X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mystic Simurgh Hostel Reviews

Huseyin Aga Mah. Buyuk Bayram Sok. No:13 Taksim, Beyoglu/Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
420 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The hostel is in a very good location, if you want to stay in the modern part of the city. The guys that run the place are very friendly and always willing to help. The only thing to watch out for is that the hostel in the middle od bars, clubs, etc. so it can be very noise for people that want to sleep early.


34%

The staff Spoke poor English and Stunk. The Place Was a Dump. Breakfast Was revolting. Location Was amazing Though

Owner Comment (Hide)
We believe that everybody speaks their mothertounge substentially, rich and gracefuly and as our stuff’s mothertounge is not English, we are sure that we can not speak English as fluent as some of our guest. We are welcoming our guests from all around the World, some speaks Spanish, some speaks İtalian, some speaks Arabic and some speaks Chinese, we never judge them with their English level.

77%

A tiny, but nice hostel with very friendly staff. Breakfast was traditional and good, our room ( double private room) was made for sleeping only, not a lot of space and in general not a place you'd like to spent time at. The area is perfect for people who like to party, if you want to sleep in piece, you definately have to have a good sleep. What disturbed me a little bit was that the hangout area is always quite dark and there is no outer place of the hostel.

  • 17th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

STAFF WAS VERY NICE

  • 13th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The facilities are a little bit poor , however taking in consideration the price as we are in Istanbul the money you pay is worthy, i woud not stay there more than three nights. Beside, the location is surrounded by dicos and bars so if you have problems trying to sleep you may feel discomfort.


94%

We had a great time staying at Mystic Simurgh. The hostel is located in a busy zone of Taksim, but we weren't at all disturbed by noisy surroundings. The room was clean, the restroom was well maintained. The 'social space' was super nice, we made a few friends there as well. The staff were friendly and very helpful: we asked them to post our postcards (we hadn't had time to do it ourselves) and they kindly agreed so without hesitation. We would absolutely recommend you stay here.


77%

Great location and great vibe

  • 4th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Staff was so accommodating. They are very relaxed and easy going. It was handy being able to store luggage. We came from Canada and were welcomed sooo kindly. The hostel has a cool vibe, everyone just hangs out. We had a late flight and they had absolutely no issue letting us hang out at the hostel untill 1am in the morning without payin. Downside is dirty and failing apart, But it's so cheap and worth the money, great location, great breakfast for turkey, overall wonderful time!

  • 28th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Awesome location. Bathroom facilities are pretty average. Breakfast was pretty average too.


100%

Our stay in the hostel was very pleasant. People working here are very friendly and helpful. They make really nice atmosphere. The location is the best ( main street ). We highly recommend Mystic Simurgh hostel. Dorota and Agata from Poland


83%

Definitely not an upperclass hostel, but nevertheless one of my favourites so far. Absolutely loved Taksim and this hostel gave us the perfect gateway to it. Great, cheap food nearby, awesome staff and free turkish tea.


83%

Very good hostel. A reggae atmosphere with a peacefull peoples whose advice us some place to go in Istanbul. We spent a great week at Mystic Simurgh. And we have made good meeting.

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks yann, see you next time

57%

The hostel was dirty and we had to change our own bedding, after waiting till 3 in the afternoon for our room. On arrival we tried to check and half way through the girl turned to us and said she had to go to sleep and will do it later. Leaving us in the hallway confused as hell.


97%

great place.great staff.great location.great city.great fun.


100%

Mystic Simurgh was an awesome experience!! The staff was super friendly and really helpful, the owner Mesut actually walked me to the bar i was looking for so i didnt get get lost! Thanks Mesut!!! The location is right in the middle of Taksim, which is pretty much the best part of the city and where all the nightlife is. I stayed in the dorm and the lockers were HUGE and everything was super clean. Definitely recommend this hostel for anyone visiting Istanbul!!!


63%

I stayed in a single room. The lock was not working properly. the wındow was looking at the backyard with a lot of ac units so the air was very bad and the bathroom had a bad smell, too. However, the location is great. When I waned to check out nobody was there. waited for 15 mins to leave the key but there was no way of contacting anyone.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

You get what you pay for. This place was run down the showe was 1x1 at biggest. There was never any toilet paper and all the staff and guests smoked. The non smoking zone was always empty and still had wafts of smoke as it was all part of the same room. It's a friendly enough place but the staff were pretty lazy. If you want somewhere rustic, with chilled out guests but filled with smoke. This is for you. If not look elsewhere. It's also surrounded by clubs which may be average or awesome for y


86%

One of my favorite hostels ever. Highly recommended for solo travellers! Only drawback was having a room on the top floor (lots of stairs) but the excellent breakfast, great company, and fantastic location made it not so bad.


66%

The stars and access to the bedroom was poor. The room was quite small.

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The worst hostel I have ever stayed in. We were to stay 8 nights, but we were able to hold only 3 nights. The rooms were damp, walls in decomposition. There were also cockroaches. The toilets were dirty, the shower was like an oven without ventilation. The locks did not work.

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You know nothing is true in what you wrote down about our hostel. You did not cancel your reservation, we did it because of your homophobic, sexist and racist behavior.I hope you will behave properly in the hostel you will be staying.

(235 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback