busy but thank you. We do have a lot of walks to do around town plus some larger walks out of town but sometimes they can be harder to get to if you don't have transport, We do know of a car for hire at a cost of $38.00 per day if needed as well. We are glad that you had a good time with us and hope the rest of your stay in NZ is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

29th Mar 2016
9.7

Love his palce and highly recommend it. Comfy beds, well equiped kitchen, really clean and great owner (thanks John). Extended my stay and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review of us here. We are really happy you had a great stay with us and would love to see you here again. We hope the rest of your stay in NZ is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

17th Mar 2016
6.0

Nothing great but nothing bad. Right next to the isite and walking distance to beach. Nice hostel. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your Review we a happy you had a good stay with us and hope the rest of your trip in NZ is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.