Hostelworld.com

Musicology Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
26th Jan 2017
4.9

The worse experience i had so far. Starting form the fact that they don't have wifi, but I could probably live with that. Apparently they had problems with hot water, so people were coming in our room to take a shower. But the best thing happened with the laundry.. they gave us back the stuff still wet, with "new" stains,and other issues. The manager instead of apologize was telling me that this things can happened.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Elizabeth, We do apologize for the inconvience with your laundry, the manager talked to te cleaning lady regarding that and also she told the recepcionist not to charge you for it. Again, we apologize for that. On the other hand, you stayed in the biggest room in the hostel and its inevitable to have people using a share bathroom. Anyway, we hope you have a pleasent trip and if you come back to Bogotá we hope to see you so we can give you a better experience on our hostel, we owe it to you. Best Regards, Musicology's Family

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.4

Staff was amazing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.6

The whole place is under going construction which means there is noise. There are no lockers and seems that windows in some rooms are broken. As the place is so big the rooms are freeZing there is a lot of blankets on the bed but the air is very cold, showers are not very warm even though they are electric

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.7

Nice budget hostel to stay at. There are 2 small kittens that live here and they are SOOOO cute so make sure you give them some cuddles. The kitchen was well stocked and the showers were warm.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Oct 2016
8.6

Nice, big hostel, rooms are spacious. Common areas are quite cold, but the bar is new and nice to meet people. The hostel is located close to nice bars and a supermarket. I have been here already twice! Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thompsonryne11
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Sep 2016
7.1

Wasn't a bad hostel. They are a little strict on the visitors policy. Seems like there would be more music driven atmosphere but not much. Owner was kind of a creep and kept making sexually charged comments at our guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Aug 2016
9.1

It was a very old house so many small problems due to it, but no big deal~~ Generally a good hostel, nice staff, good cable TV~~ Wish therei is oil in the kitchen because it is not easy for travelers to buy and carry oil around~~

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
6.0

I had heard great parties and fun but that is no longer the case. I hear they are under new management. We got the private room and bath. The shower is only hot if it has no pressure. We were not given a safe bc we had a key but they cleaned our room while we were out and then didn't lock it. When we complained they didn't care or get it. The owner did construction outside our door so we awoke to 6 am hammering every morning. Hollman was a great bartender but he was let go. No fun but cheap

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving your appreciations about our hostel. Yes, it is under new management, therefore we are changing everything to make it a better place for guests to stay every day. We do not give safes, guests are always informed they have to take care of their belongings in almost every hostel in La Candelaria, though we will contemplate the idea. Cleaning the rooms is an obligation in our hostel, but in your case we apologize if the room was left open. Our staff is improving as the hostel does too, that is why people are let go too.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.