Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Nega Maluca Guesthouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 546 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.9
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.8
Nega Maluca Guesthouse Located at Rua dos Marchantes 15, Santo Antonio/Pelourinho, , Salvador.
Nega Maluca Guesthouse
Brazil
Salvador Bahia 40301-430 Rua dos Marchantes 15, Santo Antonio/Pelourinho
91% 546
-12.9676849 -38.5058569
Nega Maluca Guesthouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
3rd Jan 2017
9.4

Nega Meluca is a fantastic and unique hostel perfectly situated for exploring the historical area of Salvador. The staff are extremely helpful and full of advice on any queries you may have about the area, beds are comfortable and bathrooms good, only thing that might be an issue for some is a lack of large lockers to put bags in. That being said, small lockers exist for passports/wallets etc. And I never felt as though there was a lack of security at any point. Breakfast is great too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.7

I stayed several nights and enjoyed it a lot.The location is perfect,also the atmosphere,very relaxed,very nice and helpfull staff,good breakfast,i got lots of information about how to move around in Salvador and a lot of other things I wanted to know.a place where you can really feel at home!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.9

Good location and a nice and helpful owner. We were the only ones so there was not so much atmosphere but in the high season it will maybe be a nice atmosphere. Nice breakfast and balcony but the chill area is small.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
10.0

I stayed at the Nega for two nights and it was everything I had hoped for. The location couldn't have been better and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, security was good and the rooms and facilities were very clean and tidy. Will recommend Nega Maluca to anyone traveling to Salvador. Great atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.7

Really nice place to stay and to discover Salvador. Totally recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
9.4

Lovely place to stay all the staff were so helpful. When my luggage went missing for a few days I was lent some cloths until they arrived. Take usual precautions and the is safe to wander.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
9.1

I went to Brazil for 7 weeks and stayed in Salvador for about 2 and a half weeks total. I would not recommend any other place more than Nega Maluca. The staff here is so warm and welcoming, while the Pelourinho is full of music and culture. I have made some wonderful friends in the pelourinho and I particularly owe it to the inviting staff here! I highly recommend this to anyone interested in getting to know Brazilian culture beyond the tourist sites and general budget travelers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jul 2016
9.4

nega maluca has a great location, the staff is young and friendly, the breakfast has a different home made addition to it every morning, and facilities work well, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Really cool eco-style hostel in the center of Salvador. I loved how they reuse water in the hostel and really try to be as green as possible. The staff were amazing and went above and beyond to give advice and help out where they could. Good location in the center of the old part of Salvador, although the area can be a little bit dangerous at night time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.