NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ndame Beach Lodge Zanzibar Reviews

Reviews & Ratings Explained


23 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We were thoroughly spoilt by such a great place, excellent location by the Ocean, great food, brilliant service from a very charming staff. A really relaxing few days in great surroundings.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews

We stayed for 5 nights at Ndame Beach Lodge and we had an amazing time! From the moment we arrived we liked how close it was to the beach and liked our room too. Then we tried eating at the restaurant... we couldn't believe how incredible the food was! Top quality! Especially the seafood platter, it's unlike anything we have ever had before. The staff were lovely, pleasant, friendly and helpful.

  • 5th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


OK if you just want to lie in the sun and paddle in the sea but little Zanzibarian character or atmosphere. More of a hotel for sunseekers than a hostel for backpackers. Some rooms better than others. The restaurant food is good but expensive and the service is sometimes poor. They only take cash and the nearest ATM is in Stonetown which is a 1 hour/50 USD each-way taxi ride away so make sure you bring lots of cash with you. There's almost nothing else to do in Paje.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. You are right - the beach is the main appeal to guests, but we do encourage our guests to explore the surrounding areas and think Paje is busy. Our restaurant is one of the most popular, and in comparison to similar restas provides excellent value for money. Our lodge is not exclusive to backpackers - we like to welcome all types of guests, which is why we have different rooms available. We would like to change the ATM situation, but this is beyond our control.


Nice place right at the beach. very nice restaurant with lovely food and staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachel thank you for your feedback, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back one day, and we can assure you that our staff is still friendly and the food is even better. Have a nice day


lovely setting, really sweet bungalows. Just whatI wanted.


Gorgeous location, the beach was far nicer here than the beaches we saw at Jambiani outside much more expensive accommodation. The rooms were pretty basic and rustic, and we did wonder if our bed was going to collapse one night, but other than that it felt secure and was reasonably comfortable. The restaurant was quite nice with great daily specials, although the staff did have not much English so it was difficult to ask for anything even slightly out of the ordinary. Overall a great stay.


its a perfect place for nice and hot holidays... many thx for mohi : )

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michal thank you very much for taking your time for giving us feedback, although it has been some time ago. In the meantime, I can assure you that our lodge is still the perfect place for a nice, relaxing holiday. We have improved our accommodation, facilities and service, and we like to boast that our team is one of the friendliest and loveliest around. hopefully we can welcome you in our little paradise again soon


The room we stayed in was a 25m walk to the beach- it was just beautiful. We stayed here in November, and it was very quiet. The staff were very nice, although the service for lunch and dinner took almost an hour- but we were in no hurry and the views across the water were gorgeous. Paje is very isolated, and we were not aware we needed CASH! There are no ATMs or hotels you can get money from ! is also easy to arranoge your own taxi to Paje much cheaper than the hotel offers. Very relaxing stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Gerlinda thank you very much for taking your time to feedback on our lodge, which has been some time ago. We can assure you that the beach is still beautiful, and the staff is still very friendly - the service has improved, and our guests today don't have to wait for their food as long as you had to. We are working on the payment facilities and soon we will be able to accept credit card payment as well. Hopefully we can welcome you in our little paradise again some day


A very personal and cosy place. It is the whole atmosphere, who give you this good vibes.

  • 22nd Aug 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Bernd thank you very much for the feedback that you provided some time ago. We are happy to let you know that our laid-back atmosphere is still one of the main features of our place, not to forget the amazing beach. Our staff is still one of the most friendly team around, and other guests keep on commenting how lovely they are in their attitude and service. We hope we can welcome you again some day! Have a nice day


lovely location and easy going atmosphere. good food. rooms a bit rustic but good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Erica thank you for the comment that you left a long time ago - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay two years ago, and we can tell you that things have only improved, so maybe one day you come back to visit us on one of Zanzibar's whitest and finest beaches. Our rooms are being renovated on a continuous basis, and we work hard to keep the good value for money in our lodge. Have a nice day!


Nice decorated room on arrival. Very idyllic. Nice food, but some more vegetables wouldn't do harm. Free hot beverages whole day. Generator for powercuts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Pieter it has been some time since you visited us, and we appreciate that you took time to give some feedback. We are happy to let you know that a lot has changed in the last two years, and you might find our renovated rooms now even nicer and the food even better. Free coffee all day long is available, and thankfully, the powercuts have become less, but we still have the generator, just in case. We would be happy to see you here again one day!


I found food at lunchtime and evening disappointing and found better service and better value for money at other nearby lodges.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Margaret it's been a long time since you were here, and although your feedback was probably very valid, we are happy to let you know that our restaurant has completely changed over the two years, and believe it or not, it has become one of the most popular restaurants on the South East Coast. This is probably due to our new F&B chef, who has completely revamped the menu and we now offer a delicious range of international and Swahili cuisine. Maybe we can welcome you again some time!


We had a wonderful holiday and really relaxed. Our favourite spot was the hammock overlooking the pristine waters. The view kept on changing with the change of tide, light and colours. It kept us enthralled and we will be back. Many thanks to Hans, Sandra and the warm cheerful staff that provided a wonderful holiday to remember.

  • 14th Jul 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

View all Zanzibar Hotels

Please give us your feedback