Hostelworld.com

Musicology Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 454 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.9
Musicology Hostel Located at Calle 9 #3-71, La Candelaria, Bogota.
Musicology Hostel
Colombia
Bogota Cundinamarca Calle 9 #3-71, La Candelaria
76% 454
4.5945788 -74.0735149
Musicology Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
7.1

Rooms and bathrooms were not too clean, and we couldn't cook in the kitchen cuz we didnt have the equipment necessary, the hostel itself is ok, nothing special

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
7.7

Decent place for the price! Room was comfortable. The kitchen was pretty grotty so didn't end up using it but that's easy seeing as there are so many delicious, cheap places really close by! The happy hour is awesome with great drink specials!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th May 2016
5.4

Sadly was not impressed with this hostel. Witnessed cleaning staff simply re-making beds for new guests without changing sheets, also beds very uncomfortable and pillow was a joke. Bathroom in my 4 bed dorm was cramped and door didn't lock either. The first staff member I encountered was great, an Australian girl who's name escapes me. But the rest seemed distant and uninterested. Breakfast isn't free, but very cheap and good value.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.0

A nice enough hostel. In a nice location in La Candelaria near lots of musuem and small cafes and about a 5 minute walk from the Bolvir Plaza. Kitchen could of been slightly better equipped, a toaster and a kettle would of been ideal. A lighter for the oven could be easily obtained from the reception. A nice hostel with a good bar and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Apr 2016
6.6

My stay at musicology was Avg. the bar was missing half the drinks. The kitchen was missing half the equipment and the reception couldn't help with basic details area town eg. Where to get bus, exchange money. Beside all the negativity the location was pretty good and the price of drinks at the bar wasn't to shabby. Also the beds were big which is always a plus. 6/10

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Mar 2016
6.6

I only stayed here for one night, most of the staff were helpful, one guy not so much. The rooms were really spacious with lockers for backpacks. This was not the cleanest hostel, the bathrooms were dirty and the showers were cold, the whole hostel was cold actually!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
6.3

The staff was really nice especially the owner and the location was nice, right near the main plaza. Unfortunately, the hostel has hardly any furniture in the common areas. It wasn't very relaxing and it wasn't very clean. The building has so much potential for a cool hostel but it hasn't hit the mark. The price is enticing but I wouldn't stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Mar 2016
9.1

Great hostel. At this price, you can be assured that it's by no means fancy. Location is perfect, the bar kicks off some nights which is fun and if that's not your thing, there's a TV room with bean bags to chill in. The vibe is good, the staff are helpful (especially Elliot) and you can't argue with the price. Overall a great stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Feb 2016
9.4

It was my second stay at the hostel. I always recommend this hostel to my friends which are staying in Bogota. It's great place for backpackers that want to feel comfortable and meet other foreigners and exchange information. I met there amazing people and spent with them nice time. Staff is always friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks by stay with us

  • maaren
  • Norway, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
17th Feb 2016
8.0

the location is really good and the staff is very helpful! you get what you pay for! didn't feel too clean but the rooms are quite big - which is a plus!! noisy as there is bad isolation between the dorms and the common area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are indeed extremely proud of our stellar staff and I was glad to see you were happy with the service they provided to you. We'd be happy to welcome you at Musicology in the future. Best regards from Bogota.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.