Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt Cook Lodge & Motels

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 204 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
6.3

Overall, the place was nice conveniently located nearby all tracks. The staff was friendly enough, and the lobby was nice and there is a free shuttle. Was not expecting to pay for wifi, and the kitchen was not clean. Not the cosiest of all places either...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.4

A wonderfully warm apartment, great place and view, stunning powerful mountains, staff friendly and helpful, we would definatly stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
7.7

Generally good. Just that communal kitchen is a bit too far from rooms and not accessible 24 hrs. Clean rooms and nice view from room. Kitchen has also most of the cooking utensils and cutlery. Staff is friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
4.0

During my 4 weeks in New Zealand by far the worst hostel (yet the most expensive). For the first time, I had the feeling that the staff doesn't care about the traveller but only profits. It was really uncomfortable without a lounge or other place to get together in the evening except for the expensive bar where you had to buy dinner or drinks. The kitchen was poorly equipped. Kitchen and bathroom also weren't very clean. No free WiFi ($5 for 24h).

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
6.0

This was a very clean hostel. However, I was unimpressed with the facilities - Beds were of a poor quality, no towels, no free wi fi, no coffee/ tea or salt/pepper in the communal kitchen. The lodge also does not serve breakfast or lunch and just dinner at an extortionate price between 5:30pm and 9:30pm. We ended up having to make our way to the Hermitage hotel if we wanted to eat breakfast/lunch or even to buy groceries. The pub and staff were nice but I feel it was unnecessarily overpriced.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
3.4

facilities were awful, kitchen not suitable for backpackers no oven and very little equipment. Bedroom was badly organised with a very cheap bunk bed with a terrible mattress. The beds made so much noise when people moved in them. Room was cold and dirty and the bathroom was a mess and not stocked up before arrival.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
6.9

Room a little run down otherwise good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
9.7

I enjoyed my time. I wish we stayed longer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hokyung
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jun 2017
8.0

It was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2017
8.3

Super nice stay! I can understand why the cost is so high to stay compared to other hostels other places. The 4 bed dorms are in a hotel room that has bunk beds instead of a normal bed, so you have your own washroom per room and stuff. So it's really nice, but also not really necessary? It's a lovely place though. Short walk to info site and trail heads. Clean rooms, nice staff, good people staying there. Just super nice!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.