Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 576 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2017
8.9

Great place to just come and relax in the sacred space, nice Terence looking over the area Nice location for local bars and restaurants but not too loud like further down town All round good chilled vibe With genuine not forced friendlyness from staff that rubs off on the guests

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Mar 2017
4.3

This was the weirdest hostel I've ever stayed in. I booked because of all the amazing reviews on here, but it was not at all what I expected. Apparently there were 3 other people staying there but I didn't see any other guests. There wasn't anyone on reception in the morning (10.30am) when I wanted to ask questions etc. I was in the 8 bed and it was really dirty, the mattresses were filthy. It felt like after carnival, everyone had given up. I left early as I didn't feel comfortable there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

Great people. Near pelourinho. SOme restaurants and bars arround. Good experience there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.3

Good location, lots of nice bars and restaurants. Staff were helpful and friendly, especially Diego! Breakfast was good, lots on offer... good flow of backpackers to hang out with!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Danielkatz88
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
4th Mar 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved my stay at Nega Maluca! Stated at the private double room, and although it was a bit stuffy (there's a/c, I just didn't want to use it), it was perfect for me. Great atmosphere that is highlighted by an awesome chill zone, great kitchen (with awesome breakfasts!) And all an all a very safe feeling. Location is great and super close to everything you might need, but the best part of all was the staff, and especially Diego. He took amazing care of everything we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
9.1

If you want to Know what It feels like to be a "soteropolitano" this is the right place! Nega maluca is in the historic center of Salvador and has a charming atmosphere! The staff is always Very helpfull and gives you valuable tips of the city.Surely I will come back!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.6

Incredibly knowledgable and open staff made me feel very welcome. Hostel is accessible 24h which was especially useful during carnaval and the breakfast is always satisfying. Comfortable beds and a friendly atmosphere made this a great stay, definitely returning to nega maluca. Daniel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Feb 2017
8.9

I visited Salvador for the main carnival week and has an amazing time. The staff where really friendly and welcoming even had a special protocol during carnival to improve our stay. Extended breakfasts etc. The general feedback would be the building needs some attention and love. Also the laundry service was a bit disappointing considering the charge. But over all I had a great experience there meeting wonderful people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
9.7

I stayed at Nega Maluca for Carnaval - what a great choice. Not only do the staff know the city and the area blindfolded, but they create a specific Carnaval experience that makes you feel safe and welcome and allows you to really enjoy what can be an otherwise stressful/overwhelming experience. Breakfast is great. And location is killer -in Pelourinho, so you can stick around there if you don't want to venture out, and the city is amazing. Door buzzer, 24/hr reception, etc.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.7

Go to nega mega if you are in Salvador. It is so beautiful and there is the BEST breakfast. It is in a really safe area and the staff are so nice to help you and recommend different things.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.