Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's

  • 2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 368 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.5
Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's Located at 2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji.
Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's
Japan
Mount Fuji Fujiyoshida-Shi 403-0004 2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken
85% 368
35.4908329 138.8009355
Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
6.9

A good hostel to stay in if you are climbing Mount Fuji. The staff were really helpful. There wasn't a kitchen but there was a fridge etc which was fine. There were computers that worked well unlike other hostels! And I was glad there were curtains on the beds, although there wasn't much room to put your bags in the room. I feel there was one too many bunk beds meaning the room was cramped. Other than that a good stay!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Aug 2016
8.0

Overall hostel was good. Michael is very helpful when it comes to finding our transportation. For example, we needed an overnight bus as soon as possible, he called the company right away in the morning to book it for us. This hostel had helpful brochure and time schedules posted all over the lobby. Some problems were the quiet time hours because it was from 12am to 6am, therefore some guest would talk late. Also, there is a BAR downstairs and it can get very disruptive when sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2016
9.7

Great place to base yourself if you plan to climb the mountain and friendly staff who will help you if you need something. I would stay here again. Very social atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

I absolutely loved staying at Michael's hostel. It was in the perfect location because the train station is within walking distance and was mostly locals. The other train station was extremely packed with tourists. The restaurants around the hostel were very accepting and friendly of visitors. There is an awesome view of Fuji from inside the hostel. The restaurant/bar downstairs of the hostel was inviting and fun. Go downstairs for a beer and meet the best people from all over the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.6

Nice place, improvement would be to have a common area. Good place to stay if planning to climb Mount Fuji San. Staff is really friendly and speaks English very well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place, good location, 3 minutes to: train station, 7 eleven, bus station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Aug 2016
6.9

The hostel's facility and immediate staff were great. On the otherhand, the reality is the location is rather awful. You are about 2km from the nearest station (Mt Fuji St.), about 1km to the closest convience store and unfortunately due to a failing economy, a large majority of the area is closed/abandonded buildings. In addition, i had the unfortunate expeirence of meeting Mr. Michael himself. The odd man is strangely aggressive, spoke appaulingly to his staff and was kinda self obsessed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank You for your remarks. I would like to point out a few things about what you have said. 1- The location is really great we are not 2km from the nearest station in fact the nearest one to us is a 5 min. walk from our hostel it’s called Gekkoji Stations. The station you talked about Fujisan station (Mt.Fuji st) as you called it is really only 1 km from us. 2- The convince store we have 2 very near us one is a food and 100 yen shop that is 2 stop lights away or about 5 min walk and the other is a 7/11 that is just up the road about again 5 mins away by walking, so what you say 1km away is just not true. 3- you talked about the failing economy is why our area looks the way it does, well not true our area is the oldest in Fujiyoshida area and is home to many great people most of the home are 100 years old or more in some cases, yes, we are not Tokyo but we are a very great small town with many stories to tell our guests who come here and enjoy this type of area. 4- About me you said at that time I seemed a little aggressive, but the bottom line is me and my staff are family and I love them all. Sorry you did not have the chance to really meet me and know who I really am, but its ok, I know I can work on the style as an owner. Thank you for staying at my hostel Michael, Owner

2nd Aug 2016
8.9

We enjoyed our stay at Michael's. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The location is near a local train station (Gekkoji) but further away (~25 min walk) from the main station (Fujiyoshido) where you go to get the bus to climb Fuji or travel to other destinations. Dorms were clean but a bit cramped (esp the beds toward the back of the room). All in all we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
9.4

Nice Hostel, near to the main stations. Friendly and helpful staff Clean rooms and good facilities.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
5.7

When we arrived the girl that greeted us did an excellent Job. She was new and had been working at michaels for more than a week. She was kind and showed us around the hostel. On their webpage you see a picture with a nice view of mt Fuji next to a red temple. That was false advertisement. The atmosphere is low level. But if you only need a place to stay and head out the next morning, its a perfect place. Also, there are mainly empty houses everywhere a few miles away from this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I must answer your comment about false advertisement. We never said that you can see this view from out hostel what we did say on our web site is this "Churei-toh Pagoda is the number one view of Mt. Fuji, just a 20 minute walk from our Hostel" Churei-toh is the photo you are talking about. So please in the future when make a comment about something make sure you are 100% current and what you are talking about. Thank you for your stay and please come again. Michael, Owner

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.