X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nagasaki International Hostel AKARI Reviews

2-2 Kojiyamachi, Nagasaki, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1043 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

thank you!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights. I enjoyed my stay there. Staff was very friendly and helpful and the hostel was very clean.


94%

We felt at home in the Akari hostel. The next day we discovered that the owner(s) of the hostel are friends of our Nagasaki friends !!

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hosts, great location ... a little bit noisy at night ... but Great in general!

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Akari staffs are very kind. And facilities are convinient!!

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved staying at this place. My friend and I rented a private twin room (bunkbeds) which was very clean and spacious for a hostel room. My only complaint is that the bottom bunk was made up of two twin mattresses, both of which were uncomfortable. The top bunk was fine. The staff was very helpful and quick to help if we had any questions. I would love to stay here again should I return to Nagasaki in the future!

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The rooms were nice, the stuff was friendly but the sanitary installations were a little bit old and that`s what they looked like. Internet AND Wi-Fi is only in the living room available.


83%

The hostel is centrally located and easily accessible via the tram network. It takes around 15 min on the tram to get to the peace park and memorial museum. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms are nice too. After checkout they will not allow you back in the common room and there is not much room to store luggage. Staff food recommendations are really good. Make sure you go to the 100yen sushi train!!


91%

The showers are fantastic :D super powerful.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location. Quiet area yet fun environment. Highly recommend this. Staff are superb. Thanks guys, will be back


89%

The location was amazing with the Spectacles Bridge just outside of the hostel. It's also walking distances to many places. The staff were friendly and helped us book trips to Battleship Island (strongly recommended for everyone travelling to Nagasaki!). However, the atmosphere of the hostel was rather hotel-like.


83%

I would definitely recommend it to my friends. The only problem is parking. There is public parking around the hostel. But it's by hour.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly and helpful staff, the property is very close to the station. Excellent place to stay.


97%

Akari staff are its best asset - really informative, friendly and efficient. A great activity they offer is free guided walks with a local - Tomoko took ours and was lovely. Hostel is comfortable, very clean and in a convenient and pretty position by the river. Highly recommended.


100%

Very well setup hostel near the central train station. Rooms are very clean. There is a nice lounge, kitchen and little reading room. The staff are very nice and helpful. They have detailed listings of tourist activities in town, possible day trips and transportation schedules, very useful.


83%

Akari has nice Japanese style rooms and is good value for your money overall. Short walk to the centre. The only minus was they kicked us out from the common room immediately at 11 when we wanted to stay for a while to use the wi-fi. Usually not a problem in hostels. Otherwise the staff was very helpful and spoke good English.

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Had a fantastic stay with Akari - amazing location in front of the Nakashiwa river and a short stroll away from Nagasaki's excellent night life and best food area. Staff were very kind and obliging and the hostel itself is exactly what you would want - great facilities with clean and spacious rooms. ありがとうございます Akari!


89%

Had a nice stay here, great location. The hostel is well equipped with information about things to do around the area. The staff were amazing and so helpful, they arranged luggage transfers for us which was really appreciated. Would definitely recommend this hostel.


100%

Lovely place and lovely people! Super clean and good location. Can't fault it.


83%

Hostel is easy reached by tram from the station. We had a warm welcome. Guys seem to be somewhat hooked on The Netherlands :) they even have typically Dutch bikes for rent. Nagasaki is not that big, so many things can be reached by foot from the hostel. Private room was spacious. Kitchen had everything we needed.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Nagasaki Hostels

Please give us your feedback