X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NY Moore Hostel Reviews

179 Moore Street, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
594 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

This Hostel is (at least in off-season) a very quite and relaxed place to stay. There're probably better places if you'd like to meet a lot of people. If you just wanna see the city and have a quite, comfortable and clean hostel, go there!

  • 8th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I could not have asked for a better place. The front desk was great. The shower and rooms very clean, they have a kitchen, living room areas that are very comfortable . Art all over the place, books. I am definitely going to stay there again. LESS THAN $25 BEST PRICE too.

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Sucks you have to pay for luggage storage if its past 1pm. But great hostel and stay over all.


86%

Very comfortable quality beds, warm and clean. Good facilities, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Only negative was the noisy junk yard across the road.

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Very dirty bathroom with. Extremely hot room. Weird atmosphere seing as I was expecting young residents, and most were older american men.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Was a pretty good place overall, staff are helpful and the facilities are good. The only grump that I have is that there are a lot of long-term stayers that were always having some kind of an argument which kinda ruined the atmosphere. But that's hostel life I guess.


94%

Excellent hotel, my only complaint would be it can get noisy in the hotel, particularly late at night. I was staying in a room near the common room and people were shouting and watching TV pretty loudly at all times of the night. Would be good to have a volume control recommendation for those using th TV after 12 or so.

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Movie Monday Taco Tuesday Red wine Wednesday Pub Crowl Thursday Freaky Friday And more music truth the hall ways


60%

I wasn't in the hostel for too much of the time, however the rooms were big and the beds comfortable. Luggage storage before/after stay was very secure with staff escorting you, unlocking door and staying until you left room before locking again. Location is a little uncomfortable, especially for a single female and there doesn't seem to be too much happening around except a lot of warehouses. Not too far from metro stations, however still a good walk. Mixed crowd staying there.


83%

Good hostel, everything you need for a decent price in NY, clean and a good play to Netflix and chill in ;)


66%

Good price


97%

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. The staff were fantastic and super helpful! The dorm was very big and comfortable single beds (no bunks). The only downside is the price (which is just the fact in New York). Highly recommended.


71%

Nice big rooms, but the location is not ideal if you plan to be visiting Manhattan daily (where all the major attractions are), as it is at least a 30 minute subway ride from most things. The area is also a little bit scary at first, with lots of NY public housing nearby and a trashyard directly across the road from the hostel (bit smelly).

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This was my first ever hostel experience and and really enjoyed it. The social area is really nice as well as the outdoor area. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. It is a short walk from the train that takes you to the Manhattan. Upon arriving the receptionist quickly realized I was new to hostels and gave me a quick tour. Overall a great experience.


86%

Highly Recommend The NY Moore As A Great, Affordable Place To Stay, With Comfort And Atmosphere. The Immediate Area Location Is Plagued By Industry, Driving Poverty, And Health Issues, Particularly Offensive Is Air Born Powdery Cement, From United Cement. Other Contaminents Appeared To Be Industrial Runoff /w Boars Head (Cold cuts) Sitting In The Middle Of It. Area People And Shops Strive To Thrive, And The Subway-Train-NYC Is Readily Accessable. I'd Stay Here Again


86%

The mattress was a little bit too hard. But it was ok.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

There was no particularly good point. the location is kind of unique. It seemed sketchy at first sight, but it was not(?). And it strongly remains the color of Puerto Rico. It was not like I'm in nyc.


97%

Great location in Brooklyn, great staff friendly and real hip with the local scene. I would strongly recommend this hostel for your stay in NY

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Stayed there 4 nights. Staff is nice. Rooms are clean (exept the bathroom floor maybe but that's pretty much the case in every hostel). Neighborhood might seem a little run down at first sight but it's safe and it's very up-and-coming (many hipsters). Transport to Manhattan is really fast and the station is nearby. Don't think you can do better for that price. Would recommend.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

In a quiet but upcoming area in bushwick, some very cool restaurants Etc close by!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(330 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback