Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 210 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

One of the best backpackers I have ever stayed in! John was friendly and communicative, helped me out with a late check in. The facilities were impeccably clean and functional, the room was great and the bed was comfy. Great value for money too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your Awesome Review on us. We are very happy that you had a good relaxing stay with us here, We try to make things as easy as possible for every one staying with us. We hope to see you again some time. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers.

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.7

Very friendly and homely, good facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great Review of us. We are very happy that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika and hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Pretty nice place, nothing super special but we enjoyed our time here. We liked that there are lots of things at the hostel to keep you busy: board games, puzzles, free unlimited wifi (hard to find in NZ!), and a great DVD collection. We do wish there were lockers in the room, but I'm sure you could ask reception to hold your valuables if necessary. Beds were comfy. Overall a good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for your awesome review of us here. We try to have a lot of tings for people to do at night with the movies and games/puzzles for everyone to chill and hang out. No we don't have any lockers in the rooms but we will put things in the safe or the locked store room for people if they want. We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Great location. A bit overpriced for what you get. Separated men's and women's showers would have been appropriate for the price. Not a bad place at the end of the day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2017
7.7

The guy who runs the hostel is really friendly and lovely, facilities are really good the only thing that let it down was the odd stains on my pillow case and a creaky bunk bed! The location is perfect, right in the middle of the little town and 3/4 minutes away from the beach

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for your review. We are fixing those bunk beds at the moment with some more gaskets to stop them squeking. Plus the Pillow cases had some bleach spill on some of them so that is what the strange look of them is, all of our linen's are washed every time they are used. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.1

Great little hostel. Lovely kitchen and bathrooms, good location. Only stayed one night but enjoyed it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, we are very happy that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika and hope you have a great time on your travels around New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

23rd Mar 2017
8.9

I enjoyed my stay here, hokitika is a great little town and this hostel is right in the middle. The owner gave us lots of ideas for things to do in our short time there (only had 2 nights). Only complaint was the owner left early and we didn't have access to any of the large DVD selection, but wifi was good so could still have evening entertainment in common area. Wifi didn't reach the back hallway to well either, but I'd stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We do consider all reviews very important to us. We do close the office at 7pm from April till the end of September and we let everyone know this when they check in. I will also have a look at the wifi as it normally reach's the entire hostel with ease. We are glad you had a good time here with us though. We hope the rest of you travels are as good. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
17th Mar 2017
10.0

Really good hostel: very friendly staff, clean and free unlimited wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Great. Better bunks would be better.....getting to top bunk is an earthshaking event for bottom person.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We do take everyone's comments in to consideration and we will look into the bunks to see if we can make them a bit more stable. We hope you have a great trip. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel in a really nice area, great wifi, unlimited, which was great and everything was really clean. Seemed like quite a new hostel but only 2 toilets so that could get quite annoying but overall a great hostel and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are very happy that you had a good time with us and hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.