X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Muffin Hostel Reviews

Hegigasse 9, Salzburg, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
522 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

This place is pretty meh. It wasn't terrible, but not the best I've stayed. Most of the staff didn't go out of their way to be helpful, (one was very nice but I forgot her name). The rooms are clean but a bit small and stuffy - however it was really hot when I was there. There wasn't a great vibe at the hostel everyone seemed to keep to themselves or their groups. Location was a bit far out of town but a nice walk through the forest. The wifi only works in reception area and not in the rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review. The internet is available not only in the lobby, but also in the common room and the bar. We will definitely take your opinion into account; hope you enjoyed the beauty of Salzburg anyway! :)

77%

The room was very nice and they often had free muffins in the lobby, unfortunately the wifi only worked in the lobby and there were no comfortable lounge places to use it. Also it was quite a walk from the city and difficult to find, though once you got the road once it was very easy to come back to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. The internet is available in common areas - not only in the lobby, but also in the common room (you can find there some computers for those travelling without laptops and smartphones) and in the bar. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway! :)

57%

The muffin was quite away from the main station, our train got in at half 10 so we didn't want to do the 40 minute walk through the forest. The staff were helpful and the walk the next day wasn't too bad into the main town. Recommend this for one night but not for longer

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the review. PLease let us stress the fact that although the hostel is located not so close to the train station (still close to the city centre), you can get to the hostel by bus (even so late in the evening).

86%

Staff was nice and helpful. WiFi not working basically at all. Imho breakfast was too expensive, costing almost 6€ Check out backyard it's nice! Special thanks to staff members Iga and Sonia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review, we will definitely take your opinion into account. We would like to apologize for the temporary problems with the internet connection. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salzburg anyway! :)

63%

Pros - Clean. Downstairs bar. Laundry service. Cons - 20 minutes by bus to the city centre. Heavily understaffed. WiFi only works in the common area and isn't very reliable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks a lot for your comment! We opened the hostel last week and we are doing our best in order to meet our guests' expectations. We'd like to assure you that we will focus on the aspects mentioned by you. Hope it wasn't your last stay in Salzburg! :)

77%

Nice hostel. Staff was kind. Laundry however was not available on the day I was there, made things difficult for me. And one issue that is probably out of the hostels control as it is a student dorm was that the lights are on very short motion timers. Had to shower in the dark when the lights automatically turned off!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for nice words! We are really sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and hope that you enjoyed the beauty of Salzburg anyway :)

80%

Nice, clean hostel. You're not in the urban part of Salzburg, but the location makes for some great walks in the countryside and forest. I strongly recommend climbing up to Salzburg's casle from the back pathway through the woods.

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thaks a lot for the review, hope to see you again in Salzburg! :)

51%

- not welcoming at all - clean bathrooms, but disgusting later, check them more often!! - no german and bad english - another email to confirm, even if i paid a deposit on-line?? - no internet in the room!! -worst experience ever

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review. Due to the fact that Muffin is a youth hostel, the multilingual staff is a priority for us - all the receptionists speak at least 2 languages (everybody speaks English, almost all of them speak German). Please let us stress the fact that the hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize your credit card prior to arrival (you can find this info in "Things to note") - the only case when we contact us guests via email is when pre-authorization is impossible.

66%

It will be better if could use Wi-Fi in the room.


71%

Overall a decent and cheap hostel. It was a minor walk into the city center, nothing bad though. Not too much close by except for a delicious Thai food stand. Facilities were large and nice. Wifi was god-awful, had to go downstairs to get the bar wifi where it was disgusting from the prior night. I don't like the single key system, as I could have said I was from any room and then just waltzed in and took what I wanted. There were no checks to see if you were actually from that room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for the review! We are aware that the internet is one of the basics now and therefore we offer a couple of independent connections. There is wifi in the lobby, at the bar and in the common room (you can also find computers there). Receptionists are obliged to confirm guests' identity whenever they ask for the key - if they did not do it during your stay and it made you feel unsafe, we would like to apologize and assure you that we will definitely put emphasis on it!

89%

nice kindly ppl especially sonia iga and ula i dont think its in the downtown but location is really good to walk. can have nice view. bar in the hostel. great dj sonia lol

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, hope to see you again! :)

66%

I was continually brushed off as I tried to pay and dislike the policy of keeping guests' passports. Requiring cash is also quite inconvenient. That said, facilities were spotless.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review, we will definitely take it into account. We are really sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay - the hostel is open only in summer, this year we started on 13.07 and due to this fact, we are still working on improving our service. We do hope that you enjoyed the beauty of Salzburg anyway!

1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Salzburg Hostels

Please give us your feedback