Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 178 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • lhooiweng6345
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Big kitchen! We got a high ceiling dorm! What a special place to stay. Is even nice to stay when is cold outside. A place that will recommend to my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for you great review we are very happy that you had a good time with us here. We hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

2nd Feb 2017
8.3

Nice place, near the center of town (not that that's hard, it's a small town) with friendly staff and guests. Security was a bit dodgy, since there were no lockers and you could only lock it by pushing the button on the knob on the inside, so most people just didn't lock it at all. Otherwise, a fine place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi We are glad that you had a good stay with us here. We have never had any trouble with security at all as we do not allow any one in the hostel that is not staying with us. It is up to the people staying in the room to lock the door when they leave as every one staying has a key. We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is as Good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

The dude who looks after this place is so sound. Very helpful and informative. Excellent location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of us your comments are always welcome. We are glad that you had a good stay with us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers and hope the rest of your trip is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing little hostel, really loved it. Big rooms, amazing showers, lovely staff. Can't fault the location of the hostel but if travelling with no car Hokitika doesn't have tonnes to do especially when the museum is closed... but atmosphere and layout is so great I managed to tag along to the gorge, falls etc with different people I met. Would really recommend this place for a short stop, especially for solo travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad that you had a great relaxing stay with us here in Hokitika. We try to get people to interact with others staying in the hostel as any one with transport is normally going out to all of the wonderful sights to see that are here. We hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand are as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • edoxxa
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice place. For the change nice furniture and a very clean kitchen. Nice and we'll informed host. A lot of value for your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review we are very pleased that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika. We try to make things as chilled out as we can for everyone. We hope that you have a great time with the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel in a lovely little town. Nice for a one night stop over. Maybe they could have had lockers in rooms for personal belongings. Good atmosphere here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review and for your comments. No we don't have any lockers at the moment but we are thinking of ways to add them in without taking up too much space. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice place to stay! A lot of equippt in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers and hope the rest of your stay is the same in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

The guy who runs this hostel is an absolute legend, really friendly, wants to actually help you (unlike other big chain hostels you find in cities). Very interesting dude who has some cool stories and did a lot for us during our stay. The hostel has some great places to chill out, i like the open air feel nothing is cramped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your awesome review. We are always really pleased when our guest's have a great time and manage to chill out while they are with us here. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand for the rest of you trip. safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.4

Showers don't have anywhere to put clothes or toiletries, however the staff are friendly, the hostel is clean and tidy AND they have hepas of films to watch if there is any bad weather coming your way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review of us your comments are important to us. We will have a look and see what we can do about the showers,3 of them have a rack on the shower stem but we will look at what else we can do as well. We are glad that you had a good time here with us in Hokitika and hope you have a good time in the rest of New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

11th Dec 2016
9.4

The gentleman at the front desk was really friendly. There were plenty of pleasant, well-lit spaces to hang out, too, which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your awesome review of us here in Hokitika. We are happy that you had a a great chilled out time with us. We hope the rest of your stay is the same through out New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.