X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Musicology Hostel Reviews

Calle 9 #3-71, La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
423 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

The good: +The new owner was very hard-working and a really helpful guy. +Great location. Walking distance to a lot of museums +Very clean The bad: -Only one key per dorm caused problems. People would leave the room unlocked and sometimes the key went missing meaning I was locked out of my room. -The noise from the bar. Despite signs saying to reduce the noise after 10pm the bar staff didn't turn the music down or close the door. -The noise in the morning from the kitchen radio!


91%

I've stayed in other spots in Bogota, but this was the best location. I only stayed one night, but the desk was very helpful with check-in, and they made sure I had my bags locked up before giving me a tour. There was a friendly atmosphere and a younger crowd. I think the 1 key/dorm did encourage people to leave the doors cracked, as they didn't want to lock out their roommates or couldn't be bothered to keep getting the key. Though I never felt unsafe, and the underbed lockers worked just fine.

  • 29th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The staff was kind and helpful and the location's not bad, but the WIFI is hopeless. It's painfully slow and it never seems to be really working, which is a problem if you are working and travelling at the same time.


83%

They were redoing the main bathroom, which was really smelly, and meant that there was just 1 shared bathroom. We moved to an ensuite room which was recently remodeled and great. So this will end up being an improvement in the future. It is really cold at night, so bring an extra sweatshirt. The bartender Henry makes the best mojitos around and is really cool! Cata who works the desk is the best, as is her dog. Gabo who works the desk at night deserves an honorable mention as well! Great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We were indeed remodeling and renovating the main bathroom to improve guest comfort and the project was completed today. As the new owners of the hostel we are so incredibly proud of the team of staff we've put together that include Colombian employees as well as foreign volunteers that can assist guests in six languages! I really do believe we have the most kind, professional and welcoming staff of any hostel in Bogota. Thanks for mentioning them and safe travels!

23%

It’s definitely a cheap hostel but you have to ask them several times for the same things and go to the reception several times to get what you want. There are apologies all the time and they don’t forget to tell you they had a bad day. As a guest you have to adapt yourself to the employee oversight, mistake or mood. It was so awful to ask them so many things. I got robbed. I asked Musicology if some one came in my room. Instead of taking it seriously I had to ask them several times the same t

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your questions to us were indeed so esoteric that you really did have our staff running around to assist you in a professional manner as best they could and they did so without complaint, despite how awfully rude and nasty you were to them at certain points. Regarding your money, you left your wallet unattended and in plain view IN A DORM! Every guest is given a huge locker with brand new latches on them. Instead of using it, you spent an entire morning trying to blame everyone in the hostel.

74%

The new manager's are doing a good job addressing some of the old complaints about this place but they need to do more to keep it warm enough to enjoy properly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We as the new owners continue to make constant improvements to the hostel to improve the guest experience. That said, we are located in a 300 year-old, atmospheric and unique patrimonial building with four-meter ceilings. Bogota can get extremely cold and as a result it can get chilly in the hostel from time to time. It is for this reason we make available to guests extra blankets and even hot water bottles to keep them warm and comfortable at night.

77%

Good hostel but needs more bathrooms! Staff/owners very friendly! Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you. Regarding the bathrooms, we will have two new ones opened to guests next week! All the best from Bogota.

57%

There is music and noise 24 hours. Couldn't geht the slightest bit of rest.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Aware of your sensitivity to the inevitable noise of the comings and goings in a 12-bed dorm I offered you a private room for less than what you were paying as a matter of caring about our guests above all, yet you chose to end your stay with us anyway. To be clear, there is NO music played in the hostel near the rooms past 10pm and our bar in the back is required to turn the volume down significantly at that time as well as a matter of strict policy. We are a social hostel, not a party hostel

60%

Extremely cold at night. Kitchen falling apart. Staff are mostly volunteers so aren't helpful or knowledgable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The nights you stayed were some of the coldest Bogota has seen for quite some time. Had you come to us we would have been happy to offer you additional blankets and even a hot water bottle to warm your bed! Beginning this week we will be offering guests a newly-renovated kitchen. Our staff is indeed a mix of Colombians and volunteers who are able to provide assistance in 6 languages! We are very proud of their professionalism and the way they are dedicated to making every guest feel at home.

100%

Wow! Wonderful experience!

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly-renovated ensuite rooms. We as the new owners of Musicology are proud of the changes we've made to ensure our hostel is the friendliest, cleanest and best-value hostel in Bogota. If you're ever back in Colombia we'd be happy to host you again!

74%

The staff was nice and helpful, but i didn't feel the good atmosphere in this hostel, the rooms were cold and there were not always hot water! I think we could find better hostels in Bogota.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review! As new owners of the hostel we pride ourselves most on the kindness and professionalism of our staff and the way they make every guest feel at home. Regarding the issue with the hot water, we have steaming-hot water 24/7 in every shower! The temperature is simply controlled by adjusting the water flow. We will make sure that this is shown to every new guest and would be happy to welcome you again should you return to Bogota.

43%

The kitchen and bathrooms were filthy we didn't like to use them. The owner was nice and helpful although there was a female backpacker there working who spoke loudly with a colleague working in reception in the early hours of the morning for a looooong time, it is an old building so noise carries with ease. Breakfast was very basic but ok. Room was a mattress on the floor in a small room with no windows and a bin in the corner.


60%

Location of the hostel was good but it lacked atmosphere. There was a bar and TV chill room but there really was no atmosphere within the hostel. Slightly disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We as the new owners of Musicology thank you for your review and for staying with us. We invite you to return and enjoy our newly-renovated bar (as seen in our pictures) with a daily happy hour, common areas and rooms as we strive to maximize the atmosphere of our stunning colonial building. Hope to see you again sometime soon!

60%

ok hostel although beds and facilities are very average

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We as the new owners of Musicology pride ourselves in offering some of the most economical dorm beds in Bogota to some of the nicest private hostel rooms in the city depending on your needs (all can be seen in our pictures). Whether you choose our more simple or more luxurious options we are proud of the cleanliness of our facilities and the kindness and professionalism of our staff that strive to make every guest feel at home.

89%

The hostel is located in the Candelaria area, which is the oldest area in town. It's a big hostel, the building is old and the interiors are vintage and nice. Maybe we went there in a low season period because it wasn't a party hostel for real. The atmosphere is great anyway, the music is playing all day long and the staff is very helpful. The room was cold, but Bogotà is cold city so it's fair enough. Recommended for a chill out stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your kind review, it was great having you. As the new owners of Musicology we pride ourselves on the kindness and professionalism of our staff and creating a positive atmosphere for everyone whether they choose to party or have a good night's sleep. We hope to see you again soon!



View all Bogota Hostels

Please give us your feedback