Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mt. Fuji Hostel Michael's

  • 2F 3-21-37 Shimoyoshida, Fujiyoshida City, Yamanashi-Ken, Mount Fuji, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.3

The value for money is great ! The only drawback would be the lack of common space, no table to have dinner or breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay with us. Has stated in all our web sites and on line information we have no common room and never well due to on our 1st floor we have a full Cafe & Pub, We do have tables in all our private rooms and for the dorms we have our patio with table and chairs Michael, Owner

31st Jul 2017
10.0

STAY AT MICHAEL'S HOSTEL. I was a guest there for only a night, and let me tell you, the staff were amazing and helpful. During my hike on mount Fuji, I LOST MY PHONE at station 8.5 (very near the top). Not just my iPhone 7, but all of my IDs and credit cards that were inside. Once we told Michael and his staff what happened, they were totally ON IT. So helpful. Calling people, going out of their way to make sure I got my phone back. They were amazing. His wife and staff are lovely. Thumbs up.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay and kind view. We are also so very happy you got your phone and all your id's and cards back within 3 days. Please come ans see us again. Michael, Owner

23rd Jul 2017
9.1

The hostel was really nice, and if you get up early enough there is a great view.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
7.7

Good if all you want to do is hike Mt. Fuji. The surrounding area isn't great and the facilities aren't anything to write home about. Staff was helpful and the decent value for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank You for your stay, but I must say our local area has so many things to do outside climbing Mt Fuji. 1. The 5 lakes 2. The best view of Mt Fuji anywhere Churei-toh Pagoda. 3. Fuji-Q-Highland the most exciting amusement park in Japan. 4. Onsens that offers the relaxation of traditional Japan. 5. Mt.Kachi-Kachi Cable Car Great view point of Mt.Fuji and Kawaguchiko lake. 6. Festivals I can go on and on I guess you just did not go out to see our great city and that is really too bad on your part. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Good location for Mt Fuji. The toilets showers and wash basins were were new and very clean, as were the washing machines. Austin, the evening staff host was very helpful. However the twin room week booked turned out to be two bunk beds in a very small room. Wish that had been specified on the website. No communal space other than an outside verandah. The restaurant across the road was excellent. Went there both nights.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

If you read my website it does say the room is bunk bed. we also say no common room on all my sites. We do have on my 1st floor a cafe & pub. I guess you just did not read my website completely

  • ItsNixxy
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel and awesome view of Mt Fuji!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel. Staff not very welcoming. Wi-Fi not fantastic. Bit of a walk to the station. But overall I would stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your stay. The walk to the train station is at most 5 mins if you are going to the bus/train station maybe about 15 mins. My Wi-Fi is super fast so I am not sure why you said wjhat you did or if you had any trouble why you did not tell any of my staff. Again Thank you for your stay please come back again. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel - location is excellent, you have a view of Mt Fuji from the hostel! The staff are so helpful & there's free tea & coffee as well. My only criticism is that the dorm is quite cramped, taking out one bed would make it better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
8.9

The staff in the hostel were very helpful and the hostel itself offers great value for money, however the bar/ restaurant downstairs is a rip off when it comes to the price of their beer and food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I like to tell you that all my prices in my cafe & Pub are lower or the same as any other place in this area. Even in Tokyo my prices are the same unless you go to Gizza. Maybe next time you need to check all the information about the cost of traveling in Japan and eating anywhere other then a fast food court. Next time stock up with cup of noodles they are really cheep. But we also sell them in our hostel. Michael, Owner

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.3

Nice hostel with friendly staff but not many people there when I stayed! If I was not with a friend then would have struggled to do things and make friends - location is also a bit out of the way of the main tourist attractions at Fuji.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry it maybe takes little more then 5 mins. to get to Fuji-Q Highland or 15 to 20 mins. to any of the lakes but we are not in Tokyo we are at the base of Mt Fuji it is a country town. But our trains and taxis are very good. My staff also could have helped you with finding a place to see or even making of friends in our beautiful area. Michael, Owner

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.