Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain View Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 251 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.7

We enjoyed our stay here, the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is good, only a short walk to the lake. Our room was a little small and crowded when the beds were all full, however there was a cupboard space big enough for everyone's belongings. The laundry was out of bounds between 8-1 for the hostel to use, which wasn't great as there were a lot of us there so you were constantly queuing for one of the two washing machines, the plus side is they were only $2 to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, Thanks for your feedback. We understand it is a bit tricky with the laundry, but all our sheets and duvet covers and pillow slips are washed here and dried in the sun! rather than in big commercial laundries. We have however just invested in a brand new washer drier machine that is super fast. Its very exciting... we even painted the laundry bright blue. There is a large laundrymat 100 metres away from us at the Caltex petrol station for people who need to get their washing done in the morning.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Good location and very helpful staff, a homely hostel wish could have stayed there longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
31st Jan 2017
8.3

We had a great stay at moutain view, a nice change from big chain hostels. It felt homely and not overcrowded which was lovely and was a great location, a short walk from the lake and front. Sarah was very welcoming and helpful throughout. Would definitely recommend as a good value hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Oh thanks for your nice comments :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
27th Jan 2017
7.4

Hostel is in a nice location and has a great outdoor area and small but cosy lounge. Room was good but a bit cramped. Only major let down is the showers are terrible, not designed well at all and didn't feel the cleanest. But overall is a nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI thanks for your feedback. You will be glad to know that fixing the bathrooms/showers is one of our main priorities for us this year. We just took over this business in Sept 2016, and bathrooms are a high priority. We have this summer replaced old dim bathroomlights with LED lights and new tapware..currently fixing toilet doors... check our facebook page for photos of improvements...

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

The staff were absolutely fantastic!!! They were unbelievably helpful and supportive during my stay. Nice cosy atmosphere, great for meeting new travel buddies and seconds away from an awesome lookout over Lake Wanaka and surroundings! Would definitely stay there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your awesome kind words. We are working hard to improve and clean up this cool little hostel and when myself and my staff get to read comments like yours it makes us feel happy and proud and realise that our efforts are noticed! Come back!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

The staff was really helpful and friendly and even though I stayed only 1 night there was quite a nice atmosphere in the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. Come back and stay longer.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Nov 2016
9.7

The new owner is very wonderful :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

:) :) :) aw thanks.

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Nov 2016
7.4

Bathroom is a bit tough to enjoy. Good thing is the hostel has a very good view to the snow capped mountains

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, thanks for your comments. The bathrooms are currently starting to be fixed up. It is an area that we realize needs updating. So far this busy summer we have managed new taps, new lights, and better privacy in the toilets with new toilet doors.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.