X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mountbatten Hotel Reviews

701 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
513 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

A decent hostel in a convenient spot along George Street, close to plenty of cheap eats and central station. The room I stayed in (number 7) has a window facing out into a courtyard which is supposed to be closed after a certain time, it wasn't, and Saturday night revellers from the hostel stayed out there all night and made a noise. A per bed light would also be a useful thing - our room just had the one very bright fluro, not so convenient at night when some are sleeping and some are not.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The place was alright, I liked the diner/lounge since it had a wooden table I used to study some of the time. The safety, cleanliness and overall atmosphere was good enough, not a party hostel but a nice one to be in. The breakfast was good, better than in other places, the facilities -with exception of the courtyard- were always clean. The drawbacks are the lack of signs to indicate were the hostel is (it was really hard to find, I walked past it twice) and them charging for everything..


83%

Nice place to stay. Staff very friendly. Breakfast is a good inclusion and the pillows are brilliant. Strange no alcohol rule though and the bathrooms are a bit small.


89%

It was a lovely hostel , the staff were so helpful and friendly , kitchen are is great like being at home ! Just a very cosy and friendly place ! lOVED It

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Very run down, poor ablution facilities and the stated continental breakfast consisted of one loaf of bread and bottle of milk left out in the morning.


54%

Bathrooms soaking wet all the time. Not enough toilets. Wifi fee is high and it doesn't work upstairs. No airport transport (even though it says yes online). No air conditioning or fans, very loud street with window open. Hard to find. Tv doesn't work (not cable). Breakfast small and dirty kitchen. Smoking right off kitchen. Clean early (very loud at 6 am).

  • 26th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I didn't like the smoking just outside the eating room. Otherewise it's was a big room. Quite clean. Free Wifi only with hostel computer.

  • 21st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed there 2 nights while visiting Sydney and the location was great thanks to the nearby train station (most of the attractions were accessible by foot as well). The hotel was clean and there was a nice breakfast. What is more the staff was really helpful, regarding to information about the city, cheap luggage storage and forgotten objects.


89%

A good, more quiet hostel in the city centre. The 8 bed dorm was spacious and the bed comfortable. The hostel is very clean, both the kitchen and the toilets are kept really clean. I stayed at the hostel when it wasn't very busy so the facilities were enough. But when it is busy the few toilets and showers might not be enough. The kitchen is also very small and the cooking equipment not too many. Coffee, tea and breakfast is served everyday which is a plus. The staff is very nice!


66%

don't have wifi. it's very difficult when i study

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

I arrived late and left early, some stress involved with checking in/out and leaving baggage for the day, but was able to have this sorted out with after hours barstaff and cleaner. The breakfast was good for a basic hostel but mattress (10 bed dorm) super hard a and uncomfortable. Bathrooms good size but could have been cleaner for the price

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

i rang the hotel and cancelled my booking a few days before the booking date .I asked the lady if i had to ring hostelworld and she said she would let you know . I hope you don`t charge my card for the night I didn`t stay .I will be booking again fairly soon . Cheers ,Harry


86%

A nice, quiet place to stay in a great location for exploring Sydney. Lots of long term residents which made for a quiet atmosphere which was exactly what we wanted. We had a room facing the main street so it was quite noisy at night - maybe ask for a quieter room if you're a light sleeper. Everything was reasonably clean and the facilities were totally fine for a brief stay.


69%

I would have stayed here again, as it's generally quiet and decent value for money, - if it wasn't for the giant flat screen TVs in the dorms. Really don't want to negotiate tv times with roommates!

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I've stayed here a few times. Very relaxed, more of a live in hostel with a fair few long termers around. I've only ever stayed on short trips though and still made a lot of very good long term friends. Very basic facilities and not a huge population, but I still really enjoy revisiting, If you want to get Shitface McDrunk every night maybe not your style, if you're a little more moderate but still want the odd night out this place is perfect

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback