Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

My Hotel Cairo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 53 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 53 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
My Hotel Cairo Located at 13 Merit Basha Street, , Cairo.
My Hotel Cairo
Egypt
Cairo Cairo 11516 13 Merit Basha Street
87% 53
30.0477059 31.2349288
My Hotel Cairo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Nov 2016
8.0

Location is great, because it is easy to get there by asking for the Egyptian Museum or Tahrir Square. It is close to a metro station, so it is good if you move around the city. Clean and quiet hostel. The breakfast is very simple (coffee/tea and bread), so it is a bit disappointing. The building is a very very old building in downtown, so you may not like the looks of the building and the outside because it seems to be very old and about to collapse. Apart from that a good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dprotti4480
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Oct 2016
8.0

Location is perfect, you are in the middle of downtown. Dorms have space, kitchen is minimal. Bathroom has no shower curtain so it gets messy after somebody gets a shower. I suggest to put some tool there so guests can sweep and mop after themselves. Owner will offer you tours, you can find cheaper options on the street down stairs. Travellers: don't take taxis, use Uber or the metro.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Phillmcgrath
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Oct 2016
10.0

10/10, very easy to find, right next to the museum and infamous Tahir square. Definitely book taxi from the airport with them instead of paying extreme prices from the persistent airport taxi drivers like we did. Best hostel in Egypt.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
6.3

The owner of the hostel is extremely money-orientated When I asked for the public transport to go airport, the owner kept suggesting to take taxi ($10) and tell me no local bus to go airport, but then i found there are some buses going to airport (only 1 L.E.) and the bus station is just nearby the hostel. At the last day, when i tell the owner i had found a bus to airport, and if the bus cannot come on time then i will come back for the taxi, the owner angrily replied: my taxi is not available!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Sep 2016
7.1

For the budget traveller who can sleep on a dusty floor or the mature traveller that does'nt mind a bit of grime this place is perfect. Located in a building directly across the road from the Cairo Museum, Tahir Square, close to Metro stations and walking distance to downtown you cant beat it. The rooms have seen better days, comfortable beds. The atmosphere is what you make it and there is no escaping the persistant smokers that fill your room and lungs with second hand smoke. Def OK.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Aug 2016
9.4

Nice friendly place very well located. A little bit noisy because of the traffic like any other hotel in this area. it's the price to pay to be in downtown.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2016
8.3

The hotel is very well located, close to the Tahrir Square and in front of the Egyptian Museum, in the downtown area. The only downside would be that people around the hotel can try to scam foreigners, so you have to be careful. The staff told us about this and was helpful. They can also arrange tours, and in my experience it was great, although you have to negotiate the price is you have a limited budget. The room was pretty, but no AC, had to ask for new sheets, alright clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.9

The staff at this hostel were very friendly and always willing to help. The location is excellent, opposite the Egyptian museum and a 5 minute walk to the metro. The building from the outside and even the stairwell/elevator inside looks very run down but the hostel itself is very well presented as the pictures show. My room was clean, everything worked as it should (fan, toilet and shower) and in summary very good value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.4

Top in value for money. I wish many people find the way to this Hostel. You will have a good time living in the center of Cairo.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2016
9.7

Nice and dreaming room ! Love it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.