Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 564 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 564 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.0
Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel Located at 96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto.
Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel
Canada
Toronto ON 96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario
73% 564
43.6601724 -79.3774437
Neill-Wycik Backpackers Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
2.0

The staff, well one guy in particular was awfull. We paid upon arrival, and then when returning later to check in were told that we had to pay another $30 and also another $30 for car parking . Neither of which were mentioned when booking. We argued but got no where and were shattered from a long journey so just wanted to sleep. The room was awfull, didn't look like it had every been cleaned other than a quick sweep of the floor. One bed had what appeared to be blood stains on the sheet.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2016
6.6

Staff was really relaxed, we messed up with the booking and didn't know that they require one person per bed (my boyfriend and I were going to share) and they upgraded us at no extra cost! So sweet of them to do and they didn't have to do it at all. The breakfast was surprisingly decent (bagels, cereal, muffins, apples, oranges and croissants). Definitely bring a sheet for your pillow and maybe even a blanket, not the cleanest that's for sure

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.0

The location is excellent and the price is resonable. I have no complaint, especially as i traveled in a group this time and only wanted a place to sleep but it might be to big to meet new friends if you are travaling alone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice place. Good location for the price, most places near Yonge street are off the charts. I'm young so the student atmosphere is very welcoming. Only downfall was somebody in my put their feces covered toilet paper in the trash as opposed to the toilet, which left the bathroom smelling kind of weird. But for the price, you can't really complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
12th Jul 2016
4.0

One word for this 'hostel' Garbage! It is located in one floor of a high tower, the rooms are more like a student living home. The atmosphere equals zero. There is no air conditioning and it is getting incredibly hot night and day even in a non dorm double room. The bathrooms are per floor, dirty and have plenty of mold in it. The stuff is stressed out and the location sourranded by construction sites. The beds are super uncomfortable. In the morning we even got a power outage which topped it!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
5.1

While the staff and location were great the state of the room was horrific. It was so hot in my room and I was told the solution was to go buy a fan, never in 25 years of hotel and hostel stays have I been expected to do that. A room at a reasonable temperature is as standard as a bed! The rooms had no bedside light, the bathrooms were not cleaned, the carpets stank, the kitchen was empty & there was hair in the halls, bedroom, room - yuk. Neill-Wycik would be the worst hostel I've ever stayed.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
6.9

I went to Toronto for a wknd of food/drinks with little money for accommodation & just needed somewhere to hang my head for one night. It was fine for me & my friend because we just to have a place to crash for 1 night after our night on the town...but i would not be able to sleep in that bed/cot more than 1 night. A big metal bar in the middle of my back & definitely not the cleanest facilities. Ok for a night or 2 max if your not spending much time there. Bring a fan, there is no ac!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.6

The staff were very accommodating and informative. Will stay and recommend again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
7.1

It is a student résidence, clean and with breakfast but wifi only goes in the cafétéria and the price can be very expensive (i have been there three times and three times différents privés ! And some of the room cannot be booked without hostelword (so strange, they ask me to book via hostelword instead of doing it directly with them!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jlvdomingo1042
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
9.4

Great environment and staff are friendly! No AC though and this summer was extraordinarily hot--so it was a bit uncomfortable. I'd stay here again though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.