X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

NYC Summer Dorms Reviews

1 University Plaza, Brooklyn, NY 11201, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
172 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 99%Cleanliness
  • 96%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best value for your money. It is a very accessible place with security all around, it is a great place to stay. Very nice hostel. Great for students with small budget. Just 10 minutes from Manhattan.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice staff, not far from Manhattan. The rooms were nice and big. There's only 4 people per room. Dorm is inside a campus so it's really safe.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice facilities for the price I paid, including a fridge. The room was also very big, wasn't luxurious, but clean. Perfect location, in the middle of everything. It's a massive building and easy to meet people. Very close to the metro so you can get to anywhere quickly.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Burkina Faso
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's very close to the metro station. Great for students and backpackers with small budget. The room was big and Wi-Fi worked well.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cayman Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The rooms were nice and big. The location is perfect and the subway is just a couple of minutes away. There are 2 security checkpoints to get into the building so it felt very safe.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Room comes with a fridge and microwave and a safe. The subway stop is literally outside in the corner. The bed and pillow were really comfortable. It was never too hot or too cold at night.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahrain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great rooms, nice facilities and friendly staff. Really close to everything coz it near a subway station. Great if you're a first-time tourist in NY.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It was right next to the train, very convenient location. The rooms were also very big. I never waited to use the shower and toilet.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greenland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The building was secure and close to the subway. It's right across the Dekalb Ave station. The check-in was quick and easy. The rooms and bathrooms are kept clean.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bahamas
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

It is a short subway ride or walk across Brooklyn Bridge to get to Manhattan Island. very safe and secure with a guard at the entrance 24/7. Great for travelers on a tight budget.

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Angola
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great place! The building was secure and close to the subway and only 4 people in a room.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Aruba
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The rooms were big and there were only 4 in a room. DeKalb station is literally just across the street.

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Cheap, secure and accessible. Great find in NY!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Armenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Wonderful gem in the heart of NY! Not a lot of people when I stayed there but they still kept the place in top shape.

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Albania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
89%

It's a great alternative to pricey hotels. Only 4 people per room so it's not crowded at all. The bathrooms were always kept clean.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Biggest problem: the facilities weren't up to par with standard expectations for a Western hostel. - no public computer (not all of us have smartphones) - no telephone for making outbound calls - one of the three showers on the floor didn't work Problem #2: cleanliness. The room was filthy. The mattress had sand all over it when I got there, and I had to keep shoes on all the time because of the dirty floor. #3: staff. They offered no solutions for problems and were very unhelpful.


69%

The hostel has a good location, it is close to Brooklyn Bridge maybe just 15 minutes walk but the room was really dirty, especially floor there was a big mess and also the bed was covered with dust but on the other hand the bed linen was clean.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The place is very well located, close to the bridge and to many subway stations but it's actually very dirty, and I've been in many hostels in my life.


20%

We were not allowed to stay there because we where there with our son, who was the only student of the family but who unfortunately was minor of age ! Don't go there if you have children ! Staff is very unflexible, the didn't let us stay and we had to find another hotel in New York in the middle of the night ! Very bad experience ! Never again !


86%

Unlike the negative experiences some reviewers had regarding cleanliness, I found BNAIP to be quite tidy during my stay. If you've ever lived in a dorm, then you know what BNAIP'll be like. I had a very positive experience, except for 2 things: first, although on the Hostel World website, it indicates you can check in as early as 11am, in reality you can only check in after 1pm. Also, after checkout, there is no "safe room" for luggage. It has to be left in the hallway. Other than that, great!

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(112 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback