X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Mystic Simurgh Hostel Reviews

Huseyin Aga Mah. Buyuk Bayram Sok. No:13 Taksim, Beyoglu/Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
378 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The Mystic is situated at Taksim in the Heart of the party and shopping area of Istanbul, a wery lively and fun place. The hostels got a bit of a hippie vibe to it, a wery relaxed and friendly atsmosphere. The staff is very helpfull and speak quite good English. The common room is where it all happens. There is a section for eating and relaxing by the kitchen and a section where you can hang out, smoke and drink beers. Be advised that it can be quite noisy.


80%

A place right in the party action of Beyoglu. A dorm bed is cheaper than the taxi home, so you sleep for free right in the party. Little breakfast included-which taxi gives you that? The right place for people who want to go out at night.


97%

wonderfull place to stay in taksim,we probabbly stay there again:)

  • 11th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff is super cool and nice, relaxed rasta style) we had a double room with ensuite bathroom which was quite good for its price. The only thing that was disturbing - was the bar to club downstairs that played very loud music till 4 am everyday and it was perfectly heard in the room - but that's what you get when you live two steps from Istiqlal street!

  • 23rd Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent place, i highly recommend it not because it has a great location for the city also the atmosphere of the hostel was amazing, extraordinary. Staff helped us whatever we need like recommendation for the clubs/bars, places where we can visit, using the transportation to get those places and everything.

  • 14th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It's hard to beat this hostel's location near the center of Istiklal. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are sufficiently clean (though a tad loud on weekends) and breakfast is good.


71%

It's located veryvery close to nightlife in Taksim :) Still it's cheap and comfortable, I arrived late in the night due to flight and was settled all right thaks to staff. Of course, noise from bar and discos is *in* the room so it's not adviced if you just wanna sleep :) You can take your food and use kitchen and laundry. They may not be perfect but useable.


43%

I'lready slept in so many places, and this one was so far the WORST one! The room is between two clubs, so you cant sleep before they close (5.am) The linien bed was dirty. And you cant open windown because its so loud the clubs outside.

  • 26th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your ınput, but theres nothıng we can do about the noıse outsıde our hostel. Taksım ıs the party center of Istanbul and you would have a very tough tıme fındıng an affordable place to stay that doesnt get outsıde noıse, especıally around new year's. Sorry you feel the shower and sheets were dırty but we can assure you that they get cleaned after each customer leaves. If you had let us know you were not satısfıed and wanted to check out we would have helped you make other accomodatıons. Safe travels.

80%

We enjoyed our stay in this hostel. Stuff was very cooperative and friendly, gave us lots of suggestions when we were requesting any information. But just 2 negative points: - breakfast was very poor - loud music from outside night clubs and bars from 10pm to 5am. Even with window closed volume was so high that it feels like you are inside the club. Only one way you can fall asleep in that noise - when you are dead tired. Otherwise you can wait till 5am and sleep in silence.


51%

Don't book a room in this hostel and especially the double ensuite room.Even if you want something cheap only to sleep at, it does not worth it!Photos are overated, the room literally was about to collapse,dirty,noone seemed to care to clean it even though we stayed there for a week.Also, it was super-noisy even with closed windows.We regreted staying there.Only, the common room was ok, staff was friendly and location was very convienient.But we could NEVER recommend it!Choose another one!

  • 23rd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Istiklal Street is full of energy. Two million people visit in any given day. Even at 5am there is a bunch of people... the music never stops. You can find the best live bands, world music, oriental Turkish music and dance music.. if you have time reread the information about us at the website. because we had written about the situation and volume of music, we wish that before booking after that situation read about the information about where you want to have such a night at their information.

94%

We only stayed in this hostel for one night on our way through, but it was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel if you need a cheap place to stay in a great location.


97%

nice hostel.. in the center of istanbul.. Great staff, great value for money. the only negative is the noise of the clubs around the hostel in the night...


77%

Good bang for your buck and perfect location for Taksim's nightlife. The facilities aren't luxurious at all but if you just want a bed to sleep in and a comfy place to chill out, this place is just fine. I was the most impressed with the staff - everybody is so welcoming and friendly! Once, late at night, the man at the front desk insisted on escorting me to the corner store so no creepy Taksim guys would follow me. They sincerely want to get to know and help out their guests. Great experience!!


63%

the place was good and the girl who worked there was really friendly. the only thing that would stop me going back was the state of the bathroom. i hear that it is normal in turkey to have showers without a separate floor, but spiderwebs, mold, toilet paper running out and plastic roof tiles literally falling off aren't exactly the features that make a nice bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we have new and saparate bathroom now.... we made it

91%

Amazing place, highly recommend staying here. Would stay here if returning to Istanbul, even if only to see the staff again and soak up the chilled atmosphere (that being said, is a good place to stay for weekend party too!). This hostel has roughly one shared bathroom per dorm (which worked fine when we were there). Take the advice of the staff when going out to bars/clubs - they're always more than happy to help.

  • 2nd Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 18-24


97%

Two words for this hostel - Simply amazing. The staff that run this place are excellent, and they're what really made my stay. The free breakfast in the morning is delicious and a good way to start off a day around Istanbul. If I am ever back in Istanbul, I will not hesitate to book this hostel in a second. Thanks for everything Mystic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks friend good luck

100%

It was the best hippie atmosphere i have ever met! Exactly in the heart of Istanbul. Don't lose it.

  • 30th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I enjoyed it very much. The people are nice and helpful and good talking partners. The inner side is old fashioned and creative. Furthermore you are close to taksim and the neighborhood was neither dangerous nor frightening. As i said i enjoyed my staying.

  • 29th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location, very close to all the nightlife in taxim. Good kitchen and cool common room area, and pretty good turkish breakfast. However, security was a bit of a worry, no locks on doors and you have to right a doorbell to get into the building. Not the cleanest place I've ever stayed, but decent value for money.


89%

Great atmosphere, great place.


(214 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback