Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nagasaki International Hostel AKARI

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1479 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Jul 2017
8.3

Good hostel in Nagasaki. A bit far from the train station, but not too bad to get too by streetcar (felt just like home in SF!). Unique environment to be in, near some interesting shrines and canals. Beds are okay, facilities are very clean and social atmosphere is little to moderate. LOVED Nagasaki, and this served as a decent hop-off to see the whole city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • willrrowe3768
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.7

The staff were super helpful and friendly. We ended up doing lots of things that we wouldn't have heard about otherwise so thank you. The staff also gave us a voucher for discounts at some of the sights in Nagasaki which saved us a good few hundred yen. The rooms were really clean, we really enjoyed our stay at Akari and would highly recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
9.7

This hostel is located in a good location close to the train line and several sights. Clean comfortable and brilliant staff! I loved my stay. It was a little quiet when I was there since only 4 people were in the entire place so cannot comment on atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
7.4

The hostel is fairly well situated, being close to the tram stop and about a 15 minute walk from some good places to go out. The beds were very comfortable, however, the hostel loses marks for having an uncomfortable common area with slow computers. And although I feel rude saying it, the staff could have been a bit warmer to guests and a bit more helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.1

Best hostel in Nagasaki, I would stay here again. Pretty easy to get there from the train station and well located

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
26th May 2017
8.3

The guy who was working on reception was very helpful and friendly - thank you. The hostel is a bit dated - especially the bathroom/shower area. This is the least modern hostel we have stayed in throughout Japan but the most expensive. It is walking distance from the train station. Not too close to the Peace Park - tram ride or 50 minute walk. Close to restaurants and centre. Hostel was clean and comfortable but no privacy curtain which is something we've got used to in Japan. Wifi wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

The staff at this hostel were so amazingly helpful, it's a nice spot right by a canal. Also if you can get a boat to Hasima (Battleship Island).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oscarserin7653
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
9th May 2017
6.3

No atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd May 2017
7.4

Pros: close to downtown area, provided with amazing map of attractions, restaurants, where to go, etc, nice staff Cons: no privacy in shared dorms, a bit dark, no elevator

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2017
8.0

Excellent location. Easy to find. Lots of beautiful temples around the corner and faces a nice row of bridges. Hostel provided 2 really good maps of local area and the city with great recommendations. Staff were very helpful in suggesting recommendations and helping arrange a booking. Everyone very friendly. Secure room with no issues. Hostel was clean but our room felt a bit 'tired' and was not the most comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Nagasaki is a wonderful city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.