Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Musicology Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
Musicology Hostel Located at Calle 9 #3-71, La Candelaria, Bogota.
Musicology Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Cundinamarca Calle 9 #3-71, La Candelaria
76% 479
4.5945788 -74.0735149
Musicology Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • thompsonryne11
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.1

Wasn't a bad hostel. They are a little strict on the visitors policy. Seems like there would be more music driven atmosphere but not much. Owner was kind of a creep and kept making sexually charged comments at our guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
9.1

It was a very old house so many small problems due to it, but no big deal~~ Generally a good hostel, nice staff, good cable TV~~ Wish therei is oil in the kitchen because it is not easy for travelers to buy and carry oil around~~

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
6.0

I had heard great parties and fun but that is no longer the case. I hear they are under new management. We got the private room and bath. The shower is only hot if it has no pressure. We were not given a safe bc we had a key but they cleaned our room while we were out and then didn't lock it. When we complained they didn't care or get it. The owner did construction outside our door so we awoke to 6 am hammering every morning. Hollman was a great bartender but he was let go. No fun but cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving your appreciations about our hostel. Yes, it is under new management, therefore we are changing everything to make it a better place for guests to stay every day. We do not give safes, guests are always informed they have to take care of their belongings in almost every hostel in La Candelaria, though we will contemplate the idea. Cleaning the rooms is an obligation in our hostel, but in your case we apologize if the room was left open. Our staff is improving as the hostel does too, that is why people are let go too.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
6.0

Nice location in the Candaleria area. Hostel lacks atmosphere, no nice common areas to chill and it's really cold during the night. Owner not seems to be in control of the hostel, lot of things were unorganized or broken. However the guys at the frontdesk are friendly, and the place is really cheap.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for leaving your insights. We where actually in the past few days changing the atmosphere: Bar, dorms, tv room and we replaced a lot of things. Everything is changing. Hope you get to see it in the future. The doors at Musicology will be always open for you.

15th Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel is fine. A large old building, very well located. But as said before, kitchen fails. Bar area is kind of faded, not much happening there.It is very difficult to find a convenient power plug. There was one plug for 8 people dorm. Internet is not very stable. Staff is friendly but they have no idea about many things, because they're all temporarily volunteers. Skip the breakfast options and go around for nice breakfast. Not so many places to seat. Pillows are as large as a wallet.NOISY!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
5.7

A great location but the facilities weren't great and the kitchen wasn't too clean and the showers were barely warm. However, you get what you pay for and it is good value for money especially for its location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
4.3

I would not recommend this hostel. We arrived during the day, no electricity = no shower, no wifi (which was non existant during our whole stay for some unknown reason), no lights , well no nothing. Overheard the staff saying it was because they didn't pay the bill on time. Really disorganised staff, not helpful at all.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
12th Jun 2016
9.4

As said in previous comments, fairly sure linen isn't washed between stays. Otherwise, incredible hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
7.1

Rooms and bathrooms were not too clean, and we couldn't cook in the kitchen cuz we didnt have the equipment necessary, the hostel itself is ok, nothing special

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
7.7

Decent place for the price! Room was comfortable. The kitchen was pretty grotty so didn't end up using it but that's easy seeing as there are so many delicious, cheap places really close by! The happy hour is awesome with great drink specials!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.