X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mystic Simurgh Hostel Reviews

Huseyin Aga Mah. Buyuk Bayram Sok. No:13 Taksim, Beyoglu/Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
398 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Awesome location. Bathroom facilities are pretty average. Breakfast was pretty average too.


100%

Our stay in the hostel was very pleasant. People working here are very friendly and helpful. They make really nice atmosphere. The location is the best ( main street ). We highly recommend Mystic Simurgh hostel. Dorota and Agata from Poland


83%

Definitely not an upperclass hostel, but nevertheless one of my favourites so far. Absolutely loved Taksim and this hostel gave us the perfect gateway to it. Great, cheap food nearby, awesome staff and free turkish tea.


83%

Very good hostel. A reggae atmosphere with a peacefull peoples whose advice us some place to go in Istanbul. We spent a great week at Mystic Simurgh. And we have made good meeting.

  • 16th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks yann, see you next time

57%

The hostel was dirty and we had to change our own bedding, after waiting till 3 in the afternoon for our room. On arrival we tried to check and half way through the girl turned to us and said she had to go to sleep and will do it later. Leaving us in the hallway confused as hell.


97%

great place.great staff.great location.great city.great fun.


100%

Mystic Simurgh was an awesome experience!! The staff was super friendly and really helpful, the owner Mesut actually walked me to the bar i was looking for so i didnt get get lost! Thanks Mesut!!! The location is right in the middle of Taksim, which is pretty much the best part of the city and where all the nightlife is. I stayed in the dorm and the lockers were HUGE and everything was super clean. Definitely recommend this hostel for anyone visiting Istanbul!!!


63%

I stayed in a single room. The lock was not working properly. the wındow was looking at the backyard with a lot of ac units so the air was very bad and the bathroom had a bad smell, too. However, the location is great. When I waned to check out nobody was there. waited for 15 mins to leave the key but there was no way of contacting anyone.

  • 29th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

You get what you pay for. This place was run down the showe was 1x1 at biggest. There was never any toilet paper and all the staff and guests smoked. The non smoking zone was always empty and still had wafts of smoke as it was all part of the same room. It's a friendly enough place but the staff were pretty lazy. If you want somewhere rustic, with chilled out guests but filled with smoke. This is for you. If not look elsewhere. It's also surrounded by clubs which may be average or awesome for y


86%

One of my favorite hostels ever. Highly recommended for solo travellers! Only drawback was having a room on the top floor (lots of stairs) but the excellent breakfast, great company, and fantastic location made it not so bad.


66%

The stars and access to the bedroom was poor. The room was quite small.

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


26%

The worst hostel I have ever stayed in. We were to stay 8 nights, but we were able to hold only 3 nights. The rooms were damp, walls in decomposition. There were also cockroaches. The toilets were dirty, the shower was like an oven without ventilation. The locks did not work.

  • 18th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You know nothing is true in what you wrote down about our hostel. You did not cancel your reservation, we did it because of your homophobic, sexist and racist behavior.I hope you will behave properly in the hostel you will be staying.

83%

The location of the hostel is perfect for shopping and for going out. The beds were good. I would go there again!

  • 16th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The Mystic is situated at Taksim in the Heart of the party and shopping area of Istanbul, a wery lively and fun place. The hostels got a bit of a hippie vibe to it, a wery relaxed and friendly atsmosphere. The staff is very helpfull and speak quite good English. The common room is where it all happens. There is a section for eating and relaxing by the kitchen and a section where you can hang out, smoke and drink beers. Be advised that it can be quite noisy.


80%

A place right in the party action of Beyoglu. A dorm bed is cheaper than the taxi home, so you sleep for free right in the party. Little breakfast included-which taxi gives you that? The right place for people who want to go out at night.


97%

wonderfull place to stay in taksim,we probabbly stay there again:)

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff is super cool and nice, relaxed rasta style) we had a double room with ensuite bathroom which was quite good for its price. The only thing that was disturbing - was the bar to club downstairs that played very loud music till 4 am everyday and it was perfectly heard in the room - but that's what you get when you live two steps from Istiqlal street!

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place, i highly recommend it not because it has a great location for the city also the atmosphere of the hostel was amazing, extraordinary. Staff helped us whatever we need like recommendation for the clubs/bars, places where we can visit, using the transportation to get those places and everything.

  • 14th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's hard to beat this hostel's location near the center of Istiklal. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are sufficiently clean (though a tad loud on weekends) and breakfast is good.


71%

It's located veryvery close to nightlife in Taksim :) Still it's cheap and comfortable, I arrived late in the night due to flight and was settled all right thaks to staff. Of course, noise from bar and discos is *in* the room so it's not adviced if you just wanna sleep :) You can take your food and use kitchen and laundry. They may not be perfect but useable.


(227 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback