X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NR.19 Apartment Reviews

Defterdar yokusu No:19 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
32 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The lactation n roof top is excellent! The room is clean n simple but it would be better if there's a fan or AC ...it's really hot while in summer time even at night . I would come back in winter time for sure!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

It was incredibly cheap and in a good location. The rooftop has an amazing view. There is no signage, so it can be tricky to find, especially at night. I had to call, which kind of defeated the purpose of staying somewhere really cheap. The bathrooms weren't very clean, it was not awful, but when paint is falling off the ceiling of the bathroom and it stays on the floor for 3 days, you know things aren't being cleaned. I'd pay a little more to stay somewhere else.


80%

I had a great stay here. The owner, Serkat, is a really chill guy and a good host. The apartment building is not well marked so you will need to make sure that you know how to get there beforehand because I got lost and it was almost impossible finding it. The easiest way is to get there is to take the metro and get off at the Tophane station and ask around for the Organik shop (next to Nr.19) in Cihangir. Enjoy your stay but do know to bring your own toilet paper, fan (no AC), and soap.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Best view I have ever seen in Istanbul. Incredible.


74%

The Hostel is very placefull and is in a strategic position. It's a little challenging thw climb to reach it (in case you are coming from Thofane Tram stop Station) but the view, especially from the terrace, is worth the effort. The host is very friendly. The cleaning is not execellent

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

The apartment was good and had just what you need. It was clean, comfortable beds and a kitchen. The great thing about it is the location, in a calmed neighborhood, near public transport but most of all an AMAZING view of the city. You can see the water, the ships, Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet, and the Topkapi palace, and the houses on the hills. It's worth a night of staying home just for the view. Serkan, the owner is a super nice guy, easy going and helpful. I wish I would've stayed longer.

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel is v.good and in a good location as he is near taxim by walking around 7 minutes and Metro (Tophane) 3 minutes . Only problem is in the street as the place of the hostel has to walk hard as the street is like amountain but you can take taxi with 4 lira to Metro or go down by walking to the metero.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • hatef2
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The roof kitchen was a bit dirty and the stove was a bit dodgy. Really clean rooms and nice beds. 20 minute walk to almost every major site. Great value for the money.


91%

Excellent place.Serkan was very helpfull and nice to talk with.


71%

The perfect spot for any axcursion to the major sights of istanbul, wonderful roof-top terrace. serkkan is a very nice chap, he will alsways be willing to help if one needs advice. bathroom could need some upgrade, but kitchen facilities are fine. good value for such little money. julia, germany


66%

Good location with a beautiful view from our room on the Bosporus. The view is even better on the terrace. Unfortunately it's not like other hostels regarding the atmosphere as I've only seen one other person. There's no reception either. It looks more like an apartment, although the name might say that already. There's no sign outside and we needed to call the owner. Once in he was very helpful. The reason I would go back is the view from room and roof terrace


91%

I would like to stay there again but the slack thing is the location of the apartment is at the top of the hill..it's difficult for backpackers like us.tq


77%

Owner was very nıce and helpful and roof terrace was spectacular whıch made up for mınor faults that is I would have apprecıated kıtchen havıng a perıodıc deep clean amd WC paper provıded


83%

Good location, cheap, very helpful staff


74%

Good hostel, clean, with such an amazing view on istanbul !

  • 30th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We loved the location and the views from our room and the terrace were incredible. The only thing was that there was no formal reception, the owner just was around the building so definitely make sure you have his number (provided upon booking) and he knows when you are coming. He is really reliable and easy to get a hold of, but if you show up unannounced it will be hard to find him.

  • 13th May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great view from the rooftop terrace, lovely coffee shop downstairs, walking distance to galata +taxim and right next to tram stop. Area is wonderful - not touristy and the owner is very helpful and relaxed.

  • 1st May 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Everything there was more than perfect starting from Serkan the helpful warm owner, The location which mentioned in an article in The Guardian as one of best 5 places in the world (Also is just few steps away of Taksim), My room which was so simple...clean..sunny with a big window and an amazing view. Every day there was just incredible starting with Turkish coffee in the organic cafe right under the building of the hostel and ending it at night with a drink in the breathtaking rooftop terrace.


74%

Shared bathroom--no elevator- has 5+ floors

  • 16th Apr 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

NR 19 Hostel has bright, airy rooms - more like a modern boutique hotel than a hostel. Bathrooms were clean, water was hot, it is quiet at night. The best part was the amazing view from our window over Taksim, Sultanahmet and the Bosphorus - the price you pay is a short walk up a steep hill from the Tophane tram station, and stairs. Serkan, the owner, is incredibly warm and helpful. He even mailed our postcards that we weren't able to mail ourselves. An short taxi/tram ride to the clubs.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Istanbul Apartments

Please give us your feedback