Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nate's Place Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
3.7

Poorly designed hazardous building (steep solid concrete stairs not to mention that are usually wet with no griping attached). The rooms are clean but no air conditioning! The facilities (kitchen/bathroom) are disgusting, old and completely run down (ceiling tiles falling out) . Staff also bully tenants into paying a $50 cleaning fee for other peoples mess in the room if not kept clean (illegal in Australian law without signed agreement).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
8.0

Loved this hostel and would defiantly recommend it to anyone. We arrived late Monday night and was greeted by the night manager. We met our room mates who where lovely and welcomed us straight away! We stayed here for a week and by the end it was like a big family :) everyone was so nice including all the long term guys and the people who worked for the hostel. The tv room and roof terrace where really good before a night out. This hostel was a great start to our trip :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jan 2017
6.3

If you want peace and quiet, not here. If you want easy access around the city and a place to meet lots of cool peole, this is a great place. Lots of stairs. 3rd floor accommodations meaning you are lugging a suitcase, so diva's beware. Bathroom floors are always wet and icky and most of the doors, shelves, toilets have some flaw.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
14th Jan 2017
6.3

Helpful staff for late night check-in but otherwise a party hostel. Loud & busy. Super super hot. Room was a total mess as nowhere for storage of bags etc. Bathroom was dirty and wet constantly. Location good for going to hyde park but is down the hill from Kings Cross Station so a short but steep walk to catch the train.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.0

The hostel is good for a young crowd and you could tell that there were long-term people staying there as no one seemed the friendliest to new comers. A lot of shoes out in the corridor. The roof was a laugh and an they had an iron which was good! Location is good, you can get a train pretty close. Room was really small and I found black hair in bed and stains - I'm blonde. Overall an alright place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Really enjoyed my stay at Nate's and look forward to going back.. while it was slightly intimidating at first, due to the large number of long stay people who new each other well, by the end of my week there is made tons of good friends and felt very comfortable there! Location was great and there was also something to do, would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Dec 2016
7.7

SO hot in the room, couldn't really sleep. Not the best atmosphere. We were pretty unlucky, people took both our food from the refrigerator and our straightener in the dorm. Breakfast sucked and the butter and jam was always empty much earlier than the breakfast closed. Alot of showers and toilets ++++ and really good location! Nice rooftop as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
9.1

Excellent hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Dec 2016
8.6

Nates place is fab!! It's in the perfect location within walking distance of the Harbour Bridge. The activities put on by the hostel were brill especially the pool party on Christmas Eve! We've only just left but already want to go back to Sydney-we loved it!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Dec 2016
8.6

We stayed here for two weeks over Christmas and New Years And we really enjoyed it. The kitchen, movie rooms and rooftop were very clean and tidy and had a great atmosphere. Bathrooms were a let down, the drainage wasn't good, there was always water all over the floor especially in showers so it wasn't very good. Staff were great especially the manager! Very helpful! Lots of activities on over the holidays too!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.