Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain Jade Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 191 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Mar 2017
9.4

Great. Better bunks would be better.....getting to top bunk is an earthshaking event for bottom person.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review. We do take everyone's comments in to consideration and we will look into the bunks to see if we can make them a bit more stable. We hope you have a great trip. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Mar 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel in a really nice area, great wifi, unlimited, which was great and everything was really clean. Seemed like quite a new hostel but only 2 toilets so that could get quite annoying but overall a great hostel and would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review, We are very happy that you had a good time with us and hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Feb 2017
8.6

A very nice place to stay. It's right in town and very easy to find. Our room was cosy and clean and there is a nice communal area. The staff were very friendly and had lots of helpful tips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • lhooiweng6345
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.4

Big kitchen! We got a high ceiling dorm! What a special place to stay. Is even nice to stay when is cold outside. A place that will recommend to my friends.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for you great review we are very happy that you had a good time with us here. We hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

2nd Feb 2017
8.3

Nice place, near the center of town (not that that's hard, it's a small town) with friendly staff and guests. Security was a bit dodgy, since there were no lockers and you could only lock it by pushing the button on the knob on the inside, so most people just didn't lock it at all. Otherwise, a fine place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi We are glad that you had a good stay with us here. We have never had any trouble with security at all as we do not allow any one in the hostel that is not staying with us. It is up to the people staying in the room to lock the door when they leave as every one staying has a key. We hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is as Good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
8.6

The dude who looks after this place is so sound. Very helpful and informative. Excellent location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review of us your comments are always welcome. We are glad that you had a good stay with us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers and hope the rest of your trip is the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing little hostel, really loved it. Big rooms, amazing showers, lovely staff. Can't fault the location of the hostel but if travelling with no car Hokitika doesn't have tonnes to do especially when the museum is closed... but atmosphere and layout is so great I managed to tag along to the gorge, falls etc with different people I met. Would really recommend this place for a short stop, especially for solo travellers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your awesome review. We are glad that you had a great relaxing stay with us here in Hokitika. We try to get people to interact with others staying in the hostel as any one with transport is normally going out to all of the wonderful sights to see that are here. We hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand are as good. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • edoxxa
  • Netherlands, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jan 2017
9.7

Very nice place. For the change nice furniture and a very clean kitchen. Nice and we'll informed host. A lot of value for your money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your awesome review we are very pleased that you had a great time with us here in Hokitika. We try to make things as chilled out as we can for everyone. We hope that you have a great time with the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel in a lovely little town. Nice for a one night stop over. Maybe they could have had lockers in rooms for personal belongings. Good atmosphere here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review and for your comments. No we don't have any lockers at the moment but we are thinking of ways to add them in without taking up too much space. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and hope the rest of your travels are the same. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Jan 2017
9.4

Nice place to stay! A lot of equippt in the kitchen!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you had a good stay with us here at Mountain Jade Backpackers and hope the rest of your stay is the same in New Zealand. Safe Travels Mountain Jade Backpackers

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.