X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Neill-Wycik Summer Hostel Reviews

96 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
284 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 65%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Cleanliness can be improved. The corridor, lift, basement, locker room needs a makeover and neat and tidy look. It is a fun hostel, specially the top floor lounge is amazing. The location is very good - many "tourist must visit" everything is within walking distance.


89%

What a good location and great atmosphere. The breakfast is also excellent and the workers are always happy!

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the room has a bed and desk ,it was clean . for every 4 rooms there are 2 bathrooms , it was clean also , i guess it depends with who you are sharing , i was lucky .the staff were excellent and helpfull , there is no tv in the room and for the WIFI in the room it's 4 $ for 24 hours. the place is runned by young students. the price is extremly good for downtown Toronto. it's not a place for snobish who likes hotel employees on their knees .but if you are kool and not too picky just go for it.

  • 28th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


43%

The 4 person room I stayed in was extremely hot. There was no A/C and the only way to get a fan was to complain for 10 minutes. Only 1 elevator worked and the washrooms were not maintained. I was not pleased to walk pass staff in the halls and constantly hear them swearing.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Seemed to be a fairly average university hostel. Staff were friendly enough but didn't mention the free wi-fi room on the 22nd floor or the awesome view from the rooftop. Likely two of the best features here.

  • 22nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Staff is horrible, they don't care about you. Beds and sheets are not clean.

  • 19th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

We had a dubbel bed, one normal and one campbed. Showers not clean.

  • 17th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


37%

Worst hostel ive ever stayed in. The "dorms" are unfurnished student apartments with individual single rooms. The kitchens are completely empty so its impossible to make use of them. If you ask you get a mismatched random set of plates/pots. Ours had no glasses or cups and we had to go to reception 3 times to get enough kitchenware to cook a pasta dinner. The staff were mostly slow and unhelpful and didn't seem to know much about youth hostels (security staff were lovely!)


74%

Reception girls were really helpful right away!! Bathroom and room were definitely not the cleanest ever but would definitely for a short stay...


66%

My room was not really clean. Wi-fi is available only at 22nd floor, so I had to went there every day. There is no TV room. Breakfast was really poor because you can eat only 4 items.


49%

The staff were really sarcastic, although the other half were helpful they seemed the minority. No AC in the ropoms during this heat was horrible. Also the summer prices are a rip-off, forget it if you need to stay longer than 2 days. You would be paying equivalent of like350+ a week for third world conditions. also you can't book an extra night in a dorm except through hostel world which means you pay a further 10% comission even if you're standing at the reception desk.

  • 31st May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Not much of a hostel over it if you seek to meet new people, but great if you come together with someone since you get a "little apartment" with you own room each and a kitchen and living room to share. Only minus is that you have to get up to 22rd floor to get free wifi.

  • 25th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Very basic bed, share shower/toilet could have been cleaner, breakfast ok. Staff need to be better trained, wanted to get Hostelworlds deposit out of me in addition to the full amount of room rent for the night as advertised on Hostelworld.


80%

Very cheap and excellent location. Is student accommodation so a "6 bed dorm" is essentially a 6 room student flat so had my own room with shared kitchen/bathroom. Very very basic accommodation but good for short term stays and had no real complaints other than very very hot in the rooms. I stayed in May when it wasn't all that hot outside so imagine June/July/August to be very unpleasant. Can be noisy thanks to street noise/nature of accommodation. All in all would stay again!


71%

I thought the rooms were a bit small and spartan even for student digs. The single bed was hard and the pillow lumpy. Positives: free wifi in the lounge which is open 24 hours, wifi available in the rooms for reasonable rates. Bottom line: you get what you pay for, and for the price you pay, this place is more than satisfactory.


77%

You get what you pay for. Honestly, I think most reviews are unfair to the hostel. Staff was very friendly and helpful and I spend an enjoyable night here on my first night in Toronto. Location is excellent. Would definitely recommend it.

  • 16th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

the sheets have a weird smell, and the bathrooms are too small and not very clean, the texture of the toiltet papers is not very soft.

  • 11th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

I was very disapointed at this place… staff wasnt really helpful, even though they kinda tried… The place was very dirty, but sheets were ok… the restrooms were terrible…i didnt like the enviroment also.. I guess I would only stay there again if i had friends with me, but alone, never again..Sorry.


54%

Room was quite grubby - telephone just sitting on a cabinet not plugged in. Staff member - When we came back from dinner (around 7pm) the staff member was quite rude in asking us for our key. Needs paint - common area was dirty Would say value for money.


66%

Hostel room was large enough, the 4 bed room does not use bunk beds. Each bed has it's own outlet and hanger with a storage shelf. Shared bathrooms are always clean, although if it was busier I would expect to wait due to the few available. Security was great but the atmosphere of the hostel was lacking, mostly due to the size of the hostel in a large sky-scraper.


(165 results)


View all Toronto Hostels

Please give us your feedback