Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 141 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Mountain Jade Backpackers Located at 41 Weld Street, , Hokitika.
Mountain Jade Backpackers
New Zealand
Hokitika 7900 41 Weld Street
93% 141
-42.7184528 170.9637451
Mountain Jade Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Dec 2016
9.7

We had a really good stay in this hostel. The man and woman who manage the hostel are really friendly and happy to help. The hostel has a homely feel and the kitchen is well equipped (except a tin opener!). The wifi is fast. Overall this hostel is great value for money, we enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night. The only down side is that the bunk beds are very creaky.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.0

This place was just fine for one night! Big common room to hang out. Wifi is free which was refreshing for NZ where everywhere charges for it. Facilities were clean and hostel is well located. Only downside is no lockers to store valuables.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Nov 2016
8.3

Enjoyed a night at this hostel. Has big DVD collection which was nice as rained while we were there! Staff friendly and rooms nice and spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking the time to post a review of us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time with us here in Hokitika. Yes some times the problem is finding a movie you want to watch with such a large selection. We hope you have a great time in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Nov 2016
10.0

Great time at Mountain Jade Backpackers, the facilities were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi we are really glad that you enjoyed the facilities and had a great time with us here in Hokitika. We hope you have more of the same on your stay in New Zealand. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Good place to stay! Would stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a good stay with us here and we look forward to seeing you again some time. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
10.0

The location is in the heart of the town and the isite is just beside. Well it is not hard to find the green building in center of a small town. The receptionist is very nice as he shows us around the facility inside. The room is quite small but who's care as long as the bed is comfy. The toilet and shower is clean and the hot water is awesomely working. The kitchen is clean and fully facilitate. Free tee, sugar and some seasoning. Overall it is a nice stay for one night in a small quite town.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review,We are very glad that you had a great stay with us and that you had a good night's sleep. We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Oct 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel, only complaint could be bedside lights so you don't always need the main lights on. Staff lovely and friendly though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are very happy that you had a great time with us her. The female dorm does have a extra light by the beds around the corner if needed. We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is great. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Sep 2016
9.1

Super Hostel in guter Lage. Mitarbeiter sind sehr freundlich und versuchen dir jede Frage zu beantworten. 👍🏼

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review your comments are important to us. We are glad that you had a great stay with us here and hope that you got to see all the sight's that Hokitika has to offer. We hope the rest of you stay in New Zealand is as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.6

If you travel to Hokitika, here is a great place to relax.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we are happy that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika. We hope the rest of your travels around New Zealand are the same. Safe travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.7

Absolutely splendid! Great value!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review we do like to hear back from our customers. We are very pleased that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika and hope the rest of your travels are as good in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.