Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain View Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.9
Mountain View Backpackers Located at 7 Russell Street, , Wanaka.
Mountain View Backpackers
New Zealand
Wanaka 9305 7 Russell Street
77% 223
-44.6954438 169.1395854
Mountain View Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Good stuff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.3

Nice hostel for cheap price. Close to town and nice living area/ area outside what would be great in the summer I can imagine! Only stayed one night so can't give much more than that!! Wanaka Is AMAZING!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
2.3

very unclean, not very nice staff, bad room mates. spent 1 night here and left. needs to be cleaned, tidy. kitchen and lounge was an absolute mess. would not recommend this place. not worth 30 bucks a night!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jul 2016
6.9

Nice rooms. Close to centre of town. Shower pressure was terrible though. Almost zero hot water pressure. Only two showers and toilets for the whole facility

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
4.9

The staff was friendly, however it seemed as though most of the other travellers were staying / had been staying more long term so the room was quite messy, smelly and lived in... The bathrooms were pretty dirty and kitchen was not very clean. However bedding was fine.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
6.0

Shower pressure is pretty bad especially if both showers are used at the same time. The wifi only works in the common room and you only get 200mb. I think the common room is supposed to be quiet at some point, but there were drunk people making a ton of noise until about midnight. They also charge $10 if you want to stay at all past 10 am after checkout, which is just ridiculous.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Mar 2016
7.7

We had a good time at the hostel, but you should know a couple of things before making a booking- 1- the bathrooms/showers are shared 2- the water ran cold every two minutes... 3- the wifi is supposedly 200 mb a night but mine stopped working after much less usage Other than that- no complaints :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2016
9.1

The staff was really nice and the whole place quite comfy. The kitchen and common area aren't very big but have a nice and cosy feeling to it. cool backyard with picnic tables. 5 minutes walk from everything in town. I wanted to stay longer but had to change my plans last minute, I would definitely stay there again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2016
7.4

The manager was very welcoming, and answered any question we had. Nice roomy bedroom and great backyard. Kitchen was clean and lounge was nice. Loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Mar 2016
9.4

You get coupons of 200mb internet every day, just a minor detail. Kitchen has everything you need. The beds were good and the staff were nice. I had a very nice stay there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.