Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt Cook Lodge & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Mar 2017
10.0

The place is absolutely astonishing!!! Impressive and beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in a 4-beds mixed room. Overall the room was a little old and not too spacious, but was generally clean and served its purpose. The metal bunk beds were loud and shaky though, not ideal if you are a light sleeper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • EHE1412
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.4

Located about 10-minutes walk to the Hermitage Hotel but they provide free return shuttles, which was great. Booked a 4-bed mixed dorm with ensuite bathroom, room and bathroom were clean and quite spacious. The view would have been amazing had it not been raining and cloudy all the time I was there! There's not many options for food and restaurant was a tad pricey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Well appointed room. Facilities clean. Bed comfortable. Beautiful scenery from our window. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
8.6

Clean and spacious dorm rooms, amazing views, and helpful staff. A tad expensive but when you see the views it all becomes worth it! Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Amazing Location, Terrible Beds! Pulling into Mt. lodge was very refreshing, the view was amazing. The lodge it's self is very nice with a semi restaurant and big bar. They had "bar games"..(pool, darts, etc...) which were fun. The eating area was great will big windows that showed Mt Cook. The property is amazing but my only complaint is the beds. The beds were terrible (super thin). If they changed the beds hands down they would be better than the hotel next door! Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
7.4

Nice place to stay! Clean rooms and bathrooms, nice with a bathtub in the room. Nice restaurant and good good, it's a little pricy the food, it's a bit far to walk to the walking tracks for Mt Cook, takes about 30 min. Other then that it was okay. Most of the staff are nice and friendly, few of them didn't seem like they like their job and also didn't listen when I tried to ask about small things.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
10.0

This is the best hostel ever!! I wish I could stay here for longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Good place. Nice staff. Common kitchen was a bit quiet. Thought it will be crowded with people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
7.7

Bit pricey but a very nice place. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with en suite and balcony. Was very clean, great food in the restaurant, 10 min walk to the Hermitage Hotel and coach park, would stay again despite having no lockers in the dorm room for valuables.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.