Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mountbatten Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 624 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Mar 2017
3.7

It was so dirty all over the hostel and the beds were so bad. I tried to stay positive, but it was really hard.. Good thing: location 👍🏼

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
8.0

Pro: Good location, free breakfast, hot and powerful water, clean facilities, strong free wifi, good security Cons: climbing beds on 2nd floor makes sound, receptionist is kinda strict

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Feb 2017
9.7

Really lovely and helpful girl running reception. Had everything I needed. 20 minute brisk walk to the Sydney Harbour

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
4.3

Do not stay here. Been all around Asia and Aus and this is by far the worst hostel we stayed at. The rooms are disgusting, there's a lot of people living in the rooms and working, meaning there's zero atmosphere and their clothes and stuff is everywhere. It's really noisy and all the rooms are left open so security is questionable. It may be a bit cheaper than surrounding hostels, but keep your sanity and pay the extra bit. On a positive, staff were friendly and helpful, but that's about it!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
4.9

The room was not very clean, which is to be expected if youre staying at a hostel. However the reason this place deserves a -10 in cleanliness was that we saw huge cockroaches in the kitchen, running across the floor and hiding in cupboards. The people hanging in the yard were shady to say the least and most of the staff seemed like they gave no shits. The "cleaning" guy pulled the fridge in the morning and there was a thick layer of dead rotting food under there, he just didnt clean it. Avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
6.9

Good location. A few long termers and facilities not the best. But reasonable value for Sydney. Not many restrooms and the kitchen wasn't the best.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • KarlTravel2016
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
4th Jan 2017
6.9

Its a good place to stay when you first arrive in Sydney and get your bearings before you move on. Basic facilities but the fully equipped kitchen is a bonus. Beds are OK. Best aspect about this place is the location - 15 mins ish walk from darling harbour etc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.1

Fantastic base for NYE. Staff were very good. Suited our needs perfectly. No aircon, only fans, could've done with more than one!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel was very nice and within walking distance to all of the sights. It was clean and we always felt that our things were safe

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
8.0

The hostel felt pretty safe, the building is always locked. All the other guests and staff were friendly. If you want to walk to the Rocks or Sydney Opera House it's only a thirty minute walk down George Street which is a pretty interesting walk. Something that was disappointing was the free breakfast - it was just a loaf of white bread and a jar of peanut butter and jelly, plus a cereal option. I don't know, I personally enjoy more nutritious breakfasts so that didn't cut it for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.