X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Moustache Hostel Reviews

S-25, Greater Kailash Part 1, New Delhi, India

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
188 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Loved this Hostel, one of the best in India. Had a kitchen, comfortable beds, great chill out area and location is near lots of restaurants, shops and a couple of great bars were we spend some time smoking shisha and drinking local beers with fellow backpackers. This hostel was recommend to us by other backpackers and I recommend it to you. Great for a long period of stay, very comfortable that we didn't want to leave. Highly recommended for Dehli! www.theworldunderourfeet.com


94%

The breakfast room/ library and the terrace are great places to meet people. The location in Kalaish Colony is great also. As a female traveller I was first a bit concerned about walking around on my own but the neighborhood is very safe and with a short rikshadrive to the metro it is very easy to get to the main sights in Delhi. The hostel is also excellent in giving approximations of how much you should pay.I very much enjoyed my stay at Moustache Hostel and would definitely stay there again.


83%

Super facilities. Free breakfast, wifi everywhere, plugs, light and locker in room. 10 minute walk from metro. They give u a very useful information sheet. The big negative for me was the staff. It was the same member working there every time (small young looking guy). Always felt like i was putting him out asking a question. Anytime i asked for any advice he just told me to look at the sheet! I was only there for two days so i wanted some local info! He was so unhelpful and rude!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thanks for your glowing review of the facilities and location of the hostel! We apologise for the experience you had with our staff. We believe this was a one-off experience caused by miscommunication and not due to an intent or failure to provide good service. We'll chat with the staff about your experience and make sure it doesn't happen again. Safe travels!

89%

Really great place to stay, especially for solo travelers. It was nice to come back after a day of exploring and find plenty of people with whom to socialize. I tended to wake up early because it was hard to sleep with everyone shuffling around after 7:30 am, but it was hardly an issue since there's a lot to do in Delhi.


97%

Great hostel. More activities would be nice.


94%

The Hostel rates with the better of the hostels that I have been to in the world. The staff is great, very helpful, and very knowledgable when looking for the better sights in Delhi. I would stay here again with no question.


77%

Has a travel desk which is very helpful regarding planning the remainder of your India travels. Staff are happy to answer any questions you have and can help out with sight seeing throughout delhi.


91%

A great hostel. Met a lot of backpackers here. Great vibes and very clean. I stayed here for a night to get a break from thr busy side of delhi .

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to meet like minded travellers and relax from the Delhi madness


100%

BEST PLACE TO STAY IN DELHI!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Amazing hostel! Staffed with lovely, helpful people and in a quiet, safe neighbourhood of Delhi away from the chaos (but walking distance from the metro so the city is easily accessible). Hostel itself is very well kept, has a great communal kitchen, and a great backpacker atmosphere. You'll meet lots of fellow travellers here and are sure to have a good time!


77%

Great hostel for meeting other travellers & getting first- hand info. Staff are pretty good but MD at reception is really good, he goes above & beyond the call. Nothing is too much trouble, well done! Breakfast is included, good communal area. Bunks are big & comfy with private light, private fan & power points. Female dorm has no air-con. And there was no hot water, it was being fixed. For the price of $12, l expected better. All round a good stay & a nice retreat from the chaos of Delhi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel! We're sorry about the hot water situation. The geyser in your bathroom died and it took us a couple of days to fix it. It's back to normal now. Our a/c dorms are separate and you booked the cheaper non-a/c female dorm so your dorm had no a/c - only an air cooler and a fan. Safe travel onwards!

71%

Nice staff and a travel deskl that can help with trip/transportation bookings (highly recommended..spend a few Rs to save some major hassle at the train station). The a/c room was a welcome break from heat; sheets/pillow provided, though cleanliness of room and bathroom was just average...probably above average for India though. Washing machine use on site for Rs200, included breakfast is just toast and bananas with tea/coffee. Met awesome travelers here - they were the best part of my visit!


94%

A great hostel with a very open atmosphere. The hostel staff at the front desk is very helpful and always ready to have a talk. Also the night guard is very kind and patient. The facilities are comfy. It's close to a convenient market and a short walk through a secure neighbourhood to the metro station. The taxi they can organise for you is always on time. We stayed in the upstairs double room and then switched to a mixed dorm, both were really good.Thanks for providing this oasis in crazy Dehli


77%

Friendly and helpful staff. Dirty bathrooms with no hot water! NO AC IN ROOMS!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Lukasz, thanks for your review! We apologise that the cleanliness of the hostel wasn't up to your satisfaction. We will try to do a better job with that. There was no a/c in your room because you booked a non-a/c room. A/c rooms (the 'deluxe' dorms) are indeed available at the hostel. Hot water is available too if you switch on the hot water geyser which we don't leave switched on all day because it's summer here (which explains the need for a/cs). Safe travels!

86%

Nice place in a nice location, calmer than the rest of the city. The staff is very supportive with answering all your questions and providing maps, emails and tips to what do to in delhi. People are very friendly. The hostel provides a nice atmosphere to relax and survive in Delhi.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed staying at this hostel! Raj the security guard / chai master has the most contagious smile and is always willing to help. The facilities are good (bed / storage / Internet). Will definitely stay here again!


100%

Best place ever! It just fells like home! The staf is really nice, especially Anwy who always makes sure everyone is good and doesn't feel alone. As someone wrote it on the wall of the hostel, this place keeps us comming back!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I loved my stay here. The staff are amazing!


80%

Good hostel and very well looked after. Its just a shame that the travel company is based inside the hostel and the hostel doesn't help with train tickets.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, we're glad you enjoyed your stay here! India has the world's largest train network and its most complicated one too with different trains (slow, fast, express), different classes in each train, and different booking quotas (incl. the tourist quota) not to mention all the different places you can go to from Delhi. If we did train bookings, we won't be able to run a hostel. This is why we have a travel desk on site to help you with your travel needs. Hope you understand. Safe travels!

(63 results)


View all New Delhi Hostels

Please give us your feedback