X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NY Moore Hostel Reviews

179 Moore Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
591 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Had a really good time! Nice area too... cool bars and restaurants.

  • 9th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff was kind of rude

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms in this place are gigantic. There are no bunks, just 4 large beds in a larger room, nicely spread out (there was even a big couch!). The staff were pleasant and informative, the entire hostel was very clean and had excellent cooking facilities.


97%

I wrote a full review on Yelp about this place. It should be under my name "Renee C."

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel was really clean, close to the city, and the beds were pretty comfortable. Except when arrived didn't get told there was a kitchen down the stairs and only found out the day I left but I probably could've asked just assumed there wasn't one.


91%

The staff was incredibly friendly from the moment we got there and was always on hand to answer any questions or offer advice about getting around the city. We had a private room that was pretty well maintained (the AC was definitely needed and appreciated), although I personally found the mattresses a little thin. But that's only a minor complaint to an overall great stay!

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

showers need cleaning

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

My stat was great! The only things were that the Internet was intermittent and the young man with a dark pony tail during night shift was EXTREMELY rude!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms in general were great, but the bathroom (particularly the shower and the towel-as-matt) hadbugs and did not seem all that clean, neither did the "kitchen facilities" which by the standards of other hostels which I have paid less per night for- in locations such as central London- were lacking. There also seemed to be a lack of social/friendly atmosphere/ elements to this hostel, and though some staff were incredibly friendly and helpful others seemed to be reluctant to assist.


86%

The hostel has a very relaxed atmosphere. It sort of feels like being in someone's house. The vibe is a bit muted, so not exactly a party spot, but nice all the same. The staff were great and the bedrooms spacious. My room had no bunk beds in it which added to the feeling of space.


89%

Really cool hostel in a cool neighborhood. Good accessibility to other parts of NYC and JFK. Spacious dorms with single beds. Social life just depends on the people who are around, sometimes great folks in the backyard and the common room, but sometimes the hostel is quite deserted, though. The only suggestion would be to provide proper cutlery and dishes instead of disposables, this is a huge amount of garbage every day. Hostel would be my first choice when coming back to NYC, keep it running!


80%

Was a good hostel the staff were friendly and everyone was easy to get on with

  • 2nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

super expensive hostel, but I guess that's just NYC...? the staff were nice. I came here after originally having booked Chelsea International Hostel for about the same price, which didn't have wifi even though they advertised it, and the staff there were rude... so I guess in comparison to other NYC hostels, the moore hostel is good.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

This hostel was clean and cool, very spacious and comfortable. It's only a 7 ish minute walk from two stations which will take you into the heart of Williamsburg, Brooklyn and Manhatten. Very hipster neighbourhood with nice coffee and beer. Only problem was that it wasn't that social so I found it tricky to meet people. But lovely otherwise, cheapest I could find in NYC.


100%

superb hosTel. The staff is very helpful, i booked by mistake one more night, asked to cancel it - they did it and gave me a full refund for that night. Highly recommand!

  • 27th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Easily one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in.

  • 24th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Strongly recommend this place: Midtown accessible by Morgan stn around corner. To hostel: U need better system for tracking stuff in fridge; teach staff how to use electronics (no one could show me how to use Netflix!). Corner store has excellent egg, cheese and bacon sandwich for bfst for $2. Buy water and liquid toiletries at same store rather than in city or at Walgreens). Laundry around corner. Nice mix of guests.


69%

No atmosphere at all at the hostel . But nice facilities good location but still not worth the money you pay even if it is New York


89%

It's generally a nice stay there. Rooms are spacious and clean, and common area is good for meeting new people. It feels safe at night, because a lot of people still hang out on the street at late night. Staff is very helpful and super nice!

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Honestly this is a pretty awful hostel. The location was terrible and the atmosphere was like it was a funeral 24/7. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable but that's the only good thing I can say. They even charged me $5 to store my luggage. There are way better hostels in New York


(67 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback