Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nagasaki International Hostel AKARI

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
6th Jun 2017
7.4

The hostel is fairly well situated, being close to the tram stop and about a 15 minute walk from some good places to go out. The beds were very comfortable, however, the hostel loses marks for having an uncomfortable common area with slow computers. And although I feel rude saying it, the staff could have been a bit warmer to guests and a bit more helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
9.1

Best hostel in Nagasaki, I would stay here again. Pretty easy to get there from the train station and well located

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nsmith183826
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
26th May 2017
8.3

The guy who was working on reception was very helpful and friendly - thank you. The hostel is a bit dated - especially the bathroom/shower area. This is the least modern hostel we have stayed in throughout Japan but the most expensive. It is walking distance from the train station. Not too close to the Peace Park - tram ride or 50 minute walk. Close to restaurants and centre. Hostel was clean and comfortable but no privacy curtain which is something we've got used to in Japan. Wifi wasn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th May 2017
10.0

The staff at this hostel were so amazingly helpful, it's a nice spot right by a canal. Also if you can get a boat to Hasima (Battleship Island).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • oscarserin7653
  • Denmark, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
9th May 2017
6.3

No atmosphere.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd May 2017
7.4

Pros: close to downtown area, provided with amazing map of attractions, restaurants, where to go, etc, nice staff Cons: no privacy in shared dorms, a bit dark, no elevator

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th Apr 2017
8.0

Excellent location. Easy to find. Lots of beautiful temples around the corner and faces a nice row of bridges. Hostel provided 2 really good maps of local area and the city with great recommendations. Staff were very helpful in suggesting recommendations and helping arrange a booking. Everyone very friendly. Secure room with no issues. Hostel was clean but our room felt a bit 'tired' and was not the most comfortable. Enjoyed our stay. Nagasaki is a wonderful city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Apr 2017
4.0

could not get any sleep at all, very noisy and door to the dorm is very loud, facilities are old and not clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
9.7

Awesome place! Staff were supper friendly, also provided a gourmet map which indicates all the delicious shops nearby. Locker is a bit small, so put your valuable in the locker and you leave your bag in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th Apr 2017
8.0

Good hostel - easy to find, close to tram stop to get around the city, restaurants nearby, great showers (a slightly bigger shower curtain would be nice though!) No room for large luggage in the room really (can't fit under the bed). Good there is a small locker outside the room for valuables though. Staff very helpful, and even found my ring which I lost whilst there and posted back to me (thank you again!) Wifi was great. Would recommend this hostel to those visiting!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.