Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.4

Nice, felt welcome and enjoyed stay. One simple fault; It would have been useful to have a bedside table on which to put a watch (or clock or drink) and have a bedside lamp in order to read a book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you had a great stay with us. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
10th May 2017
6.9

Place needs a little bit of a revamp in the bathroom and toilet areas. Bedrooms have a very odd smell about the place. as apt as this sounds it properly honed of backpacker which isn't all that great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we do take your comments on hand. We have planned to revamp the toilet and bathroom areas this winter starting in the next couple of weeks doing a repaint and changing a few other things. The odd smells that some people carry around with them we can not do too much about sorry but we do clean up and try to get people to keep there gear as tidy as possible. We hope you have a good time in New Zealand. Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying at Mountain Jade backpackers! It was in a great location, shops, cafes, restaurants and beach all within minutes of walking distance. The manager\owner was very friendly and welcoming, he went out of his way to organise a rental car, so we could visit The Gorge. Which was stunning! A great place to stay if you're in Hokitika!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. Yes the location here is perfect to see everything that this great town has to offer. The rental cars are a great thing around here and cheaper than hiring bikes and we are alway happy to drop people down to collect them, All part of the service. Hope you have had a great time in N.Z Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Clean and homely hostel! Right in the heart of Hokitika, I think this place is well worth your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review we are very pleased that you had a great stay here with us. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Stayed here just for one night, but I wished to stay longer. The owner/manager was really nice and helpful. Biggest dorm I had till now, high ceilings. Everything was clean, hot showers, really good equipped kitchen. Would definitely stay here again- sad that Hokitika isn't that exciting. However you can go and see the glow worms for free and a pretty sunset at the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your fantastic review on here at Hokitika. We very pleased that you had a great time here with u. There is a huge amount of things to do in Hokitika like the sunset point, glow worm, lake Kaniere, Hoktika Gorge(Blue gorge), tree top walk and the list goes on and on. We hope to see you again some time so we can show you what else is available here in this great town. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

28th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel. The guy who runs it is super chill. The place is very clean and the wifi is wicked fast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you had a great time with us,We try to make everyone's stay with us chilled out. Yes the Wifi is very fast as we use VDSL. Hope you have a great time in N.Z Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

One of the best backpackers I have ever stayed in! John was friendly and communicative, helped me out with a late check in. The facilities were impeccably clean and functional, the room was great and the bed was comfy. Great value for money too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your Awesome Review on us. We are very happy that you had a good relaxing stay with us here, We try to make things as easy as possible for every one staying with us. We hope to see you again some time. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers.

5th Apr 2017
9.7

Very friendly and homely, good facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great Review of us. We are very happy that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika and hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Pretty nice place, nothing super special but we enjoyed our time here. We liked that there are lots of things at the hostel to keep you busy: board games, puzzles, free unlimited wifi (hard to find in NZ!), and a great DVD collection. We do wish there were lockers in the room, but I'm sure you could ask reception to hold your valuables if necessary. Beds were comfy. Overall a good stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thank you for your awesome review of us here. We try to have a lot of tings for people to do at night with the movies and games/puzzles for everyone to chill and hang out. No we don't have any lockers in the rooms but we will put things in the safe or the locked store room for people if they want. We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Great location. A bit overpriced for what you get. Separated men's and women's showers would have been appropriate for the price. Not a bad place at the end of the day.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are a bit confused with you thinking that we were over priced as we are the cheapest hostel in Hokitika, We hope you have a good time around New Zealand Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.