X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
352 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

鍵はあるが他の鍵でも空くので一人部屋の意味がない single room is meaningless because rooms lock can be open by other rooms keys. 雰囲気がとにかく良くなかった atmosphere is really bad 不満はそれだけ。あとは値段相応悪くはないけど勧めない these are my all complaints. price is not bad, other material is not bad. not bad, but I don't recommend.


40%

For $60 a night for a single private room, it was far from value for money, if I didn't arrive so late and exhausted from travelling I would have taken one look at the room and gone to find another hotel forfeiting the money already paid. The building is old and run down, there's mould on ceilings, faulty taps, dingy hallways, the rooms were dirty, furniture old and prison-bare, the whole experience uninviting and truly depressing.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff are lovely and the location is great. Great value except for the breakfast which is limited to only 4 items at the counter.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I have never had staff that were so open and helpful and incredibly nice.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

This is cheap student accommodation that is a hostel over the summer. Everything is fine, the staff are great and there's even a free breakfast until 11am. The beds aren't great and there's no air conditioning though which can make it quite uncomfortable. It's not as fun or social as traditional hostels but is cheap and in a good location.


77%

In a good area. Near Dundas Square but quiet. Great cafe 3 blocks away at the Uni. Large hotel style 22 floor building. Free breakfast in the morning. Security always at the front. Wifi only in the breakfast area or 21st floor lounge.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Very spartan accommodation that's only appropriate for those looking for the cheapest option. No a/c makes for an excruciating night's sleep in summertime Toronto. I've stayed in other university/college residences that were much better (Kelowna BC for ex). Breakfast was fine, though lacking in real choice for fresh healthy things. Apples and oranges, that's it.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

I missed the Coffe and Tea corner.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The view at the 21st floor is incredible!


60%

This is a summer hostel, so the use the empty rooms of a university dormitory. Big building and lots of people coming in and out every day, but the city is very safe. The bathrooms are somewhat dirty since they are also used by the residents of the building and are not cleaned often. Bed sheets were supposed to be changed every three nights, but didn't happen not even once during a week. Not even when other guests in the room had left or before receiving the new ones.


94%

The hostel is clean and nice, the staff are amazing and understand last-minute changes, thing that I appreciated a lot! I will definitively come back!


80%

.The bed was clean but not the room, I think it's not because it's cheap that it can be dirty. It's written that the wifi is free but it's free only in the coffee. However the staff is really helpful and the location is great.


80%

Top marks: close to activities/subway; great breakfast items; own bedroom in "dorm" for $ of 6-bed dorm room in other hostels. Room didn't look swept (small garbage on floor), LOTS of lose drywall on windowsill. Sheets & bed clean, comfy bed. Loved rooftop - met someone from "home"! Nice roomie! Would go back (and did). Helpful desk staff, but I knew of more events than they did. Note: Some might be scared off by the “late-night 'locals'"/hookers close by.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

The staff were really helpful even though it was really busy, I appreciate that a lot! I also like that even the "shared" rooms have a lot of privacy in the individual dorms. The internet situation was really annoying because there were never any seats in the 2 rooms with free wifi. Also, the breakfast selection could be better. Overall I had a good time though :)


54%

Pretty awful as you'd expect for the price.


49%

I would not visit it again! Like a prison!


86%

A nice, basic, economical place to stay in Toronto. I stayed in 4-bed dorm room, which was very clean and quite acceptable. Security to building, amenities, staff, etc are all very good. My ONLY complaint is that it can get hot in Toronto in the summertime, and there was no A/C and only one window in this dorm room. So it was quite hot and stuffy with no cross ventilation, which made for restless sleep. I would recommend to the facility that they at least provide portable fans in each room.


89%

This is a good place to stay for the price, not fancy, but comfortable dorm like accommodations for those looking for budget accommodations The staff were quite friendly and helpful with any questions. Sheets were cleaned and changed every day I was there. You might want to bring a pair of sandals, the floor doesn't get swept, the only drawback, but one that is easily dealt with if you have sandals. I liked my stay here, would stay again if I wanted a budget accommodation. .


71%

Decent place, looks like college dorms , the atmosphere is alright, breakfasts are pretty good. Other than that it wasn't clean enough in my opinion but overall a good hostel to stay at.


86%

The staff/concierge were very friendly!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback