Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt Cook Lodge & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
6.3

Welcome staff at the reception was rude & not helpful at all. Otherwise motel/hostel was fairly good. Their bar had the most amazing view, food was ok & staff at the bar was friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
6.0

You have to pay in order to have wifi. And btw it's so slow you can't even use it. So overrated.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2017
6.6

Room is abit dingy and AC and fridge were not functioning properly. The fridge froze all the food we brought in and as vegans we were left without many options for food in Mount Cook. The front staff and bar man were surly. However the chef was exceptionally good and went out of his way to cook a great meal for us. While there are very limited options in Mount Cook, we would recommend seeking another hotel in Mount Cook if possible.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
7.1

I thought the place was ok but a bit more expensive than most places I booked for, for the rest of my trip. I guess because of the location. Complaint just about how squeaky the floors were and that the toilets maybe or the kitchen but there was a slight stench for the entire time I was there. Decent place overall

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
10.0

The place is absolutely astonishing!!! Impressive and beautiful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in a 4-beds mixed room. Overall the room was a little old and not too spacious, but was generally clean and served its purpose. The metal bunk beds were loud and shaky though, not ideal if you are a light sleeper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • EHE1412
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Mar 2017
7.4

Located about 10-minutes walk to the Hermitage Hotel but they provide free return shuttles, which was great. Booked a 4-bed mixed dorm with ensuite bathroom, room and bathroom were clean and quite spacious. The view would have been amazing had it not been raining and cloudy all the time I was there! There's not many options for food and restaurant was a tad pricey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Well appointed room. Facilities clean. Bed comfortable. Beautiful scenery from our window. Loved it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Feb 2017
8.6

Clean and spacious dorm rooms, amazing views, and helpful staff. A tad expensive but when you see the views it all becomes worth it! Would recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Amazing Location, Terrible Beds! Pulling into Mt. lodge was very refreshing, the view was amazing. The lodge it's self is very nice with a semi restaurant and big bar. They had "bar games"..(pool, darts, etc...) which were fun. The eating area was great will big windows that showed Mt Cook. The property is amazing but my only complaint is the beds. The beds were terrible (super thin). If they changed the beds hands down they would be better than the hotel next door! Would stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.