X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mountain Jade Backpackers Reviews

41 Weld Street, Hokitika, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
58 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Pretty decent hostel, friendly staff and a great lounge room. Bunk beds were a bit squeaky and the rooms could do with some small lockers but otherwise a good place to stay


94%

The guy who runs is fantastic. The location couldn't be better, smack bang in the middle of town, walking distance to everything. You could also rent a bike for free which is awesome. Sitting room is enormous and place is very clean. There are 2 downsides though - the kitchen/eating area is pretty basic and was crowded when I stayed. The other thing is that I could only find 2 outlets in an 8 bed room. Was able to charge stuff in the sitting room, but more plugs would be cool. Otherwise, great!


89%

Very small hostel so it has a personal feel which is nice. Location is excellent, staff are very nice. The 6 bed dorm was spacious.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review your comments are very important to us. We a glad that you had a great time with us and hope you have fun in New Zealand and the rest of your travels. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

74%

It's right in the central of town and close to the supermarket and beach. Staff is good and the other things are just all right, esp for the small kitchen.


97%

Great location, nice and friendly manager and clean and tidy room .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and hope that the rest of your travels in New Zealand is as great. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

83%

Awesome location and cool hostel to stay in. Everything was really clean. Only thing was the metal bunk beds were pretty squeaky if you had a restless sleeper in your room. Other than that everything was great, would definitely recommend staying here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. I have gone through all of the bunks to make sure they are all tight so thank you for letting us know this, We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is great. Safe Travels

54%

We don't know how to start... Dirty kitchen! Impossible to sleep on the mattress, I could feel all springs! Need maintenance and cleaning!!!! The staff was ok, but... Definitely one of the worst hostel ever!!!

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We have changed the matresses in all of the double rooms in the last month. We do go through and clean the kitchen and facilities every day but sometimes people do leave the kitchen in a state between us getting here in the morning. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

86%

Cosy place. Nothing special, great for a couple of nights stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for your review we are glad you had a good stay with us. We hope you have fun on the rest of your trip. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers



View all Hokitika Hostels

Please give us your feedback