X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's Reviews

2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
304 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved my stay! Good location, next to Gekkoji station. The hostel is great, I would have loved to stay in one of the Japanese-style rooms (fully booked), but the other dorms are excellent, with curtains for every bed that ensure a good night sleep. It's true there is no common room in the usual sense, but it's replace by the the owner's pub downstairs: first night I was there I had a beer with a fellow traveler and had a good night with the owner and some locals. Spot-on on everything Michael!


97%

Great hostel!


94%

Enjoyed staying there very much! Will surely stay here again if i come back to Mount Fuji!


89%

Really good stay, nice place and the lakes around Mount Fuji are beautiful


20%

I have to say i am so upset of this hotel that i booking The reason is i lose the train to go to the hotel and my e-mail was not working with some problem, its make i can't to told the hotel that i can't come to them. Then i back to my country and i got the e-mail from the hotel siad that i have to pay all of my booking because i didn't told them that day i can't go. I ans the e-mail back to the hotel as Monday i ready to pay But today the hotel send e-mail to me they can't get my money beca

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry a no show fee is what all hostel/hostels have and I am sorry you say you had trouble with your email, but we emailed the 1st time in June and you never email us back until you were a no show and we were going to charge you a no sown fee. We sent you maybe 3 or 5 emails in July about this it is not our fault that you did not come, but it is your responsibility to let us know that you will cancel or have trouble getting here. Michael, Owner

94%

Great hostel. Michael and the staff are brilliant and knowledgable about the local area and Fuji. Really recommend a stay here.


89%

Very nice place for the money. Good location get to Mount Fuji. Close to a train station and bus stop. Food in the restaurant is excellent.


91%

The place was easy to find. Our luck with the weather wasn't good but the hostel was good but alittle small. though we knew that before getting there. We would stay again and have another go at Mt Fuji


94%

This is the best hostel I've stayed in in terms of comfort/cleanliness and organisation. I really enjoyed it, it was just what I needed after hiking Fuji. The beds are great, everything is so well set out. Free coffee/tea, and the ladies at the front desk helped me out so much, translating heaps of stuff for me to go to the chemist. It's in a quiet town, but there's a really good traditional restaurant directly across the road. I would stay here again if I was in the area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You Jessica for your kind words about my hostel and my staff. Michael, Owner

100%

This is a very clean,comfortable and friendly hostel,within easy walking distance of the train station. Michael's bar downstairs also had a great vibe. I would definitely recommend a stay here.


86%

The hostel is well located, just a five minute walk down from Gekkoji station, with a very nice restaurant directly across the road and a bar (run by the hostel owner) downstairs. The rooms are small but comfortable. There is a mini-kitchen area and laundry services and a communal bathroom section. The staff were very friendly and helpful for tourist information ad there is a wall of ideas and brochures, with an accurate timetable for the trains. If you're planning a visit to Mt Fuji, stay here


74%

Good hostel. Very quiet as I had the whole dorm to myself but I guess I just visited at a quiet time of year. I would stay here again.


77%

Cool hostel with a fun themed bar downstairs. Michael was a great host, was good for a chat and was down for a few drinks! As is the case with many hostels, Michael's page seems to be riddled with negative reviews from idiots who booked without actually reading about the hostel's facilities, location etc. Which is a shame! All round was a great stay, Mt. Fuji was a highlight of our trip.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You James for your comments. I too wish that guests would actually read about my hostel's facilities, location etc... However, smart guests like you can read passed those types of reviews and see that my hostel is really a great place to stay and meet very nice people to include the locals. Thank You your stay with us and hope to see you again James. Michael, Owner

91%

It is a small but well kept and well run hostel. The rooms and facilities were very clean, the staff was friendly, and the lockers and beds were good. Everything was standard or better. Its location was good for going to Fuji Ku Highland amusement park, and you could see Mount Fuji from the town.


74%

Good place for seeing Mt Fuji/lakes, stayed 2 nights, not much else to do so 3 nights would be too much. Space was a little tight and poor ventilation/too enclosed but overall, good facilities, location and staff. Fair internet. Somewhat clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your comments. 2 areas you talked about I like to comment on. 1 - You said, somewhat clean, my staff works very hard to keep my hostel as clean as possible I almost never get anything less than a 5 for being a clean hostel. 2- Fair internet (WiFi) This week I have upgraded my WiFi so that should never be a problem again. My staff is the best any owner could ask for. Thank You again for staying at my hostel. Michael, Owner

60%

Cold unless heat is cranked up and dorm rooms are closed, wi-fi is horrible, 2 showers for 30 beds, no kitchen, no comfortable place to eat, very small dorms. Close to grocer, clerks are helpful for information. Sick people should be made to book private rooms, not put in with everyone else to make them sick too. Won't stay there again when I come back to climb Mt. Fuji.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It sounds like you have never stayed in a hostel before, how can you make sick people stay in a private room when they show up not sick or just not sick at the time? The rooms are very warm or cool you just need to know how to use the system. The WiFi works perfect unless the buffer gets full then we re-boot it and then it's perfect. again. No kitchen or command area is in all my sites so if that is what you wanted check before you book your next hostel. Michael, Owner

91%

One of the best hostel i ever stayed! Keep up the good work! I really like the room and the cleanliness level is awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You for your very kind words. I am very proud of my great staff. Please come and visit us again. Michael, Owner

97%

Amazingly friendly Staffel, Michael can tell you everything about japanese culture and how to solve travelling disasters and evrything in between :) also it s the comfiest place you can wish for esecially if mt. Fuji decides to hide in the clouds.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Very helpful staff, unbelievably clean. Owner is super friendly and has a great bar attached to the place. Only downside is you can hear the bar downstairs through the floor when it gets loud.


69%

It's the worst place if the wheather is bad but possibly good located when wheather is good. Strongly depends ob the people there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your stay here. Sorry about the weather, but that is something no one has control of, however even if the weather is bad we have many great places to see and do like the onsens indoor sites or just relax downstairs in my cafe & pub talking to the locals. Again, Thank you for your stay Michael, Owner

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Mount Fuji Hostels

Please give us your feedback