Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's Reviews

2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained


326 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Owner was very helpful and friendly with finding places to eat and things to do!


Helpful staff, thanks a lot! Generally it is a nice but basic hostel.


This hostel was cramped, even by Japaneses standards, but the friendly staff more than made up for that.

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


Wasent the much. Just checked off my bags mostly and then climed the mounten but it was a nice place easy to find and english speaking staff the lockation was good and nere Fuji. close to one of the lakes to

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


Privacy curtains on each bed, love it! Quite a small hostel, sound is very clearly heard anywhere but the general atmosphere here is pretty quiet. We stayed in a 10 bed dorm, they squished a lot of beds into a tiny room, barely any room to place own luggage. Knowledgeable staff that will help you get to mt. Fuji.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. About the sound that is in most hostels that have dorms, but we do have a quiet time of 12am or midnight and we do have ear plugs for anyone who needs them. We do have places in our hostel to put luggage, but most guests want to keep it with them. Thank You for staying at my hostel. Michael, Owner


Though not exactly conveniently located (a very long walk from Fuji-Yoshida station, and really, it's probably preferable to stay in Kawaguchi-ko), this is an exceptionally nice, clean, and well-run hostel. Recommend highly.


Had a great time when we visited in July, Michael's a top guy and the general atmosphere is really class! Close to the bus service for mount fuji too and just a really quiet nice surrounding town, had a great time and hopefully will return in the not so distant future. :) There's also some really nice restaurants just around the corner abit tucked away which does yakitori!

  • 27th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


Loved my stay! Good location, next to Gekkoji station. The hostel is great, I would have loved to stay in one of the Japanese-style rooms (fully booked), but the other dorms are excellent, with curtains for every bed that ensure a good night sleep. It's true there is no common room in the usual sense, but it's replace by the the owner's pub downstairs: first night I was there I had a beer with a fellow traveler and had a good night with the owner and some locals. Spot-on on everything Michael!


Great hostel!


Enjoyed staying there very much! Will surely stay here again if i come back to Mount Fuji!


A smaller hostel but it was nice.Stayed here with a nice size group for a few days after climbing Fujisan. The staff was always helpful and the down stairs American Style bar was pretty cool. Michael the owner was cool to always chat up with guest. Not far from Fuji Q theme park and other spots of interest.


Really good stay, nice place and the lakes around Mount Fuji are beautiful


I have to say i am so upset of this hotel that i booking The reason is i lose the train to go to the hotel and my e-mail was not working with some problem, its make i can't to told the hotel that i can't come to them. Then i back to my country and i got the e-mail from the hotel siad that i have to pay all of my booking because i didn't told them that day i can't go. I ans the e-mail back to the hotel as Monday i ready to pay But today the hotel send e-mail to me they can't get my money beca

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry a no show fee is what all hostel/hostels have and I am sorry you say you had trouble with your email, but we emailed the 1st time in June and you never email us back until you were a no show and we were going to charge you a no sown fee. We sent you maybe 3 or 5 emails in July about this it is not our fault that you did not come, but it is your responsibility to let us know that you will cancel or have trouble getting here. Michael, Owner


Great hostel. Michael and the staff are brilliant and knowledgable about the local area and Fuji. Really recommend a stay here.


Very nice place for the money. Good location get to Mount Fuji. Close to a train station and bus stop. Food in the restaurant is excellent.


The place was easy to find. Our luck with the weather wasn't good but the hostel was good but alittle small. though we knew that before getting there. We would stay again and have another go at Mt Fuji


This is the best hostel I've stayed in in terms of comfort/cleanliness and organisation. I really enjoyed it, it was just what I needed after hiking Fuji. The beds are great, everything is so well set out. Free coffee/tea, and the ladies at the front desk helped me out so much, translating heaps of stuff for me to go to the chemist. It's in a quiet town, but there's a really good traditional restaurant directly across the road. I would stay here again if I was in the area

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank You Jessica for your kind words about my hostel and my staff. Michael, Owner


I would highly recommend staying here! The hostel is conveniently located near Gekkoji Station, literally a 5-minute walk, the staff are super friendly and helpful, and it's perhaps one of the cleanest hostels I ever stayed at. The town is quite small and quiet, but you can go downstairs to the bar and have a brilliant chat with the owner, Michael, or local residents.


This is a very clean,comfortable and friendly hostel,within easy walking distance of the train station. Michael's bar downstairs also had a great vibe. I would definitely recommend a stay here.


The hostel is well located, just a five minute walk down from Gekkoji station, with a very nice restaurant directly across the road and a bar (run by the hostel owner) downstairs. The rooms are small but comfortable. There is a mini-kitchen area and laundry services and a communal bathroom section. The staff were very friendly and helpful for tourist information ad there is a wall of ideas and brochures, with an accurate timetable for the trains. If you're planning a visit to Mt Fuji, stay here

« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)

View all Mount Fuji Hostels

Please give us your feedback