X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

NY Moore Hostel Reviews

179 Moore Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
244 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff were absolutely lovely, and gave excellent advice about all sorts (transport, food, sightseeing) Location was close to the station, but you will spend a bit of time on the subway to sights, just part of staying in Brooklyn though!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

One of better hostels, where I was staying. Neighbourhood doesn't look so good, but there is safe. Hostel is clean, big kitchen, big rooms, kind staff. Great location, about 5 minutes to metro station, in 20 - 30 min, you get to Manhattan. Many bars, restaurants and shops near. Definitely recommended.


69%

Headphones which were provided didn't work.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The dorm is very simple so don't expect any extra furniture, just a bed and a small table with a table lamp. I was just there for 1 night so it was fine. Bring your own towel or else they will charge you $3 more.


97%

This is definitely the best hostel ever. It's very clean and all the staffs are friendly and nice :) It's really a good neighbor, very convenient. I really love this hostel, highly recommend!

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

If you book this hostel, make sure you don't get a room outside the courtyard. There are always people talking very loudly and drinking alcohol in the courtyard from midnight-5AM on weekends and you (if you're a light sleeper like me) will not be able to sleep since the walls are not very thick. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty old-fashioned, although I did appreciate the size of the bathroom/room as well as the full-sized bed. Roommates were very nice.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

keep on purveying happiness!


100%

This is one of the best hostels I staid at! The staff is amazing. The rooms are very spacious with big beds. There were a lot of solo travelers and the courtyard especially is great for meeting people. Lots of people didn't even want to leave the hostel to go out in the evening because the atmosphere in the hostel itself was so great. Let the good times roll!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

i was stay there for 4 days at first, then i decided to stay 3 more days afterwards. the staffs of hostel was very nice and helpful , i was late for my free luggage storerage time and they did not even charge me for that. excellent location, 5-7 mins walk to subway. the room is big enough and very clean, pretty goog value for money in NYC. definitely recommend to my friends and would like to come back again.


86%

The location of the hostel is actually really good. It was also clean and safe. Just the staff was unfriendly and annoyed when you asked questions.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

We were give the room right next to the lobby. Make sure your not given the same room. It is a very noisy place. Very small space also The area is kinda ghetto. 10 min walk from subway. Be careful of all the extra charges. Especially the tax that is not shown on the original bill

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing experience. The hostel was just coming off renovations ( done in April I think) and the place had amazing infrastructure. The entirety of it was in the process of being covered in street art from guests and local artists to give it this awesome Brooklyn vibe. The cleaning staff seem to be working non stop and the place was spotless. The staff was as helpful and friendly as you can get without them being family, location was perfect to sub anywhere.the restaurants around are best in NY

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

A nice new hostel still working out the kinks. Our room was amazing- massive room with high ceilings and double bed bunks in a 3 bed dorm! Heaven. However the kitchen area is basically a bench with plastic cutlery/paper plates and a kettle. There are 2 huge fridges packed with food but no utensils/plates/mugs/bowls to actually prepare or eat said food. We ate our cereal out of styrofoam cups. Not very environmentally friendly. Location could be better but close to subway.


94%

Seems like a hotel with shared rooms. Very nice overall and very good for NYC. Very central and there are a lot of activites to connect people.


94%

Very comfortable; excellent value, especially since our group didn't have a lot to spend. Employees were very nice and helpful.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel, way better than a hotel 3 stars or less. BIG rooms, big bathroom - best part is that u have a bathroom in the room and only have to share with two others. Beds are however not that comfy and it wasn't great to sleep there for seven nights. Staff is great.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Super super friendly and helpful staff. Great location, just off the L in Brooklyn. I booked a 3bed mixed dorm with ensuite. Room was spacious - a bunk bed with double mattresses and one big single bed. Bathroom was big also, shower was strong. Lots of hot water. There's a kitchen and dining area that everyone can use with fridges for food, microwaves, kettles etc. The common space is lovely - lots of couches and chairs and a really big TV. Lots of chances to get to now fellow guests.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Friendly staff, seven minute walk from an L line subway stop. Only downside was that the mattresses and frame are horrible! Others in my dorm and other dorms had the same complaint. The mattress is depressed on one side or it sinks deeply in the middle.




View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback