Hostelworld.com

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.4

Good location on the edge of the old city, so it's a bit quieter (relatively- the city always had music going on) at night. The staff are really friendly and helpful, especially Diego- he knows everything! He soon put my mind at rest about safety to explore the area. Whole place could be cleaner- the kitchen needs new equipment pots etc. Nice atmosphere and common areas: again they need a good clean. I liked this hostel overall. (Don't be put off by the tiny sign on the front door, it's there!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • meggie2231066
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Love this hostel. Staff so friendly and helpful. Great location....just a few minutes from the main part of the historic centre. Quiet at night when returning from the centre. Breakfast is really good. Stayed already 5 nights...had planned to then leave, but staying longer now as adore Salvador! Highly recommend the hostel. Amenities great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.3

Really enjoyed the stay here - ended up extending it! Location is nice, close to some main attractions, and if timed right and you stay on a Tuesday night you can go out in Pelourinho to experience some of Salvador's culture. The hostel itself is nice, an area to relax outside and in, good cooking facilities, delicious varied breakfast and helpful staff. It helps to speak Portuguese but the manager speaks English anyway and will always give his best advice on what he recommends to do/not to do

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jan 2017
9.7

I've been coming back to this hostel for about 12 years, over 4 different visits to Salvador and Brazil, I'd say this says more than enough. This place really feels like home every time I'm in the city. Helpful, friendly and full of good advice staff. Location is fantastic; 4 mins walk to Pelourinho.Good security, great and varied breakfast. Fantastic terrace-lounge area with chill-out/lazy floor area too and great, wide view over the historic centre.Bars & good atmosphere in square just outside

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.7

We really enjoyed our time on Nega Maluca. Such a great atmosphere, the people where great, really nice location and a delicious breakfast! We really recommend this place to everyone who's going to Salvador, and if we are going to Salvador again, this will surely be the place to go. Thank you so much Diego and all the other lovely people there! Hugs from Sofie and Solveig

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Nega Meluca is a fantastic and unique hostel perfectly situated for exploring the historical area of Salvador. The staff are extremely helpful and full of advice on any queries you may have about the area, beds are comfortable and bathrooms good, only thing that might be an issue for some is a lack of large lockers to put bags in. That being said, small lockers exist for passports/wallets etc. And I never felt as though there was a lack of security at any point. Breakfast is great too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed several nights and enjoyed it a lot.The location is perfect,also the atmosphere,very relaxed,very nice and helpfull staff,good breakfast,i got lots of information about how to move around in Salvador and a lot of other things I wanted to know.a place where you can really feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.9

Good location and a nice and helpful owner. We were the only ones so there was not so much atmosphere but in the high season it will maybe be a nice atmosphere. Nice breakfast and balcony but the chill area is small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
10.0

I stayed at the Nega for two nights and it was everything I had hoped for. The location couldn't have been better and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, security was good and the rooms and facilities were very clean and tidy. Will recommend Nega Maluca to anyone traveling to Salvador. Great atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.