Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 235 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • christopherwelsh427
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.6

Owners and management just about to change when I was there. Location fine, facilities adequate (some dull knives though).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Fantastic spot. The guy in reception was lovely, super helpful AND gave us his recipe for vegan lemon cake. 10/10 would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Guy's, Wow awesome review thank you. We are very happy that you had a great time and that you enjoyed the cake that was baked while you were here. We hope you have a great time around New Zealand and the rest of your travels. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Ducloy
  • France, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
10.0

Perfect. Thank you so much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you had a great time and hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.7

we liked the friendly welcome of the receptionist :-) the hostel is clean and pleasant. we enjoyed our stay, even though it was just one night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great review of us. We are very pleased that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika. We hope that the rest of you trip around New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2017
9.4

Nice, felt welcome and enjoyed stay. One simple fault; It would have been useful to have a bedside table on which to put a watch (or clock or drink) and have a bedside lamp in order to read a book.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you had a great stay with us. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • leicesterfox
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
10th May 2017
6.9

Place needs a little bit of a revamp in the bathroom and toilet areas. Bedrooms have a very odd smell about the place. as apt as this sounds it properly honed of backpacker which isn't all that great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we do take your comments on hand. We have planned to revamp the toilet and bathroom areas this winter starting in the next couple of weeks doing a repaint and changing a few other things. The odd smells that some people carry around with them we can not do too much about sorry but we do clean up and try to get people to keep there gear as tidy as possible. We hope you have a good time in New Zealand. Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

I had a great time staying at Mountain Jade backpackers! It was in a great location, shops, cafes, restaurants and beach all within minutes of walking distance. The manager\owner was very friendly and welcoming, he went out of his way to organise a rental car, so we could visit The Gorge. Which was stunning! A great place to stay if you're in Hokitika!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. Yes the location here is perfect to see everything that this great town has to offer. The rental cars are a great thing around here and cheaper than hiring bikes and we are alway happy to drop people down to collect them, All part of the service. Hope you have had a great time in N.Z Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
10.0

Clean and homely hostel! Right in the heart of Hokitika, I think this place is well worth your money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your great review we are very pleased that you had a great stay here with us. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st May 2017
10.0

Stayed here just for one night, but I wished to stay longer. The owner/manager was really nice and helpful. Biggest dorm I had till now, high ceilings. Everything was clean, hot showers, really good equipped kitchen. Would definitely stay here again- sad that Hokitika isn't that exciting. However you can go and see the glow worms for free and a pretty sunset at the beach.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your fantastic review on here at Hokitika. We very pleased that you had a great time here with u. There is a huge amount of things to do in Hokitika like the sunset point, glow worm, lake Kaniere, Hoktika Gorge(Blue gorge), tree top walk and the list goes on and on. We hope to see you again some time so we can show you what else is available here in this great town. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

28th Apr 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel. The guy who runs it is super chill. The place is very clean and the wifi is wicked fast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your great review. We are very glad that you had a great time with us,We try to make everyone's stay with us chilled out. Yes the Wifi is very fast as we use VDSL. Hope you have a great time in N.Z Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.