Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 158 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
Mountain Jade Backpackers Located at 41 Weld Street, , Hokitika.
Mountain Jade Backpackers
New Zealand
Hokitika 7900 41 Weld Street
93% 158
-42.7184528 170.9637451
Mountain Jade Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • edoxxa
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice place. For the change nice furniture and a very clean kitchen. Nice and we'll informed host. A lot of value for your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel in a lovely little town. Nice for a one night stop over. Maybe they could have had lockers in rooms for personal belongings. Good atmosphere here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice place to stay! A lot of equippt in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
10.0

The guy who runs this hostel is an absolute legend, really friendly, wants to actually help you (unlike other big chain hostels you find in cities). Very interesting dude who has some cool stories and did a lot for us during our stay. The hostel has some great places to chill out, i like the open air feel nothing is cramped.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your awesome review. We are always really pleased when our guest's have a great time and manage to chill out while they are with us here. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand for the rest of you trip. safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Dec 2016
9.4

Showers don't have anywhere to put clothes or toiletries, however the staff are friendly, the hostel is clean and tidy AND they have hepas of films to watch if there is any bad weather coming your way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review of us your comments are important to us. We will have a look and see what we can do about the showers,3 of them have a rack on the shower stem but we will look at what else we can do as well. We are glad that you had a good time here with us in Hokitika and hope you have a good time in the rest of New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

11th Dec 2016
9.4

The gentleman at the front desk was really friendly. There were plenty of pleasant, well-lit spaces to hang out, too, which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thanks for your awesome review of us here in Hokitika. We are happy that you had a a great chilled out time with us. We hope the rest of your stay is the same through out New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Dec 2016
9.4

Only stayed for one night because we had a tight schedule but really liked this place. Staff very friendly and helpful, very clean and what we saw of the facility's was good. Good location in the town and easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are very happy that you had a great stay with us and hope you have a great time on the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Dec 2016
9.7

We had a really good stay in this hostel. The man and woman who manage the hostel are really friendly and happy to help. The hostel has a homely feel and the kitchen is well equipped (except a tin opener!). The wifi is fast. Overall this hostel is great value for money, we enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night. The only down side is that the bunk beds are very creaky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. We try to keep things nice and relaxed for every one here. Strange about the tin opener some times they move around a bit, But we always have spare's here if needed. I will have a look at those bunks as well see if they need a tighten up. We hope you have a great time on the rest of your travels. Mountain Jade Backpackers

6th Dec 2016
8.0

This place was just fine for one night! Big common room to hang out. Wifi is free which was refreshing for NZ where everywhere charges for it. Facilities were clean and hostel is well located. Only downside is no lockers to store valuables.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. Your thoughts are important to us. We are glad that you had a good stay with us. No we do not have any lockers in the rooms but we have never had a problem as we do not let any one in the hostel that is not staying here.We do have a room that we can store valuables for people if needed. We hope the rest of you stay in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Enjoyed a night at this hostel. Has big DVD collection which was nice as rained while we were there! Staff friendly and rooms nice and spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time with us here in Hokitika. Yes some times the problem is finding a movie you want to watch with such a large selection. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.