Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain View Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 296 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2017
8.0

Bathroom facilities weren't great (low water pressure, outside dorm ones smelled a bit) and the kitchen was small but they were kept very clean. The rooms were warm and the beds were decent. The drying room was great for snow gear, and they have a solid movie collection for a rainy day. Best part of the place was the staff though, I'd stay there again just because of them. Overall good place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your great words about our staff and the cleanliness. Its awesome being able to tell them that the guests Do notice and that it is super important to make the effort. Then i get to show them these appreciative great reviews. Here at Mt View, we are slowly fixing lots of things. Bathrooms and water pressure are high on the list and have already seen a lot of attention in our 10 months of ownership. We have a few more goals to achieve in the next couple of months... warmer drier bathrooms with better pressure... :) Please do come back.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2017
9.1

Small yet super relaxed hostel and very close to town. Facilities were clean and the staff are friendly. Good place to stay with the lookout being on a short walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI thanks for enjoying our hostel and its close proximity to town and the lookout. Come back in the summer and enjoy our awesome garden to relax in.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.1

Clean, well equipped and friendly hostel. Only downside is the minimum 400mb of internet per day, and it didn't reach the rooms. Would stay again though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, thanks for coming to stay in our hostel. We don't give unlimited wifi as we find it changes the energy of the hostel. As a small hostel its much nicer when people chat and take part in hostel living rather than all having their heads in their devices. We strive to keep our hostel clean and we also are investing in it to making it a better equipped hostel. When you come back you will be able to see changes. thanks.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Fab little hostel - has a family feel as it's quite small, everything you need in the kitchen/lounge and a nice little outdoor area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wicked, Thanks for your great remarks. Come and stay again.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Slightly low score on security because when going from the private 2-bed suite to the shared bathroom, one can't lock the suite behind him.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Decent hostel , great location close to the lake and shops/restaurants as well as the kayaking school .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated how close we are to everything.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
5.7

Kitchen dirty and cold. Co-ed bathroom with only two toilets and two showers with poor water pressure that ran cold Very small common area Zero charm Whole facility needs renovation

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I am saddened that when you checked out you didn't convey any of this to me. I could of easily explained to you that we have taken over this business 6 months ago. In that time we have replaced a lot of things and done a lot of tidying. This project is nowhere near finished. The water pressure is an area that is of high importance to us here in Wanaka. When you take over an existing business with advance bookings, its very hard to completely close off a bathroom to fix it. You will be glad to know that the fire has had its annual check and is now roaring daily. Next time you come to stay you will be able to see the changes and improvements. Thanks.

25th Mar 2017
8.0

Great backpackers a bit of a walk from the city. Rooms are clean and love the TV room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
5.4

Unfortunately the nice place lacks of atmosphere because of the owner. She is around all the time watching people. In total not very helpful and friendly. Obsessed by the house rules. Dont come in before check in time. You are not welcome. Even in community areas. Never had such an experience. Even wifi was refused just 2 hours before check in time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI thanks for your feedback. We are a really small hostel . I am sure that in your travels you have found that most accommodation places have a check in time. This is so we can get the place cleaned and ready for the next guests. With peak tourist season we have to adhere to this otherwise it becomes impossible to get anything done. I am sorry if this offended you. Designated check in and check out times are standard practise around the world. We also have to abide by our local legislations and fire regulations that only allow us the people whom are staying to be onsite. We always allow people to put their gear in our storage and then ask them to come back for check in. I hope the rest of your travels in NZ were good.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Mar 2017
6.0

Cute little hostel in Wanaka and just a short walk to the lake. Was fine for one night's stay but no lockers in room and door was not always locked by other roommates so security was dubious. Nice hangout lounge by kitchen but kitchen wasn't very clean and there was a very bad smell in there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.