Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mushroom Point

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 512 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 6.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
7.1

Nice hostel right on the beach. Food at restaurant was very good. Staff were very accommodating and nice! I forgot my cellphone and someone drove into town to deliver it to me! The bathrooms however are quite dirty and the water coming out of the sink and shower is brown. Mushroom hut had ants and was falling apart, but this was probably due to the rainy season.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.3

Rooms were nice, staff were super friendly and accomodating. Food was amazing! And gorgeous cuddly cats to play with.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
5.1

I have stayed in many waterside hut hostels in Cambodia. The problem with Mushroom Point is that it is overpriced considering the state of the property, considering the many other options available on the beaches for much less (or the same price, but far better amenities). This place should be $10 a night MAXIMUM. I love the staff, but the sheets/towels haven't been washed since 1997 and the state of the bathrooms is abysmal for $30/night. Some huts aren't even on the beach. Adjust price!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry..... What you tell is absolutely not really We wash the sheet every two days also when stay same guest. The price is 20 usd and not 30!!!! 30 usd you can find in Mushroom Point, that is not settled on the beach. We are famous since years for the cleaness......

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd May 2017
10.0

We stayed in one of the private rooms with ensuite and loved it! The whole layout of the place is so cool, the rooms are so cute! Plus the restaurant just across the room looks so pretty in the evening, so great place for food and drinks - I really recommend the fish amok best I've had in Cambodia and I've had a few to compare it with! The place has such a cool vibe to it and Oltres itself is so nice, really recommend staying here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2017
4.3

It's unique but there's plenty of better priced options on the beach with better facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st May 2017
7.1

Mushroom Point is an awesome place to stay but after you get used to it a few days into it. There's no security at all, no lockers and room is an open bungalow. Dorm is mattresses on the floor ( except they are super comfy and more like a double bed) with mosquito nets over it. No aircon but the fan works really well! There's sand everywhere but that's expected as it's right on the beach. There is a lot of potential here but it was so quiet, which again was kind of nice but boring after 3 day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
28th Apr 2017
6.3

The location is good, however its not a beach bunglaow how u would think, its more like a hut with no windows and a mattress on the floor. For this we thought price was to high. Good food and pretty chilled place. Also the sea tempereture is so hot so prepare for that and not the "white sandy beach with palmtrees" but a narrow beach with pinetrees and needles etc. :)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.6

Beautiful spot and the room was comfortable but campus felt a little neglected (needs some updating)The safe in our room was broken and had clearly been out of order for a while. A sink fell off the wall in one of the washrooms as the brackets had rusted through. The staff were very young and although they responded politely when we asked for help they seemed a bit indifferent to our presence.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
8.0

Very very very mellow spot. If you're looking for a hostel vibe, stay away. However, if you're looking to relax by yourself in your own nice bungalow, this is a good spot. Very clean, private bathroom etc. 10ft walking distance from the more lively hostels. Private bungalows are not on the water, but are on the other side of the street. Dorm is on the water, like in the photo. Owner seemed cold.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.0

The dorm was just adorable we loved it! Big round beds each with our own personal fan!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.