Hostelworld.com

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 107 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Mountain Jade Backpackers Located at 41 Weld Street, , Hokitika.
Mountain Jade Backpackers
New Zealand
Hokitika 7900 41 Weld Street
85% 107
-42.7184528 170.9637451
Mountain Jade Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th May 2016
9.1

Best location in town!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are really happy that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika and hope the rest of your stay is as good around New Zealand. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.9

I received a really warm welcome on arrival and was given lots of useful local information. The hostel was basic but spotlessly clean. Dorm rooms could be improved with more electrical sockets and reading lamps for each bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are glad that you had a great time with us here. We try to make things as relaxed as we can. Our dorm rooms do have 7 power points in them and we also have a lot of power points in the lounge common area to use. We don't put lamps in the dorm rooms as they wake people in the night if people turn them on. We hope the rest of your trip in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
9.7

A great option value for money accommodation in Hokitika.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we are glad that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika and hope to see you again some time. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
10.0

Service over and above the call of duty and suitable facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you had a great time here with us again and hope to see you again some time. We hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
8.3

Small hostel but good upkeep. There was only 1 person working the entire time I was there which was impressive as that's a lot of work for one person ! Not much in Hokitika it's self so probably wouldn't stay more then 1 or 2 nights just based on the town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review you comments are important to us. We do have 1 other person come in to work as well when we are busy but thank you. We do have a lot of walks to do around town plus some larger walks out of town but sometimes they can be harder to get to if you don't have transport, We do know of a car for hire at a cost of $38.00 per day if needed as well. We are glad that you had a good time with us and hope the rest of your stay in NZ is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

29th Mar 2016
9.7

Love his palce and highly recommend it. Comfy beds, well equiped kitchen, really clean and great owner (thanks John). Extended my stay and would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review of us here. We are really happy you had a great stay with us and would love to see you here again. We hope the rest of your stay in NZ is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

17th Mar 2016
6.0

Nothing great but nothing bad. Right next to the isite and walking distance to beach. Nice hostel. Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your Review we a happy you had a good stay with us and hope the rest of your trip in NZ is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

17th Mar 2016
8.9

Great place to stay to explore a gorgeous area. Free WiFi worked great and the discount at the jade shop is a nice touch! The kitchen tended to get crowded and was always a bit messy but that could be due to the crowd there. Overall a nice stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us. We try to get people to clean up there messes but alas some people have not learned that trait yet. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Thanks Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
5.7

Not the worst hostel but needs improvement. My food was thrown away on the second day when it was labelled with name and date, as per the kitchen rules, so that was extremely frustrating. No secure storage for luggage/rucksacks either.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, This is very confusing,As you were only staying only the 1 night check out was 10 am, We did let you come back up and charge your phone later in the afternoon as well. The food was not thrown out of the fridge till around 3 pm so body should have been in the hostel from the night before. No we do not have any storage lockers but all of the rooms lock and we do not let anyone else in the hostel apart from who is staying with us. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand.

8th Mar 2016
8.6

Just stayed for one night but it was a good stay. There's a living area with tons of movies you can watch, kitchen is fairly small but has all the essentials. There's 3 stalls in the bathroom but never had a problem with waiting. The town is really small so you can easily walk to restaurants/grocery store within 5 mins. Would recommend staying here for a night or two if you're visiting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are glad that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika. Yes everything is very close to us here no more than a 5 min walk just about anywhere. We are looking at changing the layout of the kitchen to work better and make more room in there. We haope the rest of your trip in NZ is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.