Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountain View Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 284 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
9.7

Fab little hostel - has a family feel as it's quite small, everything you need in the kitchen/lounge and a nice little outdoor area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Wicked, Thanks for your great remarks. Come and stay again.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.7

Slightly low score on security because when going from the private 2-bed suite to the shared bathroom, one can't lock the suite behind him.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.4

Decent hostel , great location close to the lake and shops/restaurants as well as the kayaking school .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated how close we are to everything.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
5.7

Kitchen dirty and cold. Co-ed bathroom with only two toilets and two showers with poor water pressure that ran cold Very small common area Zero charm Whole facility needs renovation

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I am saddened that when you checked out you didn't convey any of this to me. I could of easily explained to you that we have taken over this business 6 months ago. In that time we have replaced a lot of things and done a lot of tidying. This project is nowhere near finished. The water pressure is an area that is of high importance to us here in Wanaka. When you take over an existing business with advance bookings, its very hard to completely close off a bathroom to fix it. You will be glad to know that the fire has had its annual check and is now roaring daily. Next time you come to stay you will be able to see the changes and improvements. Thanks.

25th Mar 2017
8.0

Great backpackers a bit of a walk from the city. Rooms are clean and love the TV room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
5.4

Unfortunately the nice place lacks of atmosphere because of the owner. She is around all the time watching people. In total not very helpful and friendly. Obsessed by the house rules. Dont come in before check in time. You are not welcome. Even in community areas. Never had such an experience. Even wifi was refused just 2 hours before check in time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI thanks for your feedback. We are a really small hostel . I am sure that in your travels you have found that most accommodation places have a check in time. This is so we can get the place cleaned and ready for the next guests. With peak tourist season we have to adhere to this otherwise it becomes impossible to get anything done. I am sorry if this offended you. Designated check in and check out times are standard practise around the world. We also have to abide by our local legislations and fire regulations that only allow us the people whom are staying to be onsite. We always allow people to put their gear in our storage and then ask them to come back for check in. I hope the rest of your travels in NZ were good.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
13th Mar 2017
6.0

Cute little hostel in Wanaka and just a short walk to the lake. Was fine for one night's stay but no lockers in room and door was not always locked by other roommates so security was dubious. Nice hangout lounge by kitchen but kitchen wasn't very clean and there was a very bad smell in there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2017
9.1

Very great staff, super friendly, chilled out atmosphere. Nothing negative to say!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
6.6

Nice beds with room quite clean. Kitchen was clean as well. Location good as close to most things around. Staff were not that sociable and not much atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately that weekend I had sick staff and I was away. My staff work hard at the backpackers and they also all maintain other jobs in town. It was a super busy weekend in town, as it was Wanaka Show weekend which means most business's in town are stretched staff wise. Hoooray the place was clean and you found the bed comfy!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
4.0

I am surprised by how highly rated this hostel is. - Kitchen and bathrooms were very dirty, they did not seem to be cleaned for the duration of our stay (2 nights) - Kitchen had a lot of flies - Bathrooms smelled bad, clearly there is a problem with the drains - WiFi is only accessible in the communal areas + Location was good and central + There was a nice size garden with plenty of space to eat + Staff were friendly people + There was a secure locker room to keep our bags in after check-out

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI, I am really sorry you had this experience. We have been working hard to improve this hostel. The staff are fantastic and some days when its super busy with turn over its hard to keep the place clean constantly. We are aware that the bathrooms need attention it is on our hit list of things to improve. We are happy you enjoyed our garden!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.