X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
326 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Very comfortable. Love this place.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It's worth noting that the free breakfast is limited to 4 items (including your coffee). It's not the greatest place I've stayed in, but there's nothing overly wrong with it either. It's in a reasonable location, and the view from the roof is definitely worth checking out.


51%

It was the uncleanest Hostel I have ever stayed in. The price was almost as high as in a Hotel at the next day


69%

Nothing is particularly exceptional about this hostel aside from the location, but it wasn't a terrible stay. Note that wireless internet is provided for a fee ($4 a day) in addition to the cost of accommodation. The staff is friendly but a bit unprofessional.

  • 18th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The bathrooms were quite unclean and it sucked I had to go to the 22nd floor for wifi. Also a lot of noise from the street at night. It was what you would expect collage rooms or a share house to be like. It was fine if you aren't too fussy.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

it was not what i am awaiting but it was ok room was pretty clean bathroom was dirty and too small breakfast is ok generally satisfaction price is very good location as well i was suprise that so many homeless people are around and funny were the prostitutes walking aroundsomething ugly i never seen i am looking forward use hostels possibilitties in future

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Hello, Staying at Neill-Wycik was enjoyable: the reception service honest & very helpful, the shared washroom clean, the shower working well & close to the room, the bed comfortable & I slept very well. But: uncleaned windows, poor lighting so that one can hardly read anything but one's laptop PC. Also: the breakfast was OK but could have less sugary food, for example. Either the milk or the cereals that I tried were like.. honey!!! Thank you for this opportunity, Best regards, Stefan

  • 11th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great value and very welcoming staff, for students visiting Toronto there is no better option!

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Staff pretty friendly, nice view from the rooftop.


54%

I encountered problems with my 4-bed room. When I got in, there was stuff everywhere so I couldn't find a free bed. This is not really the staff's fault, but they seem unable to enforce their policy of posting your receipt over the bed you are using. Other than this incident, the 'hostel' wasn't really a hostel. It's more a college dorm from which they rent the rooms during summer. There wasn't any social life or anything of that sort.


57%

As the other reviews attest the enjoyment of your visit will depend on the roomates you are put with, especially being a solo traveler. In my case, it was almost a worst case scenario. This accommodation is more like a hotel than a hostel. It is not a great place to meet other travelers. Most people come here in groups and the common room on the 22nd floor is a place where people go to hide in their electrical devices. The 2 bright spots were the friendly staff and the free breakfast.


86%

Me and my friend booked a 6 Bed Female Dorm and were surprised to get private rooms - amazing! It was really like sharing an apartment (bathroom and huge kitchen/common room) with a few other people. You could lock your own door behind you which was great since there were no lockers and we even had wifi in the rooms. Clean, comfortable and good location on walking distance from downtown. Breakfast wasn't satisfactory, but on the whole we had a nice stay.


46%

Pro's: Rooftop space is nice Con's: This place has a weird atmosphere. The rooms are beyond sparse, and not really clean, you can't walk around in bare feet due to dirt on the floors. The place is huge (22 floors) I feel if they halved the number of rooms and focused on improving half at a time this could be a reasonable place. I wouldn't book in here, there are other hostels in Toronto that are renovated and much nicer.


83%

Just what I needed : an affordable place to spend the night.

  • 21st Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

very friendly and helpful staff, only complaint re wifi only on 22nd floor with very poor lighting , otherwise a great stay thank you


80%

i just thought my stay for here was very good and helpful. beautiful rooftop, better than any other hotel roof top i can tell you. and easy to get around. staff very helpful and aslo reminded me of my stuff i left behind and posted it on. very comfortable thoughts back into my head while trvelling on.


66%

This hostel just didn't do it for me. I use the term "hostel" loosely because it was actually a dorm for college students. There were many problems with the facilities: my bed was broken, elevators that didn't work, fans that didn't work, etc. The biggest issue I had was that they tried to charge you extra for everything, and not a good atmosphere. Coffee refills are extra, parking is extra, something always cost extra money.


77%

Excellent value for money, college dorm room layout with your own private room and desk. Nice surprise as we thought we'd be in a bunk bed style dorm. Good security and good location, near gay Toronto and the Eaton Centre. Not the best for meeting other travellers and the lifts don't work (sucks if you're on the 20th floor)


100%

although the lifts weren't working, Its a very enjoyable place to say, perfect for downtown.

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

This is a hostel with a student feel to it. You share a kitchen and 2 bathrooms with about 6 people. You each have your own room. I think it depends on the other people how much you enjoy your stay (how clean everything is for example). The rooms and bathrooms are inspected for cleaning every day, so it's ok. The breakfast is very nice. You can choose 4 different items every day (drink, yoghurt, toast, cake, croissant, fruit etc.). The location of the hostel is good.

  • 29th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(185 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback