Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's

  • 2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 387 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd May 2017
7.7

Good if all you want to do is hike Mt. Fuji. The surrounding area isn't great and the facilities aren't anything to write home about. Staff was helpful and the decent value for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank You for your stay, but I must say our local area has so many things to do outside climbing Mt Fuji. 1. The 5 lakes 2. The best view of Mt Fuji anywhere Churei-toh Pagoda. 3. Fuji-Q-Highland the most exciting amusement park in Japan. 4. Onsens that offers the relaxation of traditional Japan. 5. Mt.Kachi-Kachi Cable Car Great view point of Mt.Fuji and Kawaguchiko lake. 6. Festivals I can go on and on I guess you just did not go out to see our great city and that is really too bad on your part. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location for Mt Fuji. The toilets showers and wash basins were were new and very clean, as were the washing machines. Austin, the evening staff host was very helpful. However the twin room week booked turned out to be two bunk beds in a very small room. Wish that had been specified on the website. No communal space other than an outside verandah. The restaurant across the road was excellent. Went there both nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If you read my website it does say the room is bunk bed. we also say no common room on all my sites. We do have on my 1st floor a cafe & pub. I guess you just did not read my website completely

  • ItsNixxy
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel and awesome view of Mt Fuji!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel. Staff not very welcoming. Wi-Fi not fantastic. Bit of a walk to the station. But overall I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay. The walk to the train station is at most 5 mins if you are going to the bus/train station maybe about 15 mins. My Wi-Fi is super fast so I am not sure why you said wjhat you did or if you had any trouble why you did not tell any of my staff. Again Thank you for your stay please come back again. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel - location is excellent, you have a view of Mt Fuji from the hostel! The staff are so helpful & there's free tea & coffee as well. My only criticism is that the dorm is quite cramped, taking out one bed would make it better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.0

No atmosphere as there was no common area. Average wifi only okay when no 1 else is on it. Good facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff! Limited hot water in showers. Limited space in rooms for bags!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments 1. You say no common room but if you read all my web sites plus here on hostelworld you will see I say very clearly that we have no common room but we do have a cafe & Pub on the 1st floor with a 10% food discount. 2. No atmosphere maybe you just came from Tokyo or a big city like that before coming here but this is Fujiyoshida a small country town but what we do have is Mt Fuji, 5 Great lakes, Fuji-Q-Highland, Hot Baths, Hiking trails I can go on and on but I think you get what I am saying, we lots to do you just need to want to do them. 3. My WIFI is rated for up to 120 users at the same time and I only have 30 beds so that is about 4 devices per person before it will crash so again I am not sure I understand your remark or just maybe it was slow just for that moment but I reset my system almost daily. 4. The hot water again not sure about this remark my hot water system run great now just maybe you tried to take a shower with the outside temp at maybe -5 or lower so yes it may take just a few more sec. to get to the shower head but never is it limited as you say. 5. The bags I have a area to store bags if they are too large for the room so again not sure about this unless you wanted to keep all your bags with you then maybe a little hard to do if all the guests want to do the same thing or you came with 2 or 3 bags yourself. 6. Last thank you for say my staff was very helpful I do have a great staff all year round. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Mar 2017
9.7

Really enjoyed our stay here. Amazingly kind and helpful staff which helped us with everything. Great rooms with super comfortable beds and cozy dining area. The shower and toilet area is also very pleasant and everything was kept perfectly clean. Would definitely stay here again! Thank you 😀 - 6 guys from Sweden

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank You so much for your stay Ethan Bruno and your outstanding review. I hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Please let your friends also know about my hostel. Michael, Owner

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.