Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt Cook Lodge & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 188 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
7.1

Very basic shared room, not very comfy beds or sheets. Nice bar and dining area but the communal kitchen isn't very nice even though it has most things you need to cook.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Apr 2017
6.9

The view from the restaurant is great. The price for the food served in the restaurant is reasonable. However, the bunk bed was old and was so noisy for every single move. The kitchen was dirty during peak hours. Besides, the wifi is not provided free. Anyway, generally it was still acceptable to have one or two nights there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jeanettechng
  • Singapore, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

The location of was fantastic, right smack in the middle! We were a group of 3 in a 4 bed dorm. Having a toilet in the room for ourselves was fantastic! Parking was sufficient as well. Only complaint was prolly the communal kitchen. Although there were 4 stoves to be used. 2 of it was not functioning very well. There were sufficient plates bowls and all tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
6.3

Welcome staff at the reception was rude & not helpful at all. Otherwise motel/hostel was fairly good. Their bar had the most amazing view, food was ok & staff at the bar was friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.0

You have to pay in order to have wifi. And btw it's so slow you can't even use it. So overrated.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
6.6

Room is abit dingy and AC and fridge were not functioning properly. The fridge froze all the food we brought in and as vegans we were left without many options for food in Mount Cook. The front staff and bar man were surly. However the chef was exceptionally good and went out of his way to cook a great meal for us. While there are very limited options in Mount Cook, we would recommend seeking another hotel in Mount Cook if possible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
7.1

I thought the place was ok but a bit more expensive than most places I booked for, for the rest of my trip. I guess because of the location. Complaint just about how squeaky the floors were and that the toilets maybe or the kitchen but there was a slight stench for the entire time I was there. Decent place overall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I've stayed at, only four to a room with your private bathroom and balcony and super helpful front desk staff. Signage needs to be clearer as this is a bit difficult to find but wow the views!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
10.0

The place is absolutely astonishing!!! Impressive and beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in a 4-beds mixed room. Overall the room was a little old and not too spacious, but was generally clean and served its purpose. The metal bunk beds were loud and shaky though, not ideal if you are a light sleeper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.